Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can you keep bloatware on other ROMs?

OP TylerH94

12th July 2014, 02:05 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Contrary to the name, Motorola's bloatware is actually useful. Can you keep moto skip, the camera app and others when you switch to a custom ROM? Like, can you back them up with TB and have a reasonable chance of the restored app working or can you just reinstall them from the play store?
12th July 2014, 02:18 AM   |  #2  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,777
 
2,025 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerH94

Contrary to the name, Motorola's bloatware is actually useful. Can you keep moto skip, the camera app and others when you switch to a custom ROM? Like, can you back them up with TB and have a reasonable chance of the restored app working or can you just reinstall them from the play store?

Very doubtful, I haven't seen any reports of people doing this, but most of us are using the stock ROM because moto did such a great job of keeping it very close to AOSP.

You can certainly try. Let us know if you have any success.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th July 2014, 02:54 AM   |  #3  
Darth's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,670
 
12,407 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
The moto apps require the moto firmware.

Only stock based ROMs have moto features because of this. And no aosp ROMs have any moto features.

Sorry!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes