Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,276 Members 38,791 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] courrpted sd card with swap partition

Tip us?
 
Aamirzkhan
Old
#1  
Aamirzkhan's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Rampur (up)
Default [Q] courrpted sd card with swap partition

Hey guys...
Ahh its a bad day for me..
5 days back i have decided to create a swap file for the sake of increasing my RAM to get good performance. And i have done it with the app called,「SWAP IT EXPANDER」 and yes my phone was working like a charm everything was working super awesome..
But today suddenly my sd card was showing error of it is corrupted... i tried to fix it with pc by chkdisk cammand but unfortunatly it wasnt working..
Then i google it and find shocking answers that swaping stuff can degrade the sd card life...
:banghead::what:
And then i realised that i have lost my 16 gb class 10 sd card...
Is there any1 who can help me while fixing my card or let me know the safest method to create swap partition.. thanx to all in advance..
please help me guys
 
kundan.lohar
Old
#2  
kundan.lohar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 325
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Rajasthan,India
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aamirzkhan View Post
Hey guys...
Ahh its a bad day for me..
5 days back i have decided to create a swap file for the sake of increasing my RAM to get good performance. And i have done it with the app called,「SWAP IT EXPANDER」 and yes my phone was working like a charm everything was working super awesome..
But today suddenly my sd card was showing error of it is corrupted... i tried to fix it with pc by chkdisk cammand but unfortunatly it wasnt working..
Then i google it and find shocking answers that swaping stuff can degrade the sd card life...
:banghead::what:
And then i realised that i have lost my 16 gb class 10 sd card...
Is there any1 who can help me while fixing my card or let me know the safest method to create swap partition.. thanx to all in advance..
please help me guys
it is shocking dear. i have also created swap and having 1GB RAM in MMX110 using @saurabh0291
is it harmful to my internal sdcard.?
You can thanks me by clicking "Thanks" button.

Device-Micromax A110 Superfone Canvas2 A110
ROM- Weekly Change ROM Kernel-It depends on ROM.(Best suited for ROM used.)
swap- 1GBRAM by @saurabh0291 (Thanks @Saurabh0291)
 
Aamirzkhan
Old
#3  
Aamirzkhan's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Rampur (up)
Yes bro it is defnetly.. u can google it too..
Swap file can easily corrupt the fat files from sd card... disapointed but true

Sent from my A110 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
saurabh0291
Old
#4  
saurabh0291's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 269
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jodhpur
Swap on SD card is harmfull like roehsoft RAM expander app.
And its mentioned on play store clearly that swap on SD will degrade the life of SD card.
So instead of making swap on SD u should make swap by turbo boost concept of xda senior member harbir and delta-roh so head over to my thread revised 1gb ram swap in my signature. U will feel fly
@kundan.lohar don't worry
Some devices comes with turbo boost concept from company side
E.g. htc one v ....dont worry
-------------------------------------------------------
My Threads
Creating CWM zip using Mobile
Flashable zip 1gb RAM
The Following User Says Thank You to saurabh0291 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kundan.lohar
Old
#5  
kundan.lohar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 325
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Rajasthan,India
Quote:
Originally Posted by saurabh0291 View Post
Swap on SD card is harmfull like roehsoft RAM expander app.
And its mentioned on play store clearly that swap on SD will degrade the life of SD card.
So instead of making swap on SD u should make swap by turbo boost concept of xda senior member harbir and delta-roh so head over to my thread revised 1gb ram swap in my signature. U will feel fly
@kundan.lohar don't worry
Some devices comes with turbo boost concept from company side
E.g. htc one v ....dont worry
i have created swap using your zip as you can see in my signature ya offcourse i am feeling fly but i think this swap is not created On external SDcard it is on internal sdcard.
if it is harmful than my A110 will be dead if internal SDcard will currupt.becoz we can't change it like external.
i want some knowledge of turbo boost concept so please give me some details (links) like how it works.
You can thanks me by clicking "Thanks" button.

Device-Micromax A110 Superfone Canvas2 A110
ROM- Weekly Change ROM Kernel-It depends on ROM.(Best suited for ROM used.)
swap- 1GBRAM by @saurabh0291 (Thanks @Saurabh0291)
 
saurabh0291
Old
#6  
saurabh0291's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 269
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jodhpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by kundan.lohar View Post
i have created swap using your zip as you can see in my signature ya offcourse i am feeling fly but i think this swap is not created On external SDcard it is on internal sdcard.
if it is harmful than my A110 will be dead if internal SDcard will currupt.becoz we can't change it like external.
i want some knowledge of turbo boost concept so please give me some details (links) like how it works.
I have given u already that link somewhere now search it on xda
I am also using this don't worry
-------------------------------------------------------
My Threads
Creating CWM zip using Mobile
Flashable zip 1gb RAM
 
manrock111
Old
(Last edited by manrock111; 30th June 2014 at 01:24 PM.)
#7  
manrock111's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 935
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Internet

 
DONATE TO ME
i am on 2.7 BB kernel and want to flash you script, you provided 3 links for different files, plz tell me which one i need to flash. Renamed name confuses me. thanks.

EDIT: i flashed with 3rd link and after restart everything laggy as hell but soon it all settle.

In terminal it show i have only 255 swap?
I am a Web Developer
visit my Blog :: www.mandeeptech.com
My Work: Vulpix.in
Currently Using: MicroMax A110
Handle: Galaxy Note, HTC phones
R.I.P
Samsung Galaxy SL I9003 (My First phone, Missing both phone and community Members)
Nokia N8 with Anna
HTC Desire HD
Acer Iconia Tab
Spice MI-410 @1.9 GHZ
LG optimus P500 one | OpenOptimus 2.3.3|OC @820 little bro
Quick links for SGSL newbie

View HINDI or MARATHI on your android Phones
Deodoxed CWM file for SGSL KPQ
 
Sonu44589
Old
(Last edited by Sonu44589; 1st July 2014 at 01:27 AM.)
#8  
Sonu44589's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 72
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Roorkee
Apps for Swap never help much. I almost corrupted mine sd card too.

Instead of apps, flash the 1gb Ram mod or PMB v6 nitro x.

And I think your sd card is still in warranty since it has only been 2 years since the phone came out and Class 10 cards have around 5 year warranty. Get it replaced asap. Just don't baffle too much like how it happened. Just say that it stopped working. You'll get it replaced.
And next time flash mods instead of using apps.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________________________________________________
Please hit Thanks button if it helped.

PM me if you have any queries or need any help.

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________________________________________________

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes