Post Reply

Purchased a Dev Edition that cannot be unlocked

OP StiM_AddiCt

21st February 2014, 11:22 PM   |  #11  
kpetrie77's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 176
 
280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
It is the unlock page acting up. Someone mentioned this yesterday in the G+ Moto X Community. Tried it with mine and nogo. GSM Dev Edition.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
22nd February 2014, 12:54 AM   |  #12  
cartmenicus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag British columbia
Thanks Meter: 1,970
 
2,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
When I unlocked my moto x it didn't work the first time because I had spaces which I didn't think would matter but it did. So make sure there's no spaces in between the lines.

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to cartmenicus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2014, 12:57 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
The hour my VZ DE arrived I used the unlock method on the website
22nd February 2014, 01:39 AM   |  #14  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 87
 
423 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drozek

The hour my VZ DE arrived I used the unlock method on the website

yeah, it is fickle, that is why I told the OP to get it escalated to Tech Level 3 because it will take a few days for them to get back to him. They do get back to you, though. In the mean time, he can keep checking.
22nd February 2014, 06:03 AM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Flag Naperville, IL
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Well it finally worked. Thanks for the moral support guys lol.
22nd February 2014, 06:41 AM   |  #16  
Jayrod1980's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bristow, VA
Thanks Meter: 595
 
2,371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcsqwizzys98

When I unlocked my moto x it didn't work the first time because I had spaces which I didn't think would matter but it did. So make sure there's no spaces in between the lines.

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

This times 1000. Paste the number string elsewhere and eliminate the zeros before you paste it into the box to get the code.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Jayrod1980 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #17  
pkomarnicki's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I had the same problem, and support didn't have a clue. I just waited and kept trying, and eventually it worked. I don't know what the hold up was, especially since I bought my DE used, but their system eventually catches up.

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
25th February 2014, 07:42 AM   |  #18  
jovanphilip's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cozume

You have to be logged into the Gmail account that was used to purchase the device.

Tech Level 2 won't know what to do. You will need Tech Level 3 if this problem continues.

Wait. The X is tied to the account it was bought with? It's the first time I've heard of that and I just ordered mines through a friend's account because I don't own a credit card. Is this mentioned anywhere officially? Wow that sucks.
25th February 2014, 09:30 AM   |  #19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jovanphilip

Wait. The X is tied to the account it was bought with? It's the first time I've heard of that and I just ordered mines through a friend's account because I don't own a credit card. Is this mentioned anywhere officially? Wow that sucks.

No its not linked to the same account. I bought mine on eBay and was able to unlock it. Just make sure that the account linked to your phone - the account shown where you have the quick toggles on the status bar is the one used when try to unlock it.
I had a few problems because I didn't realize that there were spaces when I pasted it into box. Just copy it into a word document and remove the spaces. Then paste into the section and the unlock request button will show at the very bottom of the page.

Sent from my XT1055 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to boss. For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th March 2014, 02:09 PM   |  #20  
jovanphilip's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
So it arrived! I'm now a very happy Moto X (Dev Edition) owner. And exactly as you said it's only linked to the account it's currently signed in with.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X General by ThreadRank