Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,579 Members 43,656 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlocking Verizon Moto G

Tip us?
 
masterfred
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 77
Join Date: Jun 2008
Unhappy Unlocking Verizon Moto G

I just got screwed I think.

I purchased the prepaid Moto G at Best Buy for 99$ planning to unlock it and use it in Canada (Videotron).

Advertised was that the US Moto G runs AWS (1700) frequency, thus compatible with Videotron.

To my F*** suprise, NO DAMN SIM !!!!

1. Can this phone be unlocked by anyone except Verizon ?
2. Can you program your own no. in this phone ? ( I recall that CDMA phone needs an unlock code or master unlock code to program your phone no. in it ...)
3. Does it even support AWS (Verizon version !?!?)
4. Does it have an IMEI or just the CDMA equivalent, MEID ??? (I bought this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Motorola-U...:X:RTQ:GB:1123 and seller keeps asking IMEI ... )

Thanks !
 
ares93
Old
#2  
ares93's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 335
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterfred View Post
I just got screwed I think.

I purchased the prepaid Moto G at Best Buy for 99$ planning to unlock it and use it in Canada (Videotron).

Advertised was that the US Moto G runs AWS (1700) frequency, thus compatible with Videotron.

To my F*** suprise, NO DAMN SIM !!!!

1. Can this phone be unlocked by anyone except Verizon ?
2. Can you program your own no. in this phone ? ( I recall that CDMA phone needs an unlock code or master unlock code to program your phone no. in it ...)
3. Does it even support AWS (Verizon version !?!?)
4. Does it have an IMEI or just the CDMA equivalent, MEID ??? (I bought this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Motorola-U...:X:RTQ:GB:1123 and seller keeps asking IMEI ... )

Thanks !
I'm pretty sure you're screwed, mate. I don't think Videotron has a CDMA network which makes your phone unusable, even if you would sbe able to unlock it. Return it and buy the US GSM model. That will work.

EDIT: There are two model in the US. GSM (AWS) and CDMA.
Moto G 8GB - Atrix 4G (RIP) - HTC HD2 (RIP/New unit ordered.)
The Following User Says Thank You to ares93 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hednik
Old
#3  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 708
Posts: 1,525
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fort Worth

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by masterfred View Post
I just got screwed I think.

I purchased the prepaid Moto G at Best Buy for 99$ planning to unlock it and use it in Canada (Videotron).

Advertised was that the US Moto G runs AWS (1700) frequency, thus compatible with Videotron.

To my F*** suprise, NO DAMN SIM !!!!

1. Can this phone be unlocked by anyone except Verizon ?
2. Can you program your own no. in this phone ? ( I recall that CDMA phone needs an unlock code or master unlock code to program your phone no. in it ...)
3. Does it even support AWS (Verizon version !?!?)
4. Does it have an IMEI or just the CDMA equivalent, MEID ??? (I bought this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Motorola-U...:X:RTQ:GB:1123 and seller keeps asking IMEI ... )

Thanks !
The Verizon one at best buy is CDMA only i.e. no sim. That's the main reason it's $80 cheaper than the US version, and some subsidizing because it's stuck to Verizon. If you can swing it I would suggest the US version but $80 is a big price jump compared to the $99.
Click thanks if you think I helped you.



Samsung Captivate - CM 11
AT&T Galaxy SII - SHOstock
AT&T Galaxy SII Skyrocket - DEAD
AT&T Galaxy S4 - Beanstalk 4.4 - MDL
MOTO G - Stock




COOK/HACK of BLiNDrom and T-motion RoM
The Following User Says Thank You to hednik For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
masterfred
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 77
Join Date: Jun 2008
Oh well ! I'm back to Canada, so F** that ... just out of curiosity, what if I switch the main board assembly ?

Like this : http://www.ebay.ca/itm/OEM-MOTOROLA-...item20dc59d4a8

Otherwise, I just found an amazing Android iPod Touch replacement ... !
 
weso.villalobos
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default steps to unlock moto g verizon

ok first sorry for my english

i can unlock my verizon moto g Phone to iusacell mexico Carrier

steps

1 get the spc with this utility MSLUtility.apk
2 connect the phone on bt tools
2.1 turn off the phone
2.2 pres and hold volume - and power
2.3 the with volume + select bp tools
3 when the phone restarts install drivers like this video
4 when you have the drivers installed, just program with dfs tools like any other cdma phone

very easy

here a video with the proof on my Moto g



Thank's

BR

sorry i cant use external links for help send mp

thanks
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to weso.villalobos For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rubensin90
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by weso.villalobos View Post
ok first sorry for my english

i can unlock my verizon moto g Phone to iusacell mexico Carrier

steps

1 get the spc with this utility MSLUtility.apk
2 connect the phone on bt tools
2.1 turn off the phone
2.2 pres and hold volume - and power
2.3 the with volume + select bp tools
3 when the phone restarts install drivers like this video
4 when you have the drivers installed, just program with dfs tools like any other cdma phone

very easy

here a video with the proof on my Moto g



Thank's

BR

sorry i cant use external links for help send mp

thanks

thanks bro thats works for me
 
briguy15
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 78
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubensin90 View Post
thanks bro thats works for me
Are you using a sim card with it though like AT&T
 
rubensin90
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by briguy15 View Post
Are you using a sim card with it though like AT&T
Nope i use a cdma
 
i_fain
Old
#9  
i_fain's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 40
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lahore
Default HELP ME

Can you guide me what NV Ram you have changed or the part " just program with dfs tools like any other cdma phone"
Because i never programmed a cdma phone before.
Thank you very much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by weso.villalobos View Post
ok first sorry for my english

i can unlock my verizon moto g Phone to iusacell mexico Carrier

steps

1 get the spc with this utility MSLUtility.apk
2 connect the phone on bt tools
2.1 turn off the phone
2.2 pres and hold volume - and power
2.3 the with volume + select bp tools
3 when the phone restarts install drivers like this video
4 when you have the drivers installed, just program with dfs tools like any other cdma phone

very easy

here a video with the proof on my Moto g



Thank's

BR

sorry i cant use external links for help send mp

thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubensin90 View Post
thanks bro thats works for me
Device: Huawei U8150, Samsung i9505 Galaxy S4 TW 4.3
Recovery: ClockworkMod Recovery v6.0.1.0
ROM: ColdFusionX 2 for the Huawei U8150 [CM10]
 
notzippy
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 249
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wandering
Quote:
Originally Posted by i_fain View Post
Can you guide me what NV Ram you have changed or the part " just program with dfs tools like any other cdma phone"
Because i never programmed a cdma phone before.
Thank you very much.
I think what is meant is that you need to copy another phones cdma settings. So you will need another CDMA phone that is activated, then you need to copy everything to the moto g...
Here is a video of a guy doing it to a samsung. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SX9xFjKOiPI

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes