Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How can I go back to Stock kernel?

OP devilsdouble

7th July 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #1  
devilsdouble's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 137
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
For some testing purposes I need to use the stock kernel. Is there any way I can flash stock kernel image without flashing the whole ROM? AFAIK the file boot.img under stock ROM is the stock kernel, so can I flash that via ADB? Currently on Faux's kernel.
Last edited by devilsdouble; 7th July 2014 at 01:26 AM.
7th July 2014, 01:24 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 267
 
1,481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Flash the system and boot

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
7th July 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #3  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble

For some testing purposes I need to use the stock kernel. Is there any way I can flash stock kernel image without flashing the whole ROM? AFAIK the file boot.img under stock ROM is the stock kernel, so can I flash that via ADB? Currently of Faux's kernel.

Use fast boot to flash it :P. Fastboot flash boot boot.img.
The Following User Says Thank You to XAlexander_AlexanderX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2014, 01:29 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 267
 
1,481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Just to let you know, I've flashed backups in recovery to do the same

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
7th July 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #5  
devilsdouble's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 137
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by abuttino

Flash the system and boot

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

That would flash the whole ROM!
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX

Use fast boot to flash it :P. Fastboot flash boot boot.img.

Yeah, this did the job. Went back to stock kernel successfully, however the WiFi would never turn on after flashing, no idea why! Came back to Faux and WiFi is back
8th July 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #6  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble

That would flash the whole ROM!

Yeah, this did the job. Went back to stock kernel successfully, however the WiFi would never turn on after flashing, no idea why! Came back to Faux and WiFi is back

Did you wipe cache and dalvik cache?
8th July 2014, 12:41 AM   |  #7  
devilsdouble's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 137
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX

Did you wipe cache and dalvik cache?

Yes sir.
8th July 2014, 12:44 AM   |  #8  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble

Yes sir.

If you're on a custom stock rom,, flash the rom zip again without wiping.
Last edited by XAlexander_AlexanderX; 8th July 2014 at 12:49 AM. Reason: Because..... Everybody makes mistakes..
8th July 2014, 03:14 AM   |  #9  
devilsdouble's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 137
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX

If you're on a custom stock rom,, flash the rom zip again without wiping.

I am on full stock mate. It's all right though, the testings I was thinking of doing are done with stock kernel, and now I can stay on Faux's.
8th July 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #10  
DaRkRhiNe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 119
 
526 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
You have to flash the system.img too along with the boot.img . Remember this for future ref

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes