FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

One phone, two SIM (help with question)

2nd February 2014, 11:38 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
I'm curious to try T-Mobile's network with my VZW Moto X. I've read that it may very well work ok and I wanted to get a sense of the network in my area by trying this plan:

http://m.cnet.com/news/is-this-the-b...-ever/57587175

Basically I buy a tmobile SIM, pick the prepaid plan for one month and pop it in. Now here's my question:


1) I don't want to port my Verizon number yet. I'll get assigned a random one right? At a later point can I do a port?

2) Swapping SIM from one network to the other, will Verizon know/care, unintentionally shoot my number over?

3) I plan to use T-Mobile SIM for a few hours at a time and then get back to Verizon for most of the day. Will I need to tinker with apn settings or should this work automatically.

4) Our X has a micro SIM right?

I'd welcome any other thoughts!
Last edited by tgerbracht; 2nd February 2014 at 11:46 PM.
 
 
2nd February 2014, 11:42 PM |#2  
Mont's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Monterrey
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgerbracht

I'm curious to try T-Mobile's network with my VZW Moto X. I've read that it may very well work ok and I wanted to get a sense of the network in my area by trying this plan:

http://m.cnet.com/news/is-this-the-b...-ever/57587175

Basically I buy a tmobile SIM, pick they prepaid plan for one month and pop it in. Now here's my question:


1) I don't want to port my Verizon number yet. I'll get assigned a random one right? At a later point I can do I do a port?

2) Swapping SIM from one network to the other, will Verizon know/care, unintentionally shoot my number over?

3) I plan to use T-Mobile SIM for a few hours at a time and then get back to Verizon for most of the day. Will I need to tinker with apn settings or should this work automatically.

4) Our X has a micro SIM right?

I'd welcome any other thoughts!

Nano SIM

Sent From Moto X
The Following User Says Thank You to Mont For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 11:56 PM |#3  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Big scary planet destroying space station.
Thanks Meter: 7,292
 
More
Yeah ....you're gonna be outta luck with the different sized sims. But....you can almost bet the Moto x will have better....or at least the same radio performance than any phone out there.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...

---------- Post added at 06:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Oh...that may not be your concern...you wanna compare carriers. K....sorry. lol

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...
3rd February 2014, 12:00 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112

Yeah ....you're gonna be outta luck with the different sized sims. But....you can almost bet the Moto x will have better....or at least the same radio performance than any phone out there.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...

---------- Post added at 06:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Oh...that may not be your concern...you wanna compare carriers. K....sorry. lol

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...

Yeah, I just needed to know which size SIM to order. Any other thoughts about the other questions?
3rd February 2014, 12:10 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 347
 
More
The pre-paid SIM will have it's own phone number. Using it will not affect your Verizon account or number in any way. You have to request a number be ported from one carrier to another. It's not automatic.

Sent from my LG-E971 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to phoenix_rizzen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2014, 12:12 AM |#6  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Big scary planet destroying space station.
Thanks Meter: 7,292
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgerbracht

Yeah, I just needed to know which size SIM to order. Any other thoughts about the other questions?

Honestly I'm not sure. I've never done what you're going to. Don't see any issue....as long as you have 2 active Sims.

Sent from my Moto X cellular telephone...
The Following User Says Thank You to Darth For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2014, 02:41 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
What's this? Is that the catch?
"This plan is only available for devices purchased from Wal-Mart or devices activated on T-Mobile.com"
4th February 2014, 02:40 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
That just means buy a SIM via website activate the pre paid plan
11th February 2014, 04:18 AM |#9  
ewrides's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So did you activate a T-Mobile sim ? I have been wanting to try this as well to see how tmo coverage was in my area. Where did you get your Sim from and what plan did you try?

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes