FORUMS

Xposed Modules to Modify Email – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Even though we have Dropbox and other ways to share files, people still want … more

Google Teaches You to Use Wear Gestures

Now that the Watch Urbane is out with the latest firmware, we have new information regarding the … more

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Who needs Carplay or Android Auto if you have a Moto X?

11th July 2014, 08:23 PM |#11  
deathsled's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggiestuff

That seems more trouble than just connecting your phone to the Android auto head unit. Less functionality than mirroring but easier. Might as well just plug in a miracast adapter into your system.

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk

Well I have the chromecast already and don't have a miracast dongle, so the Chromecast is actually the easier and cheaper solution.

Plus I like the additional functionality beyond screen casting. Like what if I wanted to get Netflix going on the screen but still have my phone available...
 
 
11th July 2014, 09:47 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathsled

Well I have the chromecast already and don't have a miracast dongle, so the Chromecast is actually the easier and cheaper solution.

Plus I like the additional functionality beyond screen casting. Like what if I wanted to get Netflix going on the screen but still have my phone available...

Hmm chrome cast in a car... This does seem interesting. Basically it sounds like android auto, but without the screen being disabled during connection.

I think I got a new project idea to play with now. Lol

tapa'd on my moto x
11th July 2014, 10:05 PM |#13  
biggiestuff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 243
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathsled

Well I have the chromecast already and don't have a miracast dongle, so the Chromecast is actually the easier and cheaper solution.

Plus I like the additional functionality beyond screen casting. Like what if I wanted to get Netflix going on the screen but still have my phone available...

It's still a lot of work. YOu have to get into the car, enable your hotspot so chromecast can work, put that phone aside and use a 2nd phone or tablet to cast to the chromecast?

I have more faith in the devs just figuring out how to mirror your screen to android auto while connected to your phone. .
12th July 2014, 08:06 AM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Wouldn't hosting a hotspot on his (primary) device create a LAN that his phone and chrome cast could communicate through? Thus not needing a router or secondary phone, as well as still having mobile data connectivity...

Will a chrome cast detect an android device like this?

tapa'd on my moto x
12th July 2014, 01:33 PM |#15  
biggiestuff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 243
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisp6825

Wouldn't hosting a hotspot on his (primary) device create a LAN that his phone and chrome cast could communicate through? Thus not needing a router or secondary phone, as well as still having mobile data connectivity...

Will a chrome cast detect an android device like this?

tapa'd on my moto x

The device hosting the hotspot wouldn't be able to cast to the chromecast you would need an additional device connected to the hotspot to be able to cast.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
16th July 2014, 09:46 PM |#16  
deathsled's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
oh one new feature hitting the chromecast is for devices NOT on the same wireless network to send stuff to be casted to it. All you need to know is a PIN code from the Chromecast.

This will let it work in the car perfectly. It can connect to the hotspot on the phone and my phone can still send it commands over the internet and not a local network.
17th July 2014, 12:40 AM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Though that may work, it's just such a... redundant workaround... Lol
In theory, they should have a common subnet across the wlan adapters. I see no reason they can't talk across that, other than software imposed restrictions.

tapa'd on my moto x
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes