Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,708 Members 54,355 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[DISCONTINUED] Moto X Restore Utility - Windows+Mac OS X+GNU/Linux

Tip us?
 
shabbypenguin
Old
#11  
shabbypenguin's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4718
Posts: 4,426
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
if youd like to make your script "smarter" i would suggest looking into something like this

https://github.com/Shabbypenguin/One...Nexus.bat#L140

i have it clear out the variables earlier on (like 6 lines above it), but it allows me to then automatically detect the users device and auto configure what options are based on that device. so that later on when they have chosen which recovery they want, i can use one string in my code to handle all recoveries/devices https://github.com/Shabbypenguin/One...Nexus.bat#L322

i also have all this done in bash as well if you look on the repo, some of it may not be of any use but some of it may trim down your script and help you organize your files on your webserver better
If you feel as though my work is worth something, you can alwaysDonate
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shabbypenguin For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Pr0f_Farnsw0rth
Old
#12  
Pr0f_Farnsw0rth's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 87
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Is there any way to get this tool to flash the 4.2.2. CU system images rather than the 4.4?
Current:
Black on black Moto X

Past:
Droid X2: CM10 Alpha 3
Galaxy Nexus: AOKP Linero
 
mattlgroff
Old
#13  
mattlgroff's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2365
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr0f_Farnsw0rth View Post
Is there any way to get this tool to flash the 4.2.2. CU system images rather than the 4.4?
Extract them to the /firmware/ folder and run the Restore option. This is not a guaranteed process normally, but especially not if using firmware from somewhere other than the tool. Best of luck.

Please do not Personal Message me for help or troubleshooting. They will be ignored. Use the forums!
Owner of Batakang. Recognized Developer at XDA
 
Pr0f_Farnsw0rth
Old
#14  
Pr0f_Farnsw0rth's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 87
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Call me crazy, but even after using the firmware download option, I only have these two files. Nothing firmware related.
Current:
Black on black Moto X

Past:
Droid X2: CM10 Alpha 3
Galaxy Nexus: AOKP Linero
 
mattlgroff
Old
#15  
mattlgroff's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2365
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr0f_Farnsw0rth View Post
Call me crazy, but even after using the firmware download option, I only have these two files. Nothing firmware related.
Make a folder next to 'tools' that is called 'firmware' and put them there. Make sure the directory looks like
run.sh
/tools/
/firmware/

and inside firmware directly (not inside another folder) should be there
system.img
boot.img.
etc...

Please do not Personal Message me for help or troubleshooting. They will be ignored. Use the forums!
Owner of Batakang. Recognized Developer at XDA
 
Island_King
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 30
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern California
I'm having some problems with Run - Option 2. When I input "2" into the cmd prompt nothing happens. The window appears to refresh but I am not taken to a screen to choose the firmware that I need to download. What can I do to fix this?

I was able to successfully download the 6.2 drivers in Option 1.
 
mattlgroff
Old
#17  
mattlgroff's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2365
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Island_King View Post
I'm having some problems with Run - Option 2. When I input "2" into the cmd prompt nothing happens. The window appears to refresh but I am not taken to a screen to choose the firmware that I need to download. What can I do to fix this?

I was able to successfully download the 6.2 drivers in Option 1.
What operating system are you on?

Please do not Personal Message me for help or troubleshooting. They will be ignored. Use the forums!
Owner of Batakang. Recognized Developer at XDA
 
Island_King
Old
#18  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 30
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlgroff View Post
What operating system are you on?
Windows 8
 
mattlgroff
Old
(Last edited by mattlgroff; 20th January 2014 at 10:58 PM.)
#19  
mattlgroff's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2365
Posts: 2,183
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Island_King View Post
Windows 8
Gonna try it on a Windows 8 PC and get back to you.

EDIT: Just tested and all the commands worked fine. Maybe your PATH is screwed up and it can't access the windows executable for some menus in CMD. Not sure since there isn't an error message.

Please do not Personal Message me for help or troubleshooting. They will be ignored. Use the forums!
Owner of Batakang. Recognized Developer at XDA
 
Island_King
Old
#20  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 30
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlgroff View Post
Gonna try it on a Windows 8 PC and get back to you.

EDIT: Just tested and all the commands worked fine. Maybe your PATH is screwed up and it can't access the windows executable for some menus in CMD. Not sure since there isn't an error message.
Is there any way to check my PATH? (I assume that you're referring to the location of the BAT file). I extracted the .zip file to my desktop so that shouldn't be the issue. I'm not sure if it makes a difference, but I was able to get the drivers from step 1. to download via your script with no problem.

Tags
moto, restore, script, utility
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes