Post Reply

RAM leak? Post a screenshot of your RAM usage and detail

OP vlt96

4th August 2014, 09:33 AM   |  #1  
vlt96's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 863
 
3,450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
So yesterday I got my cousin's Nexus 4 side by side with my Moto G, and I went to apps, and I noticed something: the Nexus 4 has about 400 MB used of RAM (out of 2 gigs) and the Moto G was using a little over 500...
The weird thing is, we are identical users (no useless apps, just what we need), except he has the Facebook app installed (which makes my Moto G unusable due to RAM usage)

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT COULD BE THIS INEXPLICABLE DIFFERENCE? I mean, we are both on Dalvik, both were on a fresh reboot, background apps were the same, and he has the Facebook app installed (~80 MB extra RAM USED)

One more weird thing I noticed was that the Moto G used some extra 5 MB of RAM for some 3rd party apps (SwiftKey and Whatsapp)

I have the stock xt1033 4.4.4 (asian ds)

Can you also post a screenshot of you RAM usage and which apps are open?
4th August 2014, 10:17 AM   |  #2  
vikasb32's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Hardwar
Thanks Meter: 1,168
 
1,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I thing it is because nexus 4 have pure android and in moto g android is little modified by motorola.even if you freez or uninstall motorola app.you still have few motorola app service running in the background.
4th August 2014, 05:59 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Sorry OT, couldn't resist myself asking this as I'm trying to find how menu button icons can be replaced with the ones you have running on the phone like nexus 5? I'm on stock Asia ROM . tried finding the option on nova launcher but....
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank