Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,130 Members 52,802 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] what does "sp space is not enough" mean

Tip us?
 
one cheese
Old
(Last edited by one cheese; 17th July 2014 at 06:24 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Post [Q] what does "sp space is not enough" mean

when I use fastboot tool to flash system.img, it shows "sp space is not enough" when the flashing is finished. At first I think it will brick my phone, but it doesn't, my Moto X is still working.
So what does it mean? Will it bring some protential mistakes?
How can I solve the problem? Thanks very much!!!


My phone is rooted, installed TWRP 2.7.1.1

P.S. The problem comes after I WIPE the SYSTEM with TWRP
 
samwathegreat
Old
(Last edited by samwathegreat; 17th July 2014 at 06:29 PM.)
#2  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 379
Posts: 849
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by one cheese View Post
when I use fastboot tool to flash system.img, it shows "sp space is not enough" when the flashing is finished. At first I think it will brick my phone, but it doesn't, my Moto X is still working.
So what does it mean? Will it bring some protential mistakes?
How can I solve the problem?
My phone is rooted, installed TWRP 2.7.1.1

P.S. The problem comes after I WIPE the SYSTEM with TWRP
You MUST flash system.img using 'mfastboot' and not 'fastboot'.

Fastboot cannot handle system.img because it is too large. Just search this forum and you will find 'mfastboot.exe'. I know it is linked in the "Return to Stock" thread.

EDIT: Here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/moto...using-t2446515

The OP linked "mfastboot" in the top section of that post. Remember to "thank" the original poster of that thread for providing you with the file you need

Good Luck
Remember: the "SEARCH" button will often save you a great deal of time waiting for a reply.

Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Quote of the year:
Quote:
Originally Posted by doitinthedirt View Post
Well Google now doesn't work worth an iPhone. .I've spoken those last two lines ADB shell commands out loud for the past 15 minutes and I don't get root
 
ANMTMS
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: San Luis Potosí
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat View Post
You MUST flash system.img using 'mfastboot' and not 'fastboot'.

Fastboot cannot handle system.img because it is too large. Just search this forum and you will find 'mfastboot.exe'. I know it is linked in the "Return to Stock" thread.

EDIT: Here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/moto...using-t2446515

The OP linked "mfastboot" in the top section of that post. Remember to "thank" the original poster of that thread for providing you with the file you need

Good Luck
Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.
 
piskr
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 234
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANMTMS View Post
Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.
The same happened to me and the circumstances were the same as well. Experimenting with custom Roms I wiped the system. Now every sbf flash with RDS gives me exact the same message in red. Though I haven't noticed any failure or misbehavior of the actual system yet. But seeing that row in red with every flashing is kinda frightened. Though I don't believe that hardware is affected I can't see how it could possibly be. I'm more afraid that wrong partitions of the memory occurred and lack of the system partition might be issue.
 
one cheese
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANMTMS View Post
Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.
In fact it really doesn't seem to affect anything, I just feel not well watching the message in red during flashing everytime. Just like a mini heart attack as you said.
Thank you for your kind answering, it's quite useful, thank you
 
one cheese
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by piskr View Post
The same happened to me and the circumstances were the same as well. Experimenting with custom Roms I wiped the system. Now every sbf flash with RDS gives me exact the same message in red. Though I haven't noticed any failure or misbehavior of the actual system yet. But seeing that row in red with every flashing is kinda frightened. Though I don't believe that hardware is affected I can't see how it could possibly be. I'm more afraid that wrong partitions of the memory occurred and lack of the system partition might be issue.
Me too. I haven't seen that message ever before just after one time I used TWRP Recovery wipe the system, I think that maybe the reason. I just worry it may cause some other porblems in the future.

Thanks for your kind answering. May our problems could be solved some day
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more