Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Aws

OP azzurrony

30th January 2014, 01:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Ok..so does 4.4.2 finally give us AWS on verizon? Need it badly here in NYC. Delay is activating this band is ridiculous
30th January 2014, 04:18 PM   |  #2  
KidJoe's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Thanks Meter: 914
 
2,182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azzurrony

Ok..so does 4.4.2 finally give us AWS on verizon? Need it badly here in NYC. Delay is activating this band is ridiculous

4.4 on my Verizon Dev X appears to give me AWS LTE... I say that because I get LTE signal when using my T-Mobile USA SIM in my X. And T-Mobile supports Band 4, not Band 13.
31st January 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Omaha
Thanks Meter: 16
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidJoe

4.4 on my Verizon Dev X appears to give me AWS LTE... I say that because I get LTE signal when using my T-Mobile USA SIM in my X. And T-Mobile supports Band 4, not Band 13.

4.4 VZ Dev Ed gives me band 4 LTE with a TMo SIM. Have yet to try it since flashing a EU 4.4.2 file (kept my 4.4 VZ radios, so I can't imagine it would change much, but Play Store recognizes my device as XT1052 now, which I find funny).
31st January 2014, 01:26 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
What app do you use to check the band?
31st January 2014, 05:33 PM   |  #5  
KidJoe's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Thanks Meter: 914
 
2,182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azzurrony

What app do you use to check the band?

I have nothing that will display the LTE Band. I would love to find one that does.

For me, its process of Elimination.. VZW X initially supported LTE Band 13, which T-mobile doesn't support. T-Mobile does support LTE Band 4, which is the only other VZW LTE Band. (VZW lists Band 13 and 4 on their page for the X). Since I get LTE with my T-Mobile SIM it must be LTE band 4.
31st January 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #6  
Product F(RED)'s Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 2,644
 
8,933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
If you get T-Mobile LTE in any device, it supports AWS LTE, period.
31st January 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #7  
titanshadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lexington, KY
Thanks Meter: 93
 
618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
I understand the process of elimination but on my SGS3 it would give me a band number (Band 13 in my case) but my Moto X gives me no band number. Is there a way to find out what band it is actually connected to?
31st January 2014, 06:03 PM   |  #8  
Product F(RED)'s Avatar
Senior Member
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 2,644
 
8,933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by titanshadow

I understand the process of elimination but on my SGS3 it would give me a band number (Band 13 in my case) but my Moto X gives me no band number. Is there a way to find out what band it is actually connected to?

As far as I know, no, not on vanilla Android. I also own a Galaxy S4 and what you're talking about is integrated into TouchWiz.
The Following User Says Thank You to Product F(RED) For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2014, 12:12 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
The Moto X used to tell you what Band it was on...this was prior to the Kitkat update. After that, I have been unable to find an app that tells me what band it is using. If anyone else has ideas, let me know. (BTW I am not rooted.)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes