Post Reply

[HOW TO] RockMyMoto Guide for Windows! [*NEWB PROOF*]

OP DG4FREE

3rd November 2013, 05:31 AM   |  #1  
DG4FREE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Tempe
Thanks Meter: 56
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
So if you were like me and upon first watching JCase's video for RockMyMoto and were confused, this is for you. This guide will cater to Windows users since Mac and Linux users should be able to follow along seamlessly to JCase's steps. The steps here are no different, the commands are the same, just an extra application that works better than the Windows built in Telnet client.

First off I just want to thank JCase for taking so much time to release this for us. All credit goes to him.

Download Cydia Impactor (Thanks Saurik!) from his website HERE.

Download the RockMyMoto.zip attachment from JCase's post HERE.

Next download the PuTTYtel file "puttytel.exe" (You don't need the full application) HERE.

The initial steps are the same regardless of platform. I won't go into details on getting ADB set up, etc. Follow JCase's video and guide for all of that or search around XDA. Chances are someone else has explained this.



***STEP ONE***

So at this point your phone should be connected to ADB and you should have your IP Address. Leave your ADB window open as we will go back to it later. Run the Cydia Impactor application from the above download.

From the drop down menu, select:

Code:
# start telnetd as system on port 2222
Click on start and you should see a series of messages saying testing, installing, waiting to complete (a couple others) and then it goes back to the # start telnetd" message. This is OK.


***STEP TWO***

Run the "puttytel.exe" file downloaded from the link above.

From the initial screen, enter in your IP Address from the ADB terminal in the box where it says "Host Name (or IP Address).

Enter "2222" without quotes in the box listed as Port.

Make sure the connection type has Telnet selected and then click "Open" at the bottom.



A PuTTYtel window will open up where we will enter the code JCase provided.

***STEP THREE***


In JCase's video he types in the line:

Code:
telnet {IP Address} 2222
We don't need that step as we already connected it through Step 2.

Proceed to run the exploit:

Code:
dalvikvm -cp /sdcard/RockMyMoto.jar RockMyMoto


After the first run, it will say to "ADB Reboot" your phone.

Open up the ADB window from earlier and run the command:

Code:
adb reboot
This will reboot the phone.


***STEP FOUR***

Because PuTTYtel is connecting to the phone to run the exploit, rebooting the phone closes the connection. We need to redo Steps 1-3, running the Cydia Impactor, opening PuTTYtel and connecting it using the IP, and running the same exploit command. The phone reboots itself after the second exploit command so no need to adb reboot again.


***STEP FIVE***

Checking for root. After the exploit has been ran three times, go back to the ADB window and type the following:

Code:
adb shell su -c "id"
If you get the return message saying:

Code:
uid=0(root) gid=0(root)
You're done and rooted! Go install SuperSu from the Play Store and make sure to throw a couple bucks JCase's way for making this great tool.

Last edited by DG4FREE; 3rd November 2013 at 06:26 AM.
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to DG4FREE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd November 2013, 05:43 AM   |  #2  
cartmenicus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag British columbia
Thanks Meter: 1,970
 
2,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thanks a ton!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
3rd November 2013, 05:46 AM   |  #3  
DG4FREE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Tempe
Thanks Meter: 56
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsqwizzys98

Thanks a ton!

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

No problem. Let me know if you can get it to work on your desktop. I'll stick around in IRC for awhile as to not clog up the thread.
Last edited by DG4FREE; 3rd November 2013 at 05:48 AM. Reason: spelling
The Following User Says Thank You to DG4FREE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd November 2013, 06:32 AM   |  #4  
cartmenicus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag British columbia
Thanks Meter: 1,970
 
2,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
awesome it worked thanks man! and thanks @jcase for the help!
3rd November 2013, 11:48 AM   |  #5  
lowvolt1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 169
 
715 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Awesome!! I struggled a bit until I read this. Great Job!!
3rd November 2013, 04:21 PM   |  #6  
dsimages's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Worked like a charm.
Now just that damn VZ bootloader...

---------- Post added at 11:21 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:18 AM ----------

Also, for those of you reading on rooting and not really confident enough to use adb I suggest this .exe.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=42407269
Its a minimal adb shell. Simple and easy to use, just install the program on a windows machine, open it up, plug in the phone, start your commands.
The Following User Says Thank You to dsimages For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd November 2013, 04:42 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
My issue:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	1743
Size:	62.2 KB
ID:	2368739  
The Following User Says Thank You to bozbeast For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd November 2013, 05:00 PM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 1,764
 
2,366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
^you adb push'd .zip instead of .jar. Rerun it through adb. Then it'll work. Happened to me as well.

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to 1ManWolfePack For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd November 2013, 05:10 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
The OP updated his mistake, instead of pushing the .zip, it should be the .jar
3rd November 2013, 05:40 PM   |  #10  
mpetruzz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
When I run impactor it just sits at testing #9950697. I've tried it a few times and each it does that. What can I do??

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
jcase, moto, motox, rock, rockmymoto
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X General by ThreadRank