FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Locked out after switching to ART

1st September 2014, 03:45 AM |#1  
Nognir's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Yesterday I've tried to give ART another shot over Dalvik but since the necessary reboot my phone refuses to admit me beyond the screen lock PIN. The contents of the phone aren't backed up (save for contacts and emails) so a factory reset is out of the question. I've been pulling up an a allnighter trying to get it somehow to connect to adb so I can pull a backup from there, but to no avail so far. It's the latest en.GB rom (4.4.4), 3G 16GB version

I did attempt to clear the cache from the recovery menu, it didn't work. Not even safe mode made the trick.
 
 
1st September 2014, 09:57 AM |#2  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stara Zagora
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nognir

Yesterday I've tried to give ART another shot over Dalvik but since the necessary reboot my phone refuses to admit me beyond the screen lock PIN. The contents of the phone aren't backed up (save for contacts and emails) so a factory reset is out of the question. I've been pulling up an a allnighter trying to get it somehow to connect to adb so I can pull a backup from there, but to no avail so far. It's the latest en.GB rom (4.4.4), 3G 16GB version

I did attempt to clear the cache from the recovery menu, it didn't work. Not even safe mode made the trick.

I don't get it. Your device doesn't accept the phone PIN after you've switched to ART or what?

Just fyi, you'd better provide as much info as possible about the phone.Is it rooted, what recovery do you have....
1st September 2014, 10:27 AM |#3  
Nognir's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy

I don't get it. Your device doesn't accept the phone PIN after you've switched to ART or what?

Just fyi, you'd better provide as much info as possible about the phone.Is it rooted, what recovery do you have....

Yes, exactly that - the screen lock PIN, not the sim lock PIN. And no, it's not rooted or modded in any way, I would have mentioned that
1st September 2014, 10:41 AM |#4  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stara Zagora
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nognir

Yes, exactly that - the screen lock PIN, not the sim lock PIN. And no, it's not rooted or modded in any way, I would have mentioned that

That's bad, hmmm
You got one option, but not quite sure if its gonna work or not (probably it will...).Flash the stock system partition only and erase cache via fastboot.That will eventually revert to Dalvik and wont wipe the data partiton.

Or maybe first try to erase the cache via fastboot and see if something changes.
1st September 2014, 11:05 AM |#5  
Nognir's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy

That's bad, hmmm
You got one option, but not quite sure if its gonna work or not (probably it will...).Flash the stock system partition only and erase cache via fastboot.That will eventually revert to Dalvik and wont wipe the data partiton.

Or maybe first try to erase the cache via fastboot and see if something changes.

I'm giving that a shot and reporting back soon - downloading the firmware atm and charging the device

Edit: erasing the cache on its own didn't help

Edit 2:Sideloading failed, it aborted while verifying update package. Perhaps this only works for unlocked bootloader?
Last edited by Nognir; 1st September 2014 at 12:31 PM.
1st September 2014, 03:51 PM |#6  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stara Zagora
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nognir

I'm giving that a shot and reporting back soon - downloading the firmware atm and charging the device

Edit: erasing the cache on its own didn't help

Edit 2:Sideloading failed, it aborted while verifying update package. Perhaps this only works for unlocked bootloader?

No, the images are signed with the proper signature that is valid for the bootloader.Did you use 4.4.4 image or 4.4.2?
1st September 2014, 04:27 PM |#7  
Nognir's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy

No, the images are signed with the proper signature that is valid for the bootloader.Did you use 4.4.4 image or 4.4.2?

UK retail 4.4.4, same version as the one I've been using
1st September 2014, 05:45 PM |#8  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stara Zagora
Thanks Meter: 93
 
Donate to Me
More
bummer

Maybe try the full flashing procedure, except the erase userdata. Although this might end up in a bootloop.
If that doesn't help, let's hope someone else pops up with a fresh idea...

By the way, post some screenshots of the errors you get, might help.
Last edited by liveroy; 1st September 2014 at 05:47 PM.
1st September 2014, 06:50 PM |#9  
Nognir's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy

bummer

Maybe try the full flashing procedure, except the erase userdata. Although this might end up in a bootloop.
If that doesn't help, let's hope someone else pops up with a fresh idea...

By the way, post some screenshots of the errors you get, might help.

I just tried what you said above - the full flashing save for the userdata wipe. Still, absolutely no change. But I missed mentioning above that I get a com.android.systemui error right after I enter the screen PIN, in either normal mode or safe mode. Then I get to see the launcher for half a second and I'm prompted to enter the screen PIN again.

Edit: I noticed somewhere saying (not in XDA) that if you let the phone completely discharge it somehow switches back to dalvik - I'll place my last bet on that
Last edited by Nognir; 1st September 2014 at 10:08 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes