Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Audio [Q] Three Button Headset

OP ottothecow

16th September 2013, 11:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
How do I make a three button headset work with my Moto X?

Yesterday I got a set of free headphones from a Samsung Galaxy Mega promo booth. They had three buttons (normal button plus volume up and down) so I sent a tweet with their #makeitmega hastag and got my free swag...and promptly deleted the tweet.

Unfortunately, none of the buttons do anything. The volume up and down do nothing while I am on a call, and the other button didn't seem to do anything either. Is there any way to make this work? Its not like I am trying to use an apple headset...samsung was giving these away so presumably they work with android.
The Following User Says Thank You to ottothecow For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th September 2013, 04:28 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 69
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottothecow

How do I make a three button headset work with my Moto X?

Yesterday I got a set of free headphones from a Samsung Galaxy Mega promo booth. They had three buttons (normal button plus volume up and down) so I sent a tweet with their #makeitmega hastag and got my free swag...and promptly deleted the tweet.

Unfortunately, none of the buttons do anything. The volume up and down do nothing while I am on a call, and the other button didn't seem to do anything either. Is there any way to make this work? Its not like I am trying to use an apple headset...samsung was giving these away so presumably they work with android.

Samsung headsets are different than normal 'Apple Comaptible' headsets. The middle button and mic work on all my Apple headsets, but my Samsung specific headset, nothing works. I'm wondering if the M4D3 Sol Republic ones on the Moto site will have 3 buttons/work properly?
19th September 2013, 05:31 PM   |  #3  
terabyte128's Avatar
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 5
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by icase81

Samsung headsets are different than normal 'Apple Comaptible' headsets. The middle button and mic work on all my Apple headsets, but my Samsung specific headset, nothing works. I'm wondering if the M4D3 Sol Republic ones on the Moto site will have 3 buttons/work properly?

I bought the Sol Republic headphones (separately, but they're the same model) and the middle play/pause button works but the volume ones don't.

Sent from my Moto X
19th September 2013, 06:49 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by terabyte128

I bought the Sol Republic headphones (separately, but they're the same model) and the middle play/pause button works but the volume ones don't.

Sent from my Moto X

Wait, so they are selling 3-button headphones in colors to match the phones...and the volume buttons don't even work?

I have still been unable to get *any* of the buttons on this samsung headset to work. I have some one button headsets that I am assuming will work (though I haven't tried yet), but the volume controls would be nice, especially when you are on a conference call where some people are on really loud handsets and others are on super quiet speakerphones.
19th September 2013, 06:54 PM   |  #5  
terabyte128's Avatar
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 5
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottothecow

Wait, so they are selling 3-button headphones in colors to match the phones...and the volume buttons don't even work?

I have still been unable to get *any* of the buttons on this samsung headset to work. I have some one button headsets that I am assuming will work (though I haven't tried yet), but the volume controls would be nice, especially when you are on a conference call where some people are on really loud handsets and others are on super quiet speakerphones.

I can't speak for the earbuds that you actually get with the phone, but I'm 99% sure that the ones I have are the same, and no, the volume buttons don't work.

EDIT: unless the ones that Moto ships which the phones are customized somehow, which seems unlikely but I suppose it's possible.

Sent from my Moto X
19th September 2013, 08:37 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 69
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by terabyte128

I can't speak for the earbuds that you actually get with the phone, but I'm 99% sure that the ones I have are the same, and no, the volume buttons don't work.

EDIT: unless the ones that Moto ships which the phones are customized somehow, which seems unlikely but I suppose it's possible.

Sent from my Moto X

They do claim they are 'M4DE' for Motorola and prominently feature the volume buttons in the presser. Whether thats just marketing/pr not talking to the engineers, who knows.


http://www.motorola.com/us/m4de-for-family-page.html
20th September 2013, 04:19 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by icase81

They do claim they are 'M4DE' for Motorola and prominently feature the volume buttons in the presser. Whether thats just marketing/pr not talking to the engineers, who knows.


http://www.motorola.com/us/m4de-for-family-page.html

The ones that moto ships only have a single center button, the model with the volume buttons is designed for iphone
The Following User Says Thank You to Secretwar1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th September 2013, 04:43 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 69
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Secretwar1

The ones that moto ships only have a single center button, the model with the volume buttons is designed for iphone

Really? On motos page it distinctly shows volume control as well. If that's true, that is mighty lame of them.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
20th September 2013, 05:13 AM   |  #9  
johnny grep's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
There's something odd with the headset jack... My Native Union POP Phone won't work on it either.

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk 4
20th September 2013, 07:08 AM   |  #10  
terabyte128's Avatar
Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 5
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Secretwar1

The ones that moto ships only have a single center button, the model with the volume buttons is designed for iphone

Well at least that explains it. It's a bit disappointing though, I was looking forward to that as sort of a new feature for an android phone. I can't believe they haven't done it yet - I mean, how hard can it possibly be?
Last edited by terabyte128; 20th September 2013 at 07:11 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes