Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,547 Members 42,769 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Does ATT look for tether the same as TMobile?

Tip us?
 
KCJunkman
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default [Q] Does ATT look for tether the same as TMobile?

I will be moving to ATT by the end of the month, currently using the untether mod through exposed, working great. I was wondering if this method will work after I switch to ATT..searched around, but didnt see this anywhere recently discussed

KCJunkman
 
JoeSchmoe007
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 120
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCJunkman View Post
I will be moving to ATT by the end of the month, currently using the untether mod through exposed, working great. I was wondering if this method will work after I switch to ATT..searched around, but didnt see this anywhere recently discussed

KCJunkman
I have XT1053 DE with unlocked bootloader and rooted on AT&T GoPhone. I can confirm that built-in USB and WiFi tethering work fine but I only used them for a short while just to see that it works. I don't know if AT&T detects it and if it does - what it will do. I also don't know if postpaid AT&T any different.
 
NightThyme
Old
#3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 128
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCJunkman View Post
I will be moving to ATT by the end of the month, currently using the untether mod through exposed, working great. I was wondering if this method will work after I switch to ATT..searched around, but didnt see this anywhere recently discussed
I read on another site that there is some sort of tether cloaker for ATT if you are rooted but I can't remember where I read it.
 
h1m
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 80
Join Date: Dec 2011
To tether on TMobile you need to be rooted? I'm switching over and would like to know before I do.
 
KCJunkman
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2011
Well, I am on the unlimited plan, which started to come with a 2.5 gig hotspot. When I wasn't rooted, obviously my data rose on the hotspot when is tethered my iPad, but after rooting and using exposed etc. my hotspot data has stayed at .1 meg for that last 2 weeks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
morehush
Old
#6  
morehush's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 164
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodstock, GA
I got a slap on the wrist from AT&T after I used tethering for about a week. I called them for something and they essentially said "if you keep doing that, we'll start charging you for a tethering plan."
 
wmdunn
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 173
Posts: 748
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
AT&T Mobile Share plans have a bucket of data, and it can be used on the device or tethering ... doesn't matter how you use it.
"Wise men still seek him ... "
 
NightThyme
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 128
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by morehush View Post
I got a slap on the wrist from AT&T after I used tethering for about a week. I called them for something and they essentially said "if you keep doing that, we'll start charging you for a tethering plan."
do you have a grandfathered unlimited data plan.
 
morehush
Old
#9  
morehush's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 164
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Woodstock, GA
Nope, at the time I had a 2gb data plan.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...