FORUMS

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

[Q] How to disable "Swipe down from the top to exit full screen" message?

741 posts
Thanks Meter: 212
 
By Jersey846, Senior Member on 7th June 2014, 04:20 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I keep getting this notification when I have various apps open. It doesn't happen with the offending apps on every occasion but I sure as heck would like to disable this obnoxious message permanently of possible. Currently unrooted running stock 4.4.2.

Attached screenshot is the Dynamic Notifications app, not the stock active display.

Sent from my Moto X
Last edited by Jersey846; 7th June 2014 at 05:23 AM.
 
 
7th June 2014, 04:22 AM |#2  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
The screenshot

Sent from my Moto X
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1402111313510.jpg
Views:	1202
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	2784910  
7th June 2014, 04:30 AM |#3  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,833
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846

The screenshot

Sent from my Moto X

Looks like you're using Gravity Box, with "expanded desktop" enabled? If so that's probably the issue. Try turning off expanded desktop and let us know if that helps...
7th June 2014, 04:36 AM |#4  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

Looks like you're using Gravity Box, with "expanded desktop" enabled? If so that's probably the issue. Try turning off expanded desktop and let us know if that helps...

Nope no Gravity Box. Not rooted.

Sent from my Moto X
Last edited by Jersey846; 7th June 2014 at 04:57 AM.
7th June 2014, 06:59 AM |#5  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,833
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846

Nope no Gravity Box. Not rooted.

Sent from my Moto X

Ah...

Ok, here is your answer:

Open Dynamic Notification, click advanced options. Now click advanced options in the drop down menu.

UNCHECK "Use Immersive mode"

The status bar will probably show, but problem solved. Its immersive mode that causes the message to appear.

Any app that uses immersive mode will trigger the pop-up.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 12:42 AM |#6  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

Ah...

Ok, here is your answer:

Open Dynamic Notification, click advanced options. Now click advanced options in the drop down menu.

UNCHECK "Use Immersive mode"

The status bar will probably show, but problem solved. Its immersive mode that causes the message to appear.

Any app that uses immersive mode will trigger the pop-up.

Alright thanks. I did try that and it does remove the message, I was just hoping I could get the full screen experience out of it. I'm guessing this is the app's issue? Wish I could just disable hints completely. Don't need em. Thanks man

Sent from my Moto X
8th June 2014, 05:14 AM |#7  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,833
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey846

Alright thanks. I did try that and it does remove the message, I was just hoping I could get the full screen experience out of it. I'm guessing this is the app's issue? Wish I could just disable hints completely. Don't need em. Thanks man

Sent from my Moto X

I don't think its the apps issue...more like a 'bug' in android. Not sure if I would even call it a bug...there just isn't any option anywhere to turn off the immersive mode "swipe down" messages. I imagine it was intentional....cause you just know that 10,000 people would call in to tech support saying they're stuck in full screen and can't get out.

I guess this is one advantage active display has over dynamic notification....that and power saving. AD doesn't actually wake your phone...one of the co-processors in the "X8" system is able to provide the notifications while sipping battery power.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 05:38 PM |#8  
Jersey846's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

I don't think its the apps issue...more like a 'bug' in android. Not sure if I would even call it a bug...there just isn't any option anywhere to turn off the immersive mode "swipe down" messages. I imagine it was intentional....cause you just know that 10,000 people would call in to tech support saying they're stuck in full screen and can't get out.

I guess this is one advantage active display has over dynamic notification....that and power saving. AD doesn't actually wake your phone...one of the co-processors in the "X8" system is able to provide the notifications while sipping battery power.

I didn't know that about Active Display in respect to saving battery. Very cool! Might switch back. I was just used to Dynamic Notifications on my old phone.

UPDATE: Per your round-about recommendation I'm now using Active Display. Really like it! Guess I was quick on the trigger with disabling it and installing Dynamic Notifications when I first got the phone. I appreciate it.

Sent from my Nexus 7
Last edited by Jersey846; 9th June 2014 at 03:49 AM.
12th June 2015, 02:14 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up Swipe down to exit full screen on xbmc box
Having recently acquired on xbmc box from my son ( he couldn't be bothered to set it up) I was extremely frustrated by the swipe message so I googled it & no one had the answer, so I purchased a wireless keyboard mouse, Bingo Fn+ mouse hover curser over OK & it's gone, if that doesn't work , re install & try again.

From granny aged 69 !!!!!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes