Post Reply

Will moto g lte from fido with with wind if unlocked?

OP p4png

26th September 2014, 07:41 PM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Fido phone on Wind network
They
Quote:
Originally Posted by p4png

Sorry if this is stupid question but I'm new to this whole band thing. I've tried researching but no answers.

Fido moto g lte specs

Network and Wireless connection
LTE : AWS/2600/900/700 MHz
HSPA Bands: 850/1700/1900/2100 MHz
GSM Bands: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz
Download/Upload Speeds: HSDPA 42.2 Mbps, HSUPA 5.76Mbps
Bluetooth® 4.0
Wi-Fi®: 802.11 b/g/

Canadian motorola site lte specs
Networks - Moto G with 4G LTE
US GSM Model:
4G LTE Bands 2, 4, 5, 17 (1900, 1700, 850, 700 MHz)
GSM/GPRS/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
UMTS (850, 900, 1700, 1900, 2100 MHz)

Wind requires AWS 1700 and 1900

I'm not sure if all UMTS 1700 is always AWS? I'm not sure if the US GSM model is the same as canadian model, but it seems to be. Fido doesn't list UMTS but I'm assuming it is since thats the only specs provided on the motorola site. If someone could explain or just let me know if it will work on WIND that would be great.

Thanks

Don't believe so. In Canada, phones which work on Bell, Rogers, Telus networks will not work on neither Wind or Mobilicity networks, even though Wind mobile phone have full functionality on Mobilicity and vice versa, after unlocking, of course. In my experience, however, the unlocked Wind/ Mobilicity phone does work on the other networks, you wont get 3G or LTE data connection though, only 2G.
29th September 2014, 06:18 AM   |  #12  
Darkshado's Avatar
Senior Member
Montréal
Thanks Meter: 464
 
993 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
@chichibud31: Dude.... Did you read the thread? Multiple posts from users in the field confirming it works.

The whole "Robellus phones don't work on Wind/Mobilicity/Vidéotron and vice versa" is mostly obsolete. (Caveat emptor, but usually the worst case scenario is that you'll have to play with QPST.)

There was some truth to it back when the new entrants launched their networks and penta-band HSPA SoCs were not common. But even back then you had devices like the Telus Galaxy S 2 X that worked on AWS HSPA because it was the same model as what T-Mobile USA sold.

I've been using a Mobilicity T889V on Virgin Mobile then Koodo for about two years. DC-HSPA worked out of the box and I got LTE working as well. Activating AWS HSPA on the Rogers/Bell/Telus variant is easy.

It's been said before, the non-LTE XT1032 won't work with AWS carriers; out of the box at least, it remains to be seen if it could be modded.
That's actually a non-advertised feature of the LTE Moto G versus it's HSPA-only siblings: it can roam pretty much worldwide on 3G.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank