Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,495 Members 37,162 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Old google maps version 6.14.3 runs well on moto x

Tip us?
 
doitinthedirt
Old
#1  
doitinthedirt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 219
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default Old google maps version 6.14.3 runs well on moto x

If anyone is interested its simple and works well. I used File Explorer with the root addon from netapps its free, deleted the current screwed to hell new version on the moto x and used file explorer again on my razr m to copy 6.14.3 the version that came on my razr m, sent it via email to myself and downloded it to moto x and it installed fine and works like a champ.. I keep playstore set to NEVER AUTO UPDATE APPS
The Following User Says Thank You to doitinthedirt For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
seanyuan62
Old
#2  
seanyuan62's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 629
Posts: 1,383
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Woah are you the developer of Google maps??

---------- Post added at 08:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:38 AM ----------

Nice to meet you sir
Device: T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-T989
Radio: T989UVKL1
Current ROM: GBaxe EX v1.6
Kernel: Faux v010

>>>>>>Waiting for your perfect Hercules ICS port??<<<<<<
 
Arak-Nafein
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 70
Join Date: Sep 2010
What's wrong with the current version of Google Maps?
 
scorpion667
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 528
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Toronto
I also never auto update lol. If I update one app every treo months that's allot. Needs to have 4.5+ star rating for latest update. But yeah I'm on 7.4.0 with zero issues, what's wrong with it?

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk
Moto X [Rogers XT1058]
Stock 4.4.2, Rooted and heavily debloated
Moto X Debloat guide

Retired:
2x S2 i9100, iphone 4s, S3 I747, iphone 5, Nexus 4, HTC One
 
doitinthedirt
Old
(Last edited by doitinthedirt; 17th June 2014 at 05:03 PM.)
#5  
doitinthedirt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 219
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanyuan62 View Post
Woah are you the developer of Google maps??

---------- Post added at 08:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:38 AM ----------

Nice to meet you sir
Just not a fan of the new maps that came out last year.. they made it ridiculously hard to get directions from "point on map" I still havent figured out how to get point on map as departure point.. i can as destination but not as departure .. it is so simple in the old verion I use. another thing is the permanent scale bar the have on the old version.. is gone on the new version along with plus and minus buttons to zoom with.. it was perfect before and they made a cluster@$$% out of it. takes three times longer to get directins than it use to. the two shots below are from my moto x and old version 6.14.3 from razr m, it shows how simple it is to choose point on map.. its easy, and also shows the permanent scale bar i like and the zoom buttons i prefer over double tapping and guessing which way to move your finger to get the zoom you want.. i dont know who was in charge of the update to change all these nice features but it was a huge disapointment..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-17-11-49-59.png
Views:	232
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	2803622   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-17-11-53-53.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	2803623  
 
smohanv
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 777
Join Date: Nov 2006
Good one. New map version has live traffic information mapped on the navigation view which is missing in the old map.

Thanks for the posting.
IPAQ 6950 > Nokia N95 > Nokia N97 > iPhone 3GS > HTC Hero > Nexus One > SGS > SGS II > LG Optimus 3D > Galaxy Nexus > SGS3 > Nokia Lumia 920 > Sony Xpeira Z > Google Nexus 4 > Moto G > Moto X (XT1052)
 
doitinthedirt
Old
(Last edited by doitinthedirt; 17th June 2014 at 06:28 PM.)
#7  
doitinthedirt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 219
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by smohanv View Post
Good one. New map version has live traffic information mapped on the navigation view which is missing in the old map.

Thanks for the posting.
a screen off moto x and google maps 6.14.3 in navigation just now showing chitown traffic looks like rushour
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-17-12-35-48.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	94.0 KB
ID:	2803681  
 
smohanv
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 777
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by doitinthedirt View Post
a screen off moto x and google maps 6.14.3 in navigation just now showing chitown traffic looks like rushour
I meant this.. See attached...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-17-18-33-08.png
Views:	209
Size:	255.5 KB
ID:	2803846  
IPAQ 6950 > Nokia N95 > Nokia N97 > iPhone 3GS > HTC Hero > Nexus One > SGS > SGS II > LG Optimus 3D > Galaxy Nexus > SGS3 > Nokia Lumia 920 > Sony Xpeira Z > Google Nexus 4 > Moto G > Moto X (XT1052)
 
doitinthedirt
Old
#9  
doitinthedirt's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 219
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by smohanv View Post
I meant this.. See attached...

Looks different.. I will check it out on my nexus 7. I haven't used my moto x with the latest google maps for actually naving but my little brother did on a trip across the country and said it kept locking up on him when he stopped for gas and wanted to continue driving.. he said it would never restart the trip navigation and he would have to re enter the destination. I've never had that problem.. i have heard REROUTING REROUTING several times LOL tho. I don't like the menu design of the new maps.. one more thing I don't care for... If it's now broke leave it the @#$%^ alone!!
 
Travisdroidx2
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 828
Posts: 3,027
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bay Area California
I think the main problem here is this was posted in the wrong thread. This should of been under general or apps. This does not belong in development.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes