Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,005 Members 50,117 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Flashing Sprint Moto X to Telcel SFB

Tip us?
 
xphoneuser
Old
#1  
xphoneuser's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jun 2014
Question [Q] Flashing Sprint Moto X to Telcel SFB

Hi everyone, I've been a following XDA for a while i've unlocked, rooted, flashed roms, etc., many times,
But this time i am not sure how to proceed. [I'm also a beginner... but I'm looking forward to contribute in the near future]

You see, I bought a Brand New Sprint Moto X , never been activated on any carrier, it arriving on Monday tops.
I already know how to unlock it, root it, and flash a custom rom.

but want to be able to unlock the gsm capabilities of the phone to use internationally, i know sprint offers this service but i don't qualify because i need to be 3 months in service whit them.

on the other hand i read in the General Section , in the model description:

XT1049 - Republic Wireless
XT1052 - European - Sim ?
XT1053 -T-Mobile US, Dev Ed
XT1055 - US Cellular - Sim ?
XT1056 - Sprint - Sim Unlocked
XT1058 - AT&T, Rogers, Claro, Movistar, Vivo, Oi, TIM - Sim Unlocked
XT1060 - Verizon - Sim Locked

What does it mean being "Sim Unlocked"
While i be able to use it on A GSM service (Mexico)


if not, could a posible solution be flashing the SFB for Telcel to my Sprint phone?
or will i just hard brick it?

Thank you very much for your attention.

Eddie
 
MoisesPerez
Old
#2  
MoisesPerez's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 34
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mexico
Didn't know the XT1053 was the Developer Edition, that's cool to know.

I'll be pending to this post.

Best
 
samwathegreat
Old
#3  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,374
Posts: 1,709
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xphoneuser View Post
Hi everyone, I've been a following XDA for a while i've unlocked, rooted, flashed roms, etc., many times,
But this time i am not sure how to proceed. [I'm also a beginner... but I'm looking forward to contribute in the near future]

You see, I bought a Brand New Sprint Moto X , never been activated on any carrier, it arriving on Monday tops.
I already know how to unlock it, root it, and flash a custom rom.

but want to be able to unlock the gsm capabilities of the phone to use internationally, i know sprint offers this service but i don't qualify because i need to be 3 months in service whit them.

on the other hand i read in the General Section , in the model description:

XT1049 - Republic Wireless
XT1052 - European - Sim ?
XT1053 -T-Mobile US, Dev Ed
XT1055 - US Cellular - Sim ?
XT1056 - Sprint - Sim Unlocked
XT1058 - AT&T, Rogers, Claro, Movistar, Vivo, Oi, TIM - Sim Unlocked
XT1060 - Verizon - Sim Locked

What does it mean being "Sim Unlocked"
While i be able to use it on A GSM service (Mexico)


if not, could a posible solution be flashing the SFB for Telcel to my Sprint phone?
or will i just hard brick it?

Thank you very much for your attention.

Eddie

Sorry it won't work...at least not yet. But it appears you already found the relevant thread on SIM-Unlock for Sprint Moto X.
Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Looking for a new carrier? Check out Republic Wireless!
Plans starting at $10 for unlimited talk/text and $25 with unlimited data.
Use this link to save $20. RW is my carrier and I couldn't be happier with them.


I successfully CRACKED the SIM-LOCK on the Sprint XT1056 Moto X. Read about it HERE



Donate to me via BitCoin - 1samwaLJ7EdQFGME1dkUGPFZywUEKnXcT
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xphoneuser
Old
#4  
xphoneuser's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat View Post
Sorry it won't work...at least not yet. But it appears you already found the relevant thread on SIM-Unlock for Sprint Moto X.
hi, thank you!,

what about flashing a Telcel SFB file trough rsd lite?,
 
samwathegreat
Old
#5  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,374
Posts: 1,709
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xphoneuser View Post
hi, thank you!,

what about flashing a Telcel SFB file trough rsd lite?,
Its been tried. Flashing the SBF itself will work, but the phone will still be sim-locked and unusable on GSM.
Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Looking for a new carrier? Check out Republic Wireless!
Plans starting at $10 for unlimited talk/text and $25 with unlimited data.
Use this link to save $20. RW is my carrier and I couldn't be happier with them.


I successfully CRACKED the SIM-LOCK on the Sprint XT1056 Moto X. Read about it HERE



Donate to me via BitCoin - 1samwaLJ7EdQFGME1dkUGPFZywUEKnXcT
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xphoneuser
Old
#6  
xphoneuser's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jun 2014
Thumbs up Thank you!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat View Post
Its been tried. Flashing the SBF itself will work, but the phone will still be sim-locked and unusable on GSM.
I understand now, reading a lot on the other threads and in other sites it now undrstand that sim unlock cannot be done unless i have service for 3 months or a fix comes [hopefully soon].

thank you.

just before we close this thread..

what if i flash an SFB of a CDMA carrier here, will it work? or will i have to reprogram the phone [ using this method http://forum.xda-developers.com/moto...-plus-t2732342 but using my cdma carrier PRL) ????

is this the right place to post this last question?

sorry, and thanks again.

Eddie
 
samwathegreat
Old
#7  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,374
Posts: 1,709
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xphoneuser View Post
I understand now, reading a lot on the other threads and in other sites it now undrstand that sim unlock cannot be done unless i have service for 3 months or a fix comes [hopefully soon].

thank you.

just before we close this thread..

what if i flash an SFB of a CDMA carrier here, will it work? or will i have to reprogram the phone [ using this method http://forum.xda-developers.com/moto...-plus-t2732342 but using my cdma carrier PRL) ????

is this the right place to post this last question?

sorry, and thanks again.

Eddie
Eddie,

Yes, you will need to follow the instructions in the "Flash Sprint Moto X to Page Plus" thread. You will need to change some of the steps as appropriate to YOUR carrier you are flashing to since not all steps will be the same as flashing to "Page Plus". Flashing a CDMA Rom will not work. AFAIK, the only other CDMA ROM available is the Verizon one which prevents you from being able to flash to another carrier. Does anyone know of any others?

Good Luck
Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Looking for a new carrier? Check out Republic Wireless!
Plans starting at $10 for unlimited talk/text and $25 with unlimited data.
Use this link to save $20. RW is my carrier and I couldn't be happier with them.


I successfully CRACKED the SIM-LOCK on the Sprint XT1056 Moto X. Read about it HERE



Donate to me via BitCoin - 1samwaLJ7EdQFGME1dkUGPFZywUEKnXcT
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xphoneuser
Old
#8  
xphoneuser's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat View Post
Eddie,

Yes, you will need to follow the instructions in the "Flash Sprint Moto X to Page Plus" thread. You will need to change some of the steps as appropriate to YOUR carrier you are flashing to since not all steps will be the same as flashing to "Page Plus". Flashing a CDMA Rom will not work. AFAIK, the only other CDMA ROM available is the Verizon one which prevents you from being able to flash to another carrier. Does anyone know of any others?

Good Luck
hey, thank you i read in other spanish forums that cdma acivating in iusacell carrier (mx) is confirmed posible.
if its a clean esn i think i dont even need to unlock the bootloader, i dont know.
phone is arriving on monday ill post any results and if im succesfull i will make a guide for those in mi shoes.

thanks again.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes