Post Reply

Why don't I get LTE on ATT, in NYC?

OP seabass950

9th May 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
I just got the Moto X last week and I never see 4G LTE. I only see 4G.

I live in NYC, we should have LTE here??
9th May 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Is your sim 4g enable , is your phone tarif a 4g one

Sent from my XT1052 using Tapatalk
10th May 2014, 02:07 AM   |  #3  
M973's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NJ
Thanks Meter: 34
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Were you on AT&T before? I know NYC is notorious for poor reception on AT&T
10th May 2014, 02:18 AM   |  #4  
AndreaCristiano's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manalapan, New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 237
 
1,712 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
That's not true. I get LTE all over NYC and the five boroughs when I'm there

MOTO X
10th May 2014, 05:22 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 520
 
2,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtuewill

I just got the Moto X last week and I never see 4G LTE. I only see 4G.

I live in NYC, we should have LTE here??

What is the difference? 4g is 4g lte. Same thing. LTE is just an acronym for long term evolution.
Last edited by aviwdoowks; 10th May 2014 at 05:31 AM.
10th May 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #6  
KidJoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Thanks Meter: 853
 
2,109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviwdoowks

What is the difference? 4g is 4g lte. Same thing. LTE is just an acronym for long term evolution.

While technically 3G according to some, ATT and T-Mobile in the USA refer to their HSPA+ networks as 4G due to their theoretic max speed (T-Mobile's is 42mbps in many areas) being faster than their UMTS/HSPA and other 3G network technologies.

Where 4G LTE means 4G using LTE.

So for ATT/T-Mobile... saying 4G isn't the same as saying 4G LTE.

I'm not sure if carriers outside of the USA do the same.

Since Verizon has EVDO Rev A and B (3G), and LTE (4G), when it comes to Verizon saying 4G is the same as saying 4G LTE.

But if you want to get technical, even the LTE in use today, didn't meet the original ITU definition of 4G anyway, but that is another story.

---------- Post added at 09:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:39 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by virtuewill

I just got the Moto X last week and I never see 4G LTE. I only see 4G.

I live in NYC, we should have LTE here??

It depends.

One scenario I've seen ATT users complain of not getting LTE in areas where ATT has LTE coverage is when they purchased a Developer Edition X, and while switching to it, gave ATT the IMEI for the X. Since the IMEI doesn't match their DB, ATT often adds it as a 3G or HSPA+ device only, and it wont get LTE speeds. One way around this is to have an LTE device capable of using a nano on your account first, and then just moving the SIM to the X when you receive it. (we did that with my sister in law's HTC to X swap. We went to the ATT store and got her a Nano sim using an adapter for her HTC, then when the X arrived, we just moved the SIM and her X got LTE).

If you are trying to use a Verizon X (which is sim unlocked), it doesn't support the frequencies used by ATT for LTE, so it wont get better than HSPA+.

Of course if your X is an ATT Branded device (XT1058 with the ATT logo on the back, and all the bloat), and have a newer, LTE compatible, SIM, you should get LTE where ever ATT has their LTE service deployed, including NYC.

One thing I don't know is.. if the LTE network is "over capacity" in that area, might the phone fall back to HSPA+ instead?
Last edited by KidJoe; 10th May 2014 at 02:45 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KidJoe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 02:59 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidJoe

While technically 3G according to some, ATT and T-Mobile in the USA refer to their HSPA+ networks as 4G due to their theoretic max speed (T-Mobile's is 42mbps in many areas) being faster than their UMTS/HSPA and other 3G network technologies.

Where 4G LTE means 4G using LTE.

So for ATT/T-Mobile... saying 4G isn't the same as saying 4G LTE.

I'm not sure if carriers outside of the USA do the same.

Since Verizon has EVDO Rev A and B (3G), and LTE (4G), when it comes to Verizon saying 4G is the same as saying 4G LTE.

But if you want to get technical, even the LTE in use today, didn't meet the original ITU definition of 4G anyway, but that is another story.

---------- Post added at 09:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:39 AM ----------


It depends.

One scenario I've seen ATT users complain of not getting LTE in areas where ATT has LTE coverage is when they purchased a Developer Edition X, and while switching to it, gave ATT the IMEI for the X. Since the IMEI doesn't match their DB, ATT often adds it as a 3G or HSPA+ device only, and it wont get LTE speeds. One way around this is to have an LTE device capable of using a nano on your account first, and then just moving the SIM to the X when you receive it. (we did that with my sister in law's HTC to X swap. We went to the ATT store and got her a Nano sim using an adapter for her HTC, then when the X arrived, we just moved the SIM and her X got LTE).

If you are trying to use a Verizon X (which is sim unlocked), it doesn't support the frequencies used by ATT for LTE, so it wont get better than HSPA+.

Of course if your X is an ATT Branded device (XT1058 with the ATT logo on the back, and all the bloat), and have a newer, LTE compatible, SIM, you should get LTE where ever ATT has their LTE service deployed, including NYC.

One thing I don't know is.. if the LTE network is "over capacity" in that area, might the phone fall back to HSPA+ instead?

Thanks man. That is a good point about the IMEI. I'll check that later. It asked me to check during activation but I didn't want to.

I called ATT yesterday and they said something wrong with provisioning. They saw I was only connected to the 3g signal. They fixed the provisioning but nothing changed. Either it's the IMEI or I'll just let the store figure it out
10th May 2014, 03:48 PM   |  #8  
KidJoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Thanks Meter: 853
 
2,109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtuewill

Thanks man. That is a good point about the IMEI. I'll check that later. It asked me to check during activation but I didn't want to.

I called ATT yesterday and they said something wrong with provisioning. They saw I was only connected to the 3g signal. They fixed the provisioning but nothing changed. Either it's the IMEI or I'll just let the store figure it out

Is your device an ATT branded X? or from other carrier or dev edition? If its ATT branded, they should be able to fix it.

If its from other carrier or its the Dev Edition, they might spin their wheels. If you run into that, try having them switch you to another ATT phone that is LTE, then move the sim to your X (without telling them you are switching or updating the IMEI on your account), OR try working with their phone support, telling them you are switching devices, and giving them the IMEI for an ATT LTE compatible phone instead of the one from your X.

There was discussion in another thread, but I don't remember which, where others with GSM Dev X trying to get them working on ATT ran into this problem, got a run around, couldn't get it fixed, and were stuck on HSPA+. The using the other LTE phone trick was used successfully. In addition, someone, who apparently works for ATT, was in that thread and via PM conversations (to get account info, etc) was able to fix this for Dev X users and get them working LTE on ATT.

The Following User Says Thank You to KidJoe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X Q&A by ThreadRank