Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,937 Members 43,434 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

One phone, two SIM (help with question)

Tip us?
 
tgerbracht
Old
(Last edited by tgerbracht; 2nd February 2014 at 11:46 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 562
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default One phone, two SIM (help with question)

I'm curious to try T-Mobile's network with my VZW Moto X. I've read that it may very well work ok and I wanted to get a sense of the network in my area by trying this plan:

http://m.cnet.com/news/is-this-the-b...-ever/57587175

Basically I buy a tmobile SIM, pick the prepaid plan for one month and pop it in. Now here's my question:


1) I don't want to port my Verizon number yet. I'll get assigned a random one right? At a later point can I do a port?

2) Swapping SIM from one network to the other, will Verizon know/care, unintentionally shoot my number over?

3) I plan to use T-Mobile SIM for a few hours at a time and then get back to Verizon for most of the day. Will I need to tinker with apn settings or should this work automatically.

4) Our X has a micro SIM right?

I'd welcome any other thoughts!
 
Mont
Old
#2  
Mont's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 256
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Monterrey
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgerbracht View Post
I'm curious to try T-Mobile's network with my VZW Moto X. I've read that it may very well work ok and I wanted to get a sense of the network in my area by trying this plan:

http://m.cnet.com/news/is-this-the-b...-ever/57587175

Basically I buy a tmobile SIM, pick they prepaid plan for one month and pop it in. Now here's my question:


1) I don't want to port my Verizon number yet. I'll get assigned a random one right? At a later point I can do I do a port?

2) Swapping SIM from one network to the other, will Verizon know/care, unintentionally shoot my number over?

3) I plan to use T-Mobile SIM for a few hours at a time and then get back to Verizon for most of the day. Will I need to tinker with apn settings or should this work automatically.

4) Our X has a micro SIM right?

I'd welcome any other thoughts!
Nano SIM

Sent From Moto X
¿Nesecitas ayuda en español? ¡Dame un PM!

My Devices:
 

MOTO X XT1053 4.4.2 KANGAKAT BY B4STID
Kernel: Faux Ultimate kernel @1.944GHz
LG L7 P708 CM 10.1 BETA 6 By tudorsirb
*New
LG G2 Mini LTE TEGRA D625 - Stock (For now)
Pipo S2 (chinese tablet)
Asus Memo Pad HD 7-Stock Rooted
The Following User Says Thank You to Mont For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KJ
Old
#3  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,290
Posts: 7,949
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Yeah ....you're gonna be outta luck with the different sized sims. But....you can almost bet the Moto x will have better....or at least the same radio performance than any phone out there.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...

---------- Post added at 06:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Oh...that may not be your concern...you wanna compare carriers. K....sorry. lol

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...
Sent from my new HTC One M8, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life on the N5...or any device really? Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

 
tgerbracht
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 562
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112 View Post
Yeah ....you're gonna be outta luck with the different sized sims. But....you can almost bet the Moto x will have better....or at least the same radio performance than any phone out there.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...

---------- Post added at 06:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Oh...that may not be your concern...you wanna compare carriers. K....sorry. lol

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...
Yeah, I just needed to know which size SIM to order. Any other thoughts about the other questions?
 
phoenix_rizzen
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 183
Posts: 498
Join Date: Aug 2011
The pre-paid SIM will have it's own phone number. Using it will not affect your Verizon account or number in any way. You have to request a number be ported from one carrier to another. It's not automatic.

Sent from my LG-E971 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to phoenix_rizzen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KJ
Old
#6  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,290
Posts: 7,949
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgerbracht View Post
Yeah, I just needed to know which size SIM to order. Any other thoughts about the other questions?
Honestly I'm not sure. I've never done what you're going to. Don't see any issue....as long as you have 2 active Sims.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...
Sent from my new HTC One M8, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life on the N5...or any device really? Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

The Following User Says Thank You to KJ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mike7143
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 65
Join Date: Jan 2014
What's this? Is that the catch?
"This plan is only available for devices purchased from Wal-Mart or devices activated on T-Mobile.com"
 
tgerbracht
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 562
Join Date: Jan 2008
That just means buy a SIM via website activate the pre paid plan
 
ewrides
Old
#9  
ewrides's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2012
So did you activate a T-Mobile sim ? I have been wanting to try this as well to see how tmo coverage was in my area. Where did you get your Sim from and what plan did you try?

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes