Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Simple trick to enable 'Ok Google' on any screen

OP georgiangelov

8th September 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #31  
rithvikreddy.p's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReOmbra

your model firmware please

Android 4.4.4
9th September 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #32  
ZareliMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
I noticed another things. The feature seems only to work when google search is a system app. It comes as stock in my current firmware (BR stock 4.4.4) and I usually uninstall all the google clutter from system (and replace some of them with user installation) but with google search I took the care of backing it up. When restored the "ok google everywhere" feature could not be activated anymore even if restored to system (and pretty much messes everything). If deleted and reinstalled from playstore you never get the feature again even if you push the app to be a system app.

Also it works for me to use dual languages, leaving US English as default I don't lose the "everywhere" feature.
24th October 2014, 01:40 PM   |  #33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
I'm on EU Retail 4.4.4 right now and I'm not getting the "From any screen" option under "Ok Google detection" settings. Do I have to flash the BR Retail firmware to get this to work? I can't find a BR retail firmware that matches my CID number (7)
24th October 2014, 02:33 PM   |  #34  
Drift0r's Avatar
Member
Flag BIRMINGHAM
Thanks Meter: 3
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
Donate to Me
More
All you need to do is change the language to US...then you should get more settings.
24th October 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
It's already on US, i'm not getting any of the settings
13th November 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #36  
dog121's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag london
Thanks Meter: 217
 
649 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Works for me on any screen+ lock screen...
14th November 2014, 03:46 PM   |  #37  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Thanks
Thanks, this works for me
14th November 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #38  
ReOmbra's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindsport

It's already on US, i'm not getting any of the settings

i had the same problem.. and i have resolve..!!
i don't think that is a reason of firmware but of account.. when yuo are in the screen of google setting into google now .. you look audio history??
if you don't see this feauture try to send a feedback to google clicking in the top of the screeen (three little point).. and tell to google that you haven't the audio history..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes