Post Reply

One phone, two SIM (help with question)

OP tgerbracht

2nd February 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
I'm curious to try T-Mobile's network with my VZW Moto X. I've read that it may very well work ok and I wanted to get a sense of the network in my area by trying this plan:

http://m.cnet.com/news/is-this-the-b...-ever/57587175

Basically I buy a tmobile SIM, pick the prepaid plan for one month and pop it in. Now here's my question:


1) I don't want to port my Verizon number yet. I'll get assigned a random one right? At a later point can I do a port?

2) Swapping SIM from one network to the other, will Verizon know/care, unintentionally shoot my number over?

3) I plan to use T-Mobile SIM for a few hours at a time and then get back to Verizon for most of the day. Will I need to tinker with apn settings or should this work automatically.

4) Our X has a micro SIM right?

I'd welcome any other thoughts!
Last edited by tgerbracht; 2nd February 2014 at 11:46 PM.
2nd February 2014, 11:42 PM   |  #2  
Mont's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Monterrey
Thanks Meter: 49
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgerbracht

I'm curious to try T-Mobile's network with my VZW Moto X. I've read that it may very well work ok and I wanted to get a sense of the network in my area by trying this plan:

http://m.cnet.com/news/is-this-the-b...-ever/57587175

Basically I buy a tmobile SIM, pick they prepaid plan for one month and pop it in. Now here's my question:


1) I don't want to port my Verizon number yet. I'll get assigned a random one right? At a later point I can do I do a port?

2) Swapping SIM from one network to the other, will Verizon know/care, unintentionally shoot my number over?

3) I plan to use T-Mobile SIM for a few hours at a time and then get back to Verizon for most of the day. Will I need to tinker with apn settings or should this work automatically.

4) Our X has a micro SIM right?

I'd welcome any other thoughts!

Nano SIM

Sent From Moto X
The Following User Says Thank You to Mont For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #3  
KJ's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,078
 
10,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Yeah ....you're gonna be outta luck with the different sized sims. But....you can almost bet the Moto x will have better....or at least the same radio performance than any phone out there.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...

---------- Post added at 06:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Oh...that may not be your concern...you wanna compare carriers. K....sorry. lol

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...
3rd February 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112

Yeah ....you're gonna be outta luck with the different sized sims. But....you can almost bet the Moto x will have better....or at least the same radio performance than any phone out there.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...

---------- Post added at 06:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Oh...that may not be your concern...you wanna compare carriers. K....sorry. lol

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...

Yeah, I just needed to know which size SIM to order. Any other thoughts about the other questions?
3rd February 2014, 12:10 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 219
 
553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
The pre-paid SIM will have it's own phone number. Using it will not affect your Verizon account or number in any way. You have to request a number be ported from one carrier to another. It's not automatic.

Sent from my LG-E971 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to phoenix_rizzen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #6  
KJ's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,078
 
10,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgerbracht

Yeah, I just needed to know which size SIM to order. Any other thoughts about the other questions?

Honestly I'm not sure. I've never done what you're going to. Don't see any issue....as long as you have 2 active Sims.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...
The Following User Says Thank You to KJ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2014, 02:41 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
What's this? Is that the catch?
"This plan is only available for devices purchased from Wal-Mart or devices activated on T-Mobile.com"
4th February 2014, 02:40 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
607 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
That just means buy a SIM via website activate the pre paid plan
11th February 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #9  
ewrides's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
So did you activate a T-Mobile sim ? I have been wanting to try this as well to see how tmo coverage was in my area. Where did you get your Sim from and what plan did you try?

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X General by ThreadRank