Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,721 Members 52,260 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Headphones Volume Increase for CM11 or KitKat based CM

Tip us?
 
OldYellowBricks
Old
(Last edited by OldYellowBricks; 4th August 2014 at 05:38 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 108
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Headphones Volume Increase for CM11 or KitKat based CM

I HAVE TESTED THIS ON CM11, GUMMY, MOKEE, AND CR-DROID AND IT WORKS...BUT I DIDN'T HAVE ANY AUDIOMOD ENABLED LIKE VIPER4A. I DONT LIKE HAVING AUDIOMODS SO IF THEY KINDA HAVE CONFLICTS WITH AUDIOMODS I WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

I HAVE TESTED VALUES UP TO 30 AND!!!!! 20 IS THE MAXIMUM! GOING OVER 20 MAKES THE SOUND VOLUME LOWER FOR WHATEVER REASON SO SPARE THE EFFORT.

(OKY YOU MUST BE ROOTED BLA BLA BLA BLA HAVE A FILEXPLORER THAT CAN ROOT EXPLORE BLA BLA BLA)

now starting
1- open the explorer and got to /system/etc/
2- scroll down till u find this file mixer_paths.xml and open it as text (ES File)
3- now scroll down till u find this line <!-- These are actual sound device specific mixer settings -->
under it look for this

<path name="headphones">
<ctl name="SLIM RX1 MUX" value="AIF1_PB" />
<ctl name="SLIM RX2 MUX" value="AIF1_PB" />
<ctl name="SLIM_0_RX Channels" value="Two" />
<ctl name="RX1 MIX1 INP1" value="RX1" />
<ctl name="RX2 MIX1 INP1" value="RX2" />
<ctl name="CLASS_H_DSM MUX" value="DSM_HPHL_RX1" />
<ctl name="HPHL DAC Switch" value="1" />
<ctl name="RX1 Digital Volume" value="58" />
<ctl name="RX2 Digital Volume" value="58" />
<ctl name="HPHL Volume" value="11" />
<ctl name="HPHR Volume" value="11" />

CHANGE THE BOLDED VALUES TO ANYTHING THATS NOT OVER 20. YOU CAN PUT 20 FOR MAXIMUM GAIN. DONT CHANGE ANYTHING ELSE PLS. DONT CHANGE ANYTHING ELSE. AFTER CHANGING, REBOOT AND YOU WILL NOTICE THE DIFFERENCE WHEN YOU PLAY MUSIC VIA HEADPHONES. REMEMBER, AFTER MAKING THE CHANGES, SAVE.

SOURCE: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2583408

UPDATE!!!
EVERYONE! STOCK ROM and OMNI ROM CAN USE THIS CONFIG TOO, AND CAN GO UP TO 30! (BUT NOT CM AND ITS DERIVATIVES IE THE ROMS AT THE BEGINING OF THIS POST..STILL MAX 20) REMEMBER TO SAVE DEFAULT VALUES IN CASE YOU NEED TO CHANGE EM' BACK!
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to OldYellowBricks For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Xavier102296
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2014
Do you save after u change and reboot or do you just change the vaules and reboot
 
hottu_doggu
Old
(Last edited by hottu_doggu; 28th July 2014 at 12:04 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sofia
Causes music player fc and no sound at all on my Gummy ROM with furnace 1.3.1 but I will keep trying Low headphone volume has been my only complaint about custom roms but I'm glad the issue is getting recognized and solutions start to come up. Thank you!

Update: Flashed a fresh new gummy, did this trick and now it works! There are a few very minor derps with V4A but it's totally bearable
Xavier, you should save when you make the change.
 
bhavin192
Old
(Last edited by bhavin192; 28th July 2014 at 12:20 PM.)
#4  
bhavin192's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 33
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier102296 View Post
Do you save after u change and reboot or do you just change the vaules and reboot
Obviously you have to save.
If you don't save, then the values will be as same as they were before
 
Xavier102296
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2014
Changed the values in cm11 didn't really notice to much of a difference
 
OldYellowBricks
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 108
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier102296 View Post
Changed the values in cm11 didn't really notice to much of a difference
try going to 20 which is the maximum
 
OldYellowBricks
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 108
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hottu_doggu View Post
Causes music player fc and no sound at all on my Gummy ROM with furnace 1.3.1 but I will keep trying Low headphone volume has been my only complaint about custom roms but I'm glad the issue is getting recognized and solutions start to come up. Thank you!

Update: Flashed a fresh new gummy, did this trick and now it works! There are a few very minor derps with V4A but it's totally bearable
Xavier, you should save when you make the change.
I prefer sound to be stock EQ wise, but hey, to each and their own! well for me this solution beats having to fork out money to use that fauxsound app that in turn has to be used with kernels with that support that thing
The Following User Says Thank You to OldYellowBricks For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hottu_doggu
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sofia
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldYellowBricks View Post
I prefer sound to be stock EQ wise, but hey, to each and their own! well for me this solution beats having to fork out money to use that fauxsound app that in turn has to be used with kernels with that support that thing
Editing mixer_paths.xml turned up the volume but the sound quality seemed worse. I read your post and just got FauxSound since it was really cheap and flashed xperience kernel. It does a great job at boosting the volume. What's interesting is that analog output gain defaults to -6. Setting it to 0 (tough you can set it to +6) makes it so much better and louder without affecting the quality. Why is it so that no custom rom's kernel have this feature or the analog output set to 0 or whatever the stock rom is using? I feel like we should be able to have MotoG's stock sound volume on custom roms without having to flash custom kernel and buying any apps. I'm not complaining, I have this issue solved for me, I'm just curious.
The Following User Says Thank You to hottu_doggu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
OldYellowBricks
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 108
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hottu_doggu View Post
Editing mixer_paths.xml turned up the volume but the sound quality seemed worse. I read your post and just got FauxSound since it was really cheap and flashed xperience kernel. It does a great job at boosting the volume. What's interesting is that analog output gain defaults to -6. Setting it to 0 (tough you can set it to +6) makes it so much better and louder without affecting the quality. Why is it so that no custom rom's kernel have this feature or the analog output set to 0 or whatever the stock rom is using? I feel like we should be able to have MotoG's stock sound volume on custom roms without having to flash custom kernel and buying any apps. I'm not complaining, I have this issue solved for me, I'm just curious.
I Swear dog, i feel you, but on my side, there's no quality distortion of any sort. I changed to CM and then Gummy because there was this Moto G stock rom bug where speakers wouldn;t work after unplugging headphones (you'd have to reboot). Google that up. The problem I had wit the faux app was the settings wouldn;t stick after booting. That drove me crazy up until i found this solution, but hey, to each and their own. Thanks for sharing, man
 
OldYellowBricks
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 108
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hottu_doggu View Post
Editing mixer_paths.xml turned up the volume but the sound quality seemed worse. I read your post and just got FauxSound since it was really cheap and flashed xperience kernel. It does a great job at boosting the volume. What's interesting is that analog output gain defaults to -6. Setting it to 0 (tough you can set it to +6) makes it so much better and louder without affecting the quality. Why is it so that no custom rom's kernel have this feature or the analog output set to 0 or whatever the stock rom is using? I feel like we should be able to have MotoG's stock sound volume on custom roms without having to flash custom kernel and buying any apps. I'm not complaining, I have this issue solved for me, I'm just curious.
and, by right, the faux settings should be able to be modded via init.d scripts but after googling, I found out that the fauxsound thing has been coded to not allow init.d. It needs the app. In other words, no app, no fauxsound settings.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes