Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,091 Members 52,954 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Adding more languages to MOTO E and How to edit the boot.img ?

Tip us?
 
globula_neagra
Old
(Last edited by globula_neagra; 18th August 2014 at 12:23 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 212
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Birmingham

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Adding more languages to MOTO E and How to edit the boot.img ?

So I bought this little phone and I was baffled that there are so few language options to select.
The phone is for my father (the english evades him) therefore I need my mother language on it.

Phone Version XT1021
OS:
Android 4.4.2 Blur_Version.20.11.14.condor_retaildsds.retaildsds all.en.03 Updated to 4.4.4, rebuilt in a deodexed ZIP file, and a system.img file
Ho needs it, I can upload it, I have either the update.zip or system/boot img files.

What I tried:
I tried to recompile the framework-res, system and other 15~20 apps, on some it worked on some it did not.
I am using the Nexus 5 translations files
On those that worked I managed to activate them by using a morelocale app from market and the translations work just fine.
On systemUI.apk I am getting force close
On framework-res.apk the phone freezes.

How I decompile/recompile and test the apps.
1) Decompile the app
2) Add the new values
4) Recompile
5) Copy the new app created app and the original one in a folder.
6) Open both apps
7) Drag and drop the resources.asrc file in the original apk and when you are asked how would you like to compress the file, I select STORE (I use winrar)



So if anyone managed to edit the framework app, systemUI and he is kind to share how he did it without getting any bootloops and force close, I would be very appreciative.



Now, regarding the boot.img

I tried to unpack it, using the classic method, it unpacks ok, the problem is on repacking,
Is there a special tool to do it or what ?

Why do i need
I need the adb.secure to be 0, and also the security off, so I can be able to use ADB REMOUNT and monitor adb logcat since the device starts. and also to be able to push apps to system using adb.


So, ho has the information and he is kind to share ?
If you like my work, use the donate button on the left or the Thanks one .
Archos 50 Platinum CWM Archos50PlatCWM
 
Prashanth Meesara:
Old
#2  
Prashanth Meesara:'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 172
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bellary
here is the proper way to decompile and recompile the apk in a proper way

1. Make sure you have the latest version of the apktool
2. install the framework (try using 4.4.2 framework if 4.4.4 one gives error)
3. Decompile make changes
4. Choose option compile system app in apktools
5. now when it asks to delete all the things you have modified then delete the res and resources.arsc file and if you have made any smali changes delete the classes.dex too
6. go back to script and press enter
7. now open both MODIFIED APK and UNMODIFIED APK and then DRAG AND DROP androidmanifest.xml and meta inf from UNMODIFIED TO MODIFIED APK
8. push it and set rw-r-r permission

and if you are getting the error unable to remount then install adb insecure app by chainfire
thats it
happy modding

any help comment below by quoting or mentioning my name(i get notification so that i can give quick responce )
The Following User Says Thank You to Prashanth Meesara: For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
globula_neagra
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 212
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Birmingham

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prashanth Meesara: View Post
here is the proper way to decompile and recompile the apk in a proper way

1. Make sure you have the latest version of the apktool
2. install the framework (try using 4.4.2 framework if 4.4.4 one gives error)
3. Decompile make changes
4. Choose option compile system app in apktools
5. now when it asks to delete all the things you have modified then delete the res and resources.arsc file and if you have made any smali changes delete the classes.dex too
6. go back to script and press enter
7. now open both MODIFIED APK and UNMODIFIED APK and then DRAG AND DROP androidmanifest.xml and meta inf from UNMODIFIED TO MODIFIED APK
8. push it and set rw-r-r permission

and if you are getting the error unable to remount then install adb insecure app by chainfire
thats it
happy modding

any help comment below by quoting or mentioning my name(i get notification so that i can give quick responce )
I will try like this, thx for the input.
If you like my work, use the donate button on the left or the Thanks one .
Archos 50 Platinum CWM Archos50PlatCWM
 
Prashanth Meesara:
Old
#4  
Prashanth Meesara:'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 172
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bellary
Quote:
Originally Posted by globula_neagra View Post
I will try like this, thx for the input.
Anytime bro . if you get any errors I will help you on Teamviewer

Sent from my Moto E using XDA Free mobile app
 
globula_neagra
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 62
Posts: 212
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Birmingham

 
DONATE TO ME
I managed to add the language using your method, only with one mention, I think on framework you have to select STORE when you add the file to the archive.
If you like my work, use the donate button on the left or the Thanks one .
Archos 50 Platinum CWM Archos50PlatCWM
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes