Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,034 Members 46,816 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How can I go back to Stock kernel?

Tip us?
 
devilsdouble
Old
(Last edited by devilsdouble; 7th July 2014 at 12:26 AM.)
#1  
devilsdouble's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 368
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Calcutta
Default How can I go back to Stock kernel?

For some testing purposes I need to use the stock kernel. Is there any way I can flash stock kernel image without flashing the whole ROM? AFAIK the file boot.img under stock ROM is the stock kernel, so can I flash that via ADB? Currently on Faux's kernel.
 
abuttino
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 1,238
Join Date: Sep 2006
Flash the system and boot

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
XAlexander_AlexanderX
Old
#3  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 347
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble View Post
For some testing purposes I need to use the stock kernel. Is there any way I can flash stock kernel image without flashing the whole ROM? AFAIK the file boot.img under stock ROM is the stock kernel, so can I flash that via ADB? Currently of Faux's kernel.
Use fast boot to flash it :P. Fastboot flash boot boot.img.
Current Device: MOTO X
Rooted, Dev Unlocked
Recovery: TWRP
Previous Devices: T-Mobile Wing, T-Mobile MyTouch 3G, Droid Incredible 2, LG G2X, HTC Rezound, LG Optimus L9 P769, AT&T HOX+
The Following User Says Thank You to XAlexander_AlexanderX For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
abuttino
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 1,238
Join Date: Sep 2006
Just to let you know, I've flashed backups in recovery to do the same

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
devilsdouble
Old
#5  
devilsdouble's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 368
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Calcutta
Quote:
Originally Posted by abuttino View Post
Flash the system and boot

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
That would flash the whole ROM!
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX View Post
Use fast boot to flash it :P. Fastboot flash boot boot.img.
Yeah, this did the job. Went back to stock kernel successfully, however the WiFi would never turn on after flashing, no idea why! Came back to Faux and WiFi is back
 
XAlexander_AlexanderX
Old
#6  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 347
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble View Post
That would flash the whole ROM!

Yeah, this did the job. Went back to stock kernel successfully, however the WiFi would never turn on after flashing, no idea why! Came back to Faux and WiFi is back
Did you wipe cache and dalvik cache?
Current Device: MOTO X
Rooted, Dev Unlocked
Recovery: TWRP
Previous Devices: T-Mobile Wing, T-Mobile MyTouch 3G, Droid Incredible 2, LG G2X, HTC Rezound, LG Optimus L9 P769, AT&T HOX+
 
devilsdouble
Old
#7  
devilsdouble's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 368
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Calcutta
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX View Post
Did you wipe cache and dalvik cache?
Yes sir.
 
XAlexander_AlexanderX
Old
(Last edited by XAlexander_AlexanderX; 7th July 2014 at 11:49 PM.) Reason: Because..... Everybody makes mistakes..
#8  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 347
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble View Post
Yes sir.
If you're on a custom stock rom,, flash the rom zip again without wiping.
Current Device: MOTO X
Rooted, Dev Unlocked
Recovery: TWRP
Previous Devices: T-Mobile Wing, T-Mobile MyTouch 3G, Droid Incredible 2, LG G2X, HTC Rezound, LG Optimus L9 P769, AT&T HOX+
 
devilsdouble
Old
#9  
devilsdouble's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 368
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Calcutta
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX View Post
If you're on a custom stock rom,, flash the rom zip again without wiping.
I am on full stock mate. It's all right though, the testings I was thinking of doing are done with stock kernel, and now I can stay on Faux's.
 
DaRkRhiNe
Old
#10  
DaRkRhiNe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 456
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mumbai
You have to flash the system.img too along with the boot.img . Remember this for future ref

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more