5,599,677 Members 46,210 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Buying this phone in a few hours. Need last minute help!!

Tip us?
 
Legend28469
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 75
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brampton

 
DONATE TO ME
Question [Q] Buying this phone in a few hours. Need last minute help!!

So I'm about to go and meetup with someone to buy this phone, but I just realized there are a ton of different variants. I'm just finding out that her phone is locked to Rogers so it's probably the XT1058 that she has. My question is: Is there a way to get this phone and specific model to work on Wind Mobile (or Tmobile's 3g network)? The band for Wind Mobile is AWS 1700.
Phone: Nexus One
ROM: Latest Cm7
Kernel: Latest Tiamat
Bootloader: LOCKED!!!

Tablet: Root Motorola Xoom [CAN] -- US Firmware
Rom: Tiamat Latest
[B]Google Plus[B] -- http://gplus.to/Legend28469
 
640k
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 674
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legend28469 View Post
So I'm about to go and meetup with someone to buy this phone, but I just realized there are a ton of different variants. I'm just finding out that her phone is locked to Rogers so it's probably the XT1058 that she has. My question is: Is there a way to get this phone and specific model to work on Wind Mobile (or Tmobile's 3g network)? The band for Wind Mobile is AWS 1700.
i thought that Roger's had something going on that the device is basically locked in to their network... someone else can chime in here.
 
liveMike
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 50
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legend28469 View Post
So I'm about to go and meetup with someone to buy this phone, but I just realized there are a ton of different variants. I'm just finding out that her phone is locked to Rogers so it's probably the XT1058 that she has. My question is: Is there a way to get this phone and specific model to work on Wind Mobile (or Tmobile's 3g network)? The band for Wind Mobile is AWS 1700.
personally i wouldnt mess with trying to switch carriers with the phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to liveMike For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kj2112
Old
#4  
kj2112's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1642
Posts: 4,502
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
The Rogers phone can be carrier unlocked. I have one, it's unlocked and working on telus, lte and all.

But, better do some searching, cause I thought I read somewhere that it won't work on wind. Maybe I'm wrong, but better look into it or you may be disappointed.

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk
 
bongostl
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 509
Posts: 915
Join Date: Apr 2010
It works fine on wind. Had to sim unlock it, but that was it

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk
Thankful for my help? Here's my favorite charity. Make a donation: http://ajws.org/
My Phones: N1>G2>MT4g>NS>G2X>Sensation>GS2(t989)>GN>N4>Moto X
Carrier: Net10--$45/m for Unlimited Calls/SMS + 2.5GB
 
640k
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 674
Join Date: Apr 2008
OP, based on the replies here, if you have yet to go through with the purchase, be sure to read up on the complications of unlocking the device for other carriers before making the decision that this phone is for you.
 
Steve-x
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 532
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Langley, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongostl View Post
It works fine on wind. Had to sim unlock it, but that was it

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk
A Rogers XT1058 will not work on Wind, it does not support HSPA on the 1700/2100 Mhz frequency band.

To the OP, you need an XT1053 model of the Moto X to use it with Wind Mobile.

The XT1053 is not sold in Canada, it is sold in the US as the retail/tmobile/gsm dev edition.

Unlocking a Rogers XT1058 is easy and less then 10 bucks but it still won't enable the AWS bands for HSPA. It will only work on Telus, Koodo, Bell, Virgin, Rogers and Fido.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve-x For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kj2112
Old
#8  
kj2112's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1642
Posts: 4,502
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Yup ^^^

That's about what I read. And most unlocked phones I looked at before buying my Moto X said work on all carriers.. Except wind. Not just the Moto x either... The G2 was another for sure.

Sent from my Moto X cell phone telephone.....

Tags
different variant, motox, wind mobile, xt1058
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more