App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more
Post Reply

[Q] Does ATT look for tether the same as TMobile?

8th March 2014, 12:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I will be moving to ATT by the end of the month, currently using the untether mod through exposed, working great. I was wondering if this method will work after I switch to ATT..searched around, but didnt see this anywhere recently discussed

KCJunkman
9th March 2014, 04:53 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCJunkman

I will be moving to ATT by the end of the month, currently using the untether mod through exposed, working great. I was wondering if this method will work after I switch to ATT..searched around, but didnt see this anywhere recently discussed

KCJunkman

I have XT1053 DE with unlocked bootloader and rooted on AT&T GoPhone. I can confirm that built-in USB and WiFi tethering work fine but I only used them for a short while just to see that it works. I don't know if AT&T detects it and if it does - what it will do. I also don't know if postpaid AT&T any different.
9th March 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 20
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCJunkman

I will be moving to ATT by the end of the month, currently using the untether mod through exposed, working great. I was wondering if this method will work after I switch to ATT..searched around, but didnt see this anywhere recently discussed

I read on another site that there is some sort of tether cloaker for ATT if you are rooted but I can't remember where I read it.
10th March 2014, 12:44 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
To tether on TMobile you need to be rooted? I'm switching over and would like to know before I do.
10th March 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Well, I am on the unlimited plan, which started to come with a 2.5 gig hotspot. When I wasn't rooted, obviously my data rose on the hotspot when is tethered my iPad, but after rooting and using exposed etc. my hotspot data has stayed at .1 meg for that last 2 weeks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
10th March 2014, 12:09 PM   |  #6  
morehush's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Woodstock, GA
Thanks Meter: 32
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I got a slap on the wrist from AT&T after I used tethering for about a week. I called them for something and they essentially said "if you keep doing that, we'll start charging you for a tethering plan."
10th March 2014, 01:33 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ
Thanks Meter: 174
 
752 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
AT&T Mobile Share plans have a bucket of data, and it can be used on the device or tethering ... doesn't matter how you use it.
10th March 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 20
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by morehush

I got a slap on the wrist from AT&T after I used tethering for about a week. I called them for something and they essentially said "if you keep doing that, we'll start charging you for a tethering plan."

do you have a grandfathered unlimited data plan.
10th March 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #9  
morehush's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Woodstock, GA
Thanks Meter: 32
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Nope, at the time I had a 2gb data plan.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X Q&A by ThreadRank