Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Question about RAM

OP 97pedrocas

3rd July 2014, 12:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Hello guys, in my Moto E I only have about 200mb of free RAM, that's because of Facebook, Dashclock widget and battery extension, clean master and google search, so I have about 200mb free, is that bad, I mean, I didn't notice any performance issues, it's normal, but do you think it will get laggy eventually and do you think only having 200mb of free RAM is bad?
Thanks.
3rd July 2014, 03:19 AM   |  #2  
mrpkarthik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Salem,TamilNadu
Thanks Meter: 52
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97pedrocas

Hello guys, in my Moto E I only have about 200mb of free RAM, that's because of Facebook, Dashclock widget and battery extension, clean master and google search, so I have about 200mb free, is that bad, I mean, I didn't notice any performance issues, it's normal, but do you think it will get laggy eventually and do you think only having 200mb of free RAM is bad?
Thanks.

for me,its bad..use Greenify to stop unwanted background third party apps..
hope Greenify will helps you
3rd July 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Well I rebooted and now have 370mb free is that bad?
3rd July 2014, 08:14 PM   |  #4  
ChaTy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 79
 
324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97pedrocas

Well I rebooted and now have 370mb free is that bad?

no ...itz perfectly normal..
even i have 375-450mb free ram....occasionally it goes over 550mb when i manually fc any big app like chrome fb n all. .... otherwise 370 is perfectly normal....

Sent from my XT1022 using XDA Free mobile app
3rd July 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Well now I have around 300mb, the widgets and Facebook take a lot of ram. Also, any idea why clean master is always running in background?
4th July 2014, 04:08 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Don't worry about the amount of free RAM you have. Android is designed to use the maximum RAM available to it. Task killer apps may have been useful in Gingerbread but are unnecessary in Jellybean and later versions.For more info read this and this.
Greenify is all you need. If you're rooted and have Xposed even better, you can even make some apps stay in memory so that they won't be killed off.
Last edited by Ex-Hunter; 4th July 2014 at 04:10 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ex-Hunter For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 08:28 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex-Hunter

Don't worry about the amount of free RAM you have. Android is designed to use the maximum RAM available to it. Task killer apps may have been useful in Gingerbread but are unnecessary in Jellybean and later versions.
Greenify is all you need. If you're rooted and have Xposed even better, you can even make some apps stay in memory so that they won't be killed off.

most usefull post in this topic. free ram is wasted ram, android isn't windows....
4th July 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Ok I think I got it, I'm not rooted, I'm still waiting for the 4.4.4 update.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes