Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,404 Members 49,113 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Locked out after switching to ART

Tip us?
 
Nognir
Old
#1  
Nognir's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 137
Join Date: May 2012
Default Locked out after switching to ART

Yesterday I've tried to give ART another shot over Dalvik but since the necessary reboot my phone refuses to admit me beyond the screen lock PIN. The contents of the phone aren't backed up (save for contacts and emails) so a factory reset is out of the question. I've been pulling up an a allnighter trying to get it somehow to connect to adb so I can pull a backup from there, but to no avail so far. It's the latest en.GB rom (4.4.4), 3G 16GB version

I did attempt to clear the cache from the recovery menu, it didn't work. Not even safe mode made the trick.
 
liveroy
Old
#2  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 288
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stara Zagora

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nognir View Post
Yesterday I've tried to give ART another shot over Dalvik but since the necessary reboot my phone refuses to admit me beyond the screen lock PIN. The contents of the phone aren't backed up (save for contacts and emails) so a factory reset is out of the question. I've been pulling up an a allnighter trying to get it somehow to connect to adb so I can pull a backup from there, but to no avail so far. It's the latest en.GB rom (4.4.4), 3G 16GB version

I did attempt to clear the cache from the recovery menu, it didn't work. Not even safe mode made the trick.
I don't get it. Your device doesn't accept the phone PIN after you've switched to ART or what?

Just fyi, you'd better provide as much info as possible about the phone.Is it rooted, what recovery do you have....
Mental issues lead to the use of long signatures

Care much for receiving Thanks?Bitching at the others about it doesn't help, instead better stfu and gtfo.
 
Nognir
Old
#3  
Nognir's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 137
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy View Post
I don't get it. Your device doesn't accept the phone PIN after you've switched to ART or what?

Just fyi, you'd better provide as much info as possible about the phone.Is it rooted, what recovery do you have....
Yes, exactly that - the screen lock PIN, not the sim lock PIN. And no, it's not rooted or modded in any way, I would have mentioned that
 
liveroy
Old
#4  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 288
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stara Zagora

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nognir View Post
Yes, exactly that - the screen lock PIN, not the sim lock PIN. And no, it's not rooted or modded in any way, I would have mentioned that
That's bad, hmmm
You got one option, but not quite sure if its gonna work or not (probably it will...).Flash the stock system partition only and erase cache via fastboot.That will eventually revert to Dalvik and wont wipe the data partiton.

Or maybe first try to erase the cache via fastboot and see if something changes.
Mental issues lead to the use of long signatures

Care much for receiving Thanks?Bitching at the others about it doesn't help, instead better stfu and gtfo.
 
Nognir
Old
(Last edited by Nognir; 1st September 2014 at 12:31 PM.)
#5  
Nognir's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 137
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy View Post
That's bad, hmmm
You got one option, but not quite sure if its gonna work or not (probably it will...).Flash the stock system partition only and erase cache via fastboot.That will eventually revert to Dalvik and wont wipe the data partiton.

Or maybe first try to erase the cache via fastboot and see if something changes.
I'm giving that a shot and reporting back soon - downloading the firmware atm and charging the device

Edit: erasing the cache on its own didn't help

Edit 2:Sideloading failed, it aborted while verifying update package. Perhaps this only works for unlocked bootloader?
 
liveroy
Old
#6  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 288
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stara Zagora

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nognir View Post
I'm giving that a shot and reporting back soon - downloading the firmware atm and charging the device

Edit: erasing the cache on its own didn't help

Edit 2:Sideloading failed, it aborted while verifying update package. Perhaps this only works for unlocked bootloader?
No, the images are signed with the proper signature that is valid for the bootloader.Did you use 4.4.4 image or 4.4.2?
Mental issues lead to the use of long signatures

Care much for receiving Thanks?Bitching at the others about it doesn't help, instead better stfu and gtfo.
 
Nognir
Old
#7  
Nognir's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 137
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy View Post
No, the images are signed with the proper signature that is valid for the bootloader.Did you use 4.4.4 image or 4.4.2?
UK retail 4.4.4, same version as the one I've been using
 
liveroy
Old
(Last edited by liveroy; 1st September 2014 at 05:47 PM.)
#8  
liveroy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 288
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stara Zagora

 
DONATE TO ME
bummer

Maybe try the full flashing procedure, except the erase userdata. Although this might end up in a bootloop.
If that doesn't help, let's hope someone else pops up with a fresh idea...

By the way, post some screenshots of the errors you get, might help.
Mental issues lead to the use of long signatures

Care much for receiving Thanks?Bitching at the others about it doesn't help, instead better stfu and gtfo.
 
Nognir
Old
(Last edited by Nognir; 1st September 2014 at 10:08 PM.)
#9  
Nognir's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 137
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by liveroy View Post
bummer

Maybe try the full flashing procedure, except the erase userdata. Although this might end up in a bootloop.
If that doesn't help, let's hope someone else pops up with a fresh idea...

By the way, post some screenshots of the errors you get, might help.
I just tried what you said above - the full flashing save for the userdata wipe. Still, absolutely no change. But I missed mentioning above that I get a com.android.systemui error right after I enter the screen PIN, in either normal mode or safe mode. Then I get to see the launcher for half a second and I'm prompted to enter the screen PIN again.

Edit: I noticed somewhere saying (not in XDA) that if you let the phone completely discharge it somehow switches back to dalvik - I'll place my last bet on that

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more