Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,055 Members 48,094 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Moto G Versions, US, Canada, International.

Tip us?
 
no1_cdn
Old
(Last edited by no1_cdn; 4th December 2013 at 09:43 PM.) Reason: Added more info.
#1  
no1_cdn's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2011
Info 2 Moto G Versions, US, Canada, International.

Hey guys!

Just wondering what Moto G versions will be available, specifically what antennas will each version have?
I'm on Wind Mobile in Canada (AWS Band).

So far I found a few diff. versions of this phone, for US, UK and Canadian markets.

US radio specs:
http://www.motorola.com/us/consumers...ys-to-buy.html
Networks
Global GSM Model: GSM/GPRS/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
UMTS/HSPA+ up to 21 Mbps (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz)

US GSM Model: GSM/GPRS/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
UMTS/HSPA+ up to 21 Mbps (850, 1700 (AWS), 1900 MHz)
CDMA Model: CDMA/EVDO Rev A (850, 1900 MHz)

UK Band specs:
http://www.motorola.co.uk/consumers/...moto-g-gb.html
Networks
HSPA+ DL 21.1Mbps / UL 5.76Mbps- EV-DO Rev.A DL 3.1Mbps / UL 1.8Mbps
Bands/Modes
CDMA: 850/1900 UMTS: 850/900/1700/1900/2100 GSM: 850/900/1800/1900

Canada, Telus Only (for now)
HSPA 850/900/1900/2100; GSM 850/900/1800/1900
It looks like Telus is selling Global GSM Model
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxqas View Post
To OP:
Confirmed. Telus/Koodo is indeed selling what looks like the International GSM version.
Model: XT1032
Baseband: MSM8626BP_1032.3051.51.00R

It looks like US GSM Model (sold on Motorola US site) WILL work with Wind Mobile in Canada!
Quote:
While AWS transmits on ~1710-1755 MHz and receives on ~2110-2155 MHz, this band is known as 1700 or Band IV or AWS.
2100 refers to Band I (2100 IMT), a totally different band which is used in Asia and Europe, but not in North America.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UMTS_frequency_bands
The US version supports AWS because that is what T-Mobile uses in the US, and it's the same band that Wind uses.
http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...y-have-2100mhz

Brasil
Dual SIM
version:
http://www.lojaoficialmotorola.com.b...etrade%3B-dual
Bands:
http://www.motorola.com.br/consumers...to-G-BRPT.html
GSM 850/900/1800/1900, WCDMA 850/900/1900/2100

Chile
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferossan View Post
Chilean version (Movistar) and probably all Latinoamerican except Brazil:
3G HSPA 850/900/1900/2100 MHz
2G GSM 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
Data 3G HSDPA 21 Mbps - HSUPA 5.76 Mbps
Data 2G GPRS - EDGE

Any other models that you guys can add here?
Thanks!
 
jshzhv6
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Nov 2010
Wow, the UK version actually supports more band, it should be the global version. There are many countries provide Uim card (CDMA sim card) on their CDMA2000 network.
 
Allewar
Old
#3  
Allewar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 182
Join Date: May 2013
The Brazilian Dual Chip Version has the same Bands of the UK version.
 
irfan11
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Moto G UK version

Quote:
Originally Posted by jshzhv6 View Post
Wow, the UK version actually supports more band, it should be the global version. There are many countries provide Uim card (CDMA sim card) on their CDMA2000 network.
I was actually wondering the same thing myself. I wanted to buy one here in the UK because it says it supports all the bands (including 1700), but is this in fact true, or is it just the Global version?
 
no1_cdn
Old
#5  
no1_cdn's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allewar View Post
The Brazilian Dual Chip Version has the same Bands of the UK version.
Hi
Are you sure Allewar?
Motorola Brasil and the store they point you to (http://www.lojaoficialmotorola.com.b...etrade%3B-dual)
doesn't list AWS 1700 band. Unlike the UK version.
See my OP.
Thanks
 
nash211
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 44
Join Date: May 2013
Default Moto G

From what I read in Canada we cannot get the 16gb version, have to find online somewhere.
 
ferossan
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 86
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chilean version (Movistar) and probably all Latinoamerican except Brazil:
3G HSPA 850/900/1900/2100 MHz
2G GSM 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
Data 3G HSDPA 21 Mbps - HSUPA 5.76 Mbps
Data 2G GPRS - EDGE
 
matlabwtf
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2013
Hello everyone, first post here!

I ordered a moto G from the us store since I have a connection in Washington state to ship it to. On their site they list 1700(aws) but not the 2100 needed for downloading.

I phoned motorola this morning and informed them of my uncertainty. The level 2 technician replied that the american phone will fully support 1700/2100 used by aws. I also informed the technician of my carrier, so it looks like the american gsm model will work with wind.

cheers
 
maxqas
Old
(Last edited by maxqas; 4th December 2013 at 02:56 AM.) Reason: Added comment on starting a dedicated thread on AWS Suppoort for International version
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 64
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto/GTA
To OP:

Confirmed. Telus/Koodo is indeed selling what looks like the international GSM version.

Model: XT1032
Baseband: MSM8626BP_1032.3051.51.00R

I would love to know how to enable 1700/2100 bands on it!!!

Do we know if there are hardware differences? I would like to see if we can get a thread going for enabling AWS support on international GSM version. There is an extensive knowledge-base here on XDA when it comes to tinkering with the Galaxy S2 and S3 modems and NV parameters to enable Wind/TMO AWS. I remember at one point there was discussion of whether AWS was even possible on the S3 i747.

Any input would be appreciated!!
 
lbloo
Old
(Last edited by lbloo; 4th December 2013 at 01:48 PM.) Reason: Shortened quote.
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 58
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxqas View Post
To OP:

...
Model: XT1032
Baseband: MSM8626BP_1032.3051.51.00R

I would love to know how to enable 1700/2100 bands on it!!!
...
Sorry I can't help make this happen but I thought I'd offer my support and would also love to see 1700/2100 bands enabled.

Thread Tools
Display Modes