Thread Closed

Towelroot Discussion Thread

OP Verttex

1st July 2014, 07:30 AM   |  #1  
Verttex's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 115
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Most of us were talking about Towelroot over in Jcase's PIE thread or over in collinjames' thread, but I think it's time it deserves it's own thread.

UPDATE:
@iKrYpToNiTe made the awesome TowelPieRoot which makes this method easier to use. You can still use this thread to root your phone, but I will be using his method from now on. Happy rooting!

Important Links:
Geohot's original post.
Towelroot's Homepage
Mod Strings

What is Towelroot?
Towelroot is a rooting method for most android phones, and it uses an apk to obtain root (dead simple too, push one button, no need for other tools and workarounds). (source)

Why do we use Towelroot in conjunction with PIE?
PIE nor Towelroot disables write protection. Both of them offer a temporary root that has to be applied after a reboot. The advantage to Towelroot is that it is an APK that sits on device, so unlike PIE, Towelroot can be run later, non-tethered to a PC, should you have to power off/on. So you use PIE first while tethered and initially rooting, then Towelroot allows you to continue rooting "on the go" in the future without needing a PC.

How does it work with the Moto X?
It works the same as PIE. It gives root access but the device is still write protected. It is also temporary and must be reapplied after a reboot. However, a soft/hot reboot can keep the root access, due to soft/hot reboots only rebooting the graphical Android shell.

What does it work on?
XT1049 - Republic Wireless, not confirmed, should work.
XT1052 - European
XT1053 -T-Mobile US, not confirmed, should work.
XT1055 - US Cellular, not confirmed, should work.
XT1056 - Sprint, not confirmed, should work.
XT1058 - AT&T, Rogers, Claro, Movistar, Vivo, Oi, TIM
XT1060 - Verizon

How do I use this tool?
Remember to apply PIE first!
1. On your device, go to here.It will start to download the .apk
3. On your device, go to Settings>Security>Unknown Sources and tick the box.
4. Run the downloaded apk, tr3.apk
5. Press "welcome to towelroot" 3 times.
6. Replace the last 0 with a 1, due to modstrings.
7. make it ra1n

Your device should now be rooted and you should be able to use apps such as Greenify and Titanium Backup.

Some applications that should work with root, might not work with this method.
Some people have experimented with using Superuser apps, but I have not seen a consistent method to use one.

How are we keeping root after reboots?
We aren't rebooting! Seriously, we soft/hot reboot which allows us to keep root after a graphical reboot. And even if you do reboot, you can always reapply the root with Towelroot. You just need to make sure you have applied jcase's PIE before hand.

Xposed:
jpond83 posted up some instructions in the PIE thread about how to get Xposed to work:
Make sure you have installed PIE before you try to use Xposed or it will NOT work. View jcase's PIE thread for more details.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpond83

1) install towelroot. Xposed installer, Busybox installer, power menu
2)run towelroot, click "welcome to towelroot", replace 0 with 1, make it rain.
3) run xposed and click install
4) run busybox installer and click install
5) run power menu and click "hot reboot"
6) enjoy root without using a PC.

Current problems/bugs
Some users have problems with soft/hot rebooting. Reapply PIE.
Random reboots.

Warning about using this exploit
Myself or anyone that has helped develop this are not responsible for anything that occurs to your phone by using this method.


As for this thread, feel free to post your experiences with this tool or any supplements to add.
Last edited by Verttex; 24th July 2014 at 06:15 AM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Verttex For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st July 2014, 07:33 AM   |  #2  
Chuckleb0ne's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Renton, WA
Thanks Meter: 120
 
820 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I'm glad this finally has a dedicated thread. Good job OP
1st July 2014, 07:52 AM   |  #3  
hovax615@hotmail.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Corona, CA - Murfreesboro, TN
Thanks Meter: 310
 
1,480 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I finally got it working. When I installed SuperSU it was lagging. But I kept it off. I even have hkthememanager running with KitKat all white settings from the nexus forum.

Sent from my XT1058 using XDA Free mobile app
1st July 2014, 09:56 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
The softboot/hot boot issue comes from not having busybox installed.
1st July 2014, 10:03 AM   |  #5  
Verttex's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 115
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpond83

The softboot/hot boot issue comes from not having busybox installed.

I've installed 3 different Busybox installers:
Busybox by Stephen (Stericson)
Busybox Installer by JRummy Apps Inc.
Busybox X by Robert Nediyakalaparambil [root]

The first and the third one said they installed successfully, but the second one did not.

Even after 2 installations succeeding, I was still unable to soft/hot reboot.

Any ideas?
1st July 2014, 10:05 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I use busybox installer with the blue icon. Never had a issue with softboot as long as I install everything in the order I stated in the other thread.
1st July 2014, 10:19 AM   |  #7  
Verttex's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 115
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpond83

I use busybox installer with the blue icon. Never had a issue with softboot as long as I install everything in the order I stated in the other thread.

Guessing that is the Busybox Installer , I just get this when I try to install it. I have root access, but Busybox is not installing.

But when I use Busybox by Stephen, it says it installs correctly, and my Busybox checker says it does too, but Power Menu still won't Hot Reboot.
Last edited by Verttex; 1st July 2014 at 10:25 AM.
1st July 2014, 10:24 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Have you ran pie root before? It needs to be ran on the device once before for it to work.
The Following User Says Thank You to jpond83 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st July 2014, 10:29 AM   |  #9  
Verttex's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 115
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpond83

Have you ran pie root before? It needs to be ran on the device once before for it to work.

Replying the PIE exploit has seemed to fix it. Thank you.

Should I add to the original post that you need to install PIE?
Last edited by Verttex; 1st July 2014 at 10:36 AM.
1st July 2014, 10:42 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dier325

Replying the PIE exploit has seemed to fix it. Thank you.

Should I add to the original post that you need to install PIE?

Yes, its a must. It should only need to be ran once. After that you should never need it again unless you factory reset.
Last edited by jpond83; 1st July 2014 at 10:58 AM.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X General by ThreadRank