Post Reply

Why is the Google Now launcher Incompatible with my phone?!

8th July 2014, 12:31 AM   |  #1  
Weapondrift's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brunswick, GA
Thanks Meter: 17
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
my phone obviously runs kitkat so why the ef is this app not available for me in the play store?!
8th July 2014, 12:49 AM   |  #2  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,684
 
1,965 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weapondrift

my phone obviously runs kitkat so why the ef is this app not available for me in the play store?!

If I recall correctly, Moto disabled/blocked it because they claimed it interfered with the built-in Motorola Touchless Controls.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2014, 01:03 AM   |  #3  
Weapondrift's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brunswick, GA
Thanks Meter: 17
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

If I recall correctly, Moto disabled/blocked it because they claimed it interfered with the built-in Motorola Touchless Controls.

thank you
8th July 2014, 01:58 AM   |  #4  
kcipopnevets's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island
Thanks Meter: 30
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weapondrift

thank you

The first answer is correct, and also, the launcher is only OFFICIALLY compatible with Nexus and GPE devices. Here's the apk if you still want it or if you haven't gotten it yet.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kcipopnevets For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2014, 03:13 AM   |  #5  
EVOSerb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 29
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

If I recall correctly, Moto disabled/blocked it because they claimed it interfered with the built-in Motorola Touchless Controls.

I am using it and it does not affect touchless controls at all. I

Sent from my XT1056 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to EVOSerb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #6  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,684
 
1,965 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by EVOSerb

I am using it and it does not affect touchless controls at all. I

Sent from my XT1056 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I didn't say that it does interfere, just that it was the explanation moto gave when they blocked it for the X. It USED to be installed by default, IIRC.
8th July 2014, 03:27 AM   |  #7  
EVOSerb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 29
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

I didn't say that it does interfere, just that it was the explanation moto gave when they blocked it for the X. It USED to be installed by default, IIRC.

I know you didn't. I was just saying for anyone else that GNL doesn't interfere with touchless controls. In case someone else was thinking about installing it.

Sent from my XT1056 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to EVOSerb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2014, 10:54 AM   |  #8  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 2,980
 
3,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

I didn't say that it does interfere, just that it was the explanation moto gave when they blocked it for the X. It USED to be installed by default, IIRC.

Motorola didn't block it, Google did. It is only available for Nexus devices, and it has never been the default on the Motorola X, or any other device that wasn't from the Play Store.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to imnuts For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X Q&A by ThreadRank