FORUMS

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

How can I go back to Stock kernel?

7th July 2014, 12:20 AM |#1  
devilsdouble's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 192
 
More
For some testing purposes I need to use the stock kernel. Is there any way I can flash stock kernel image without flashing the whole ROM? AFAIK the file boot.img under stock ROM is the stock kernel, so can I flash that via ADB? Currently on Faux's kernel.
Last edited by devilsdouble; 7th July 2014 at 12:26 AM.
 
 
7th July 2014, 12:24 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 282
 
More
Flash the system and boot

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
7th July 2014, 12:25 AM |#3  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble

For some testing purposes I need to use the stock kernel. Is there any way I can flash stock kernel image without flashing the whole ROM? AFAIK the file boot.img under stock ROM is the stock kernel, so can I flash that via ADB? Currently of Faux's kernel.

Use fast boot to flash it :P. Fastboot flash boot boot.img.
The Following User Says Thank You to XAlexander_AlexanderX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2014, 12:29 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 282
 
More
Just to let you know, I've flashed backups in recovery to do the same

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
7th July 2014, 10:35 PM |#5  
devilsdouble's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 192
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abuttino

Flash the system and boot

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

That would flash the whole ROM!
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX

Use fast boot to flash it :P. Fastboot flash boot boot.img.

Yeah, this did the job. Went back to stock kernel successfully, however the WiFi would never turn on after flashing, no idea why! Came back to Faux and WiFi is back
7th July 2014, 11:02 PM |#6  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble

That would flash the whole ROM!

Yeah, this did the job. Went back to stock kernel successfully, however the WiFi would never turn on after flashing, no idea why! Came back to Faux and WiFi is back

Did you wipe cache and dalvik cache?
7th July 2014, 11:41 PM |#7  
devilsdouble's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 192
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX

Did you wipe cache and dalvik cache?

Yes sir.
7th July 2014, 11:44 PM |#8  
XAlexander_AlexanderX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilsdouble

Yes sir.

If you're on a custom stock rom,, flash the rom zip again without wiping.
Last edited by XAlexander_AlexanderX; 7th July 2014 at 11:49 PM. Reason: Because..... Everybody makes mistakes..
8th July 2014, 02:14 AM |#9  
devilsdouble's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 192
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XAlexander_AlexanderX

If you're on a custom stock rom,, flash the rom zip again without wiping.

I am on full stock mate. It's all right though, the testings I was thinking of doing are done with stock kernel, and now I can stay on Faux's.
8th July 2014, 06:02 AM |#10  
DaRkRhiNe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 123
 
More
You have to flash the system.img too along with the boot.img . Remember this for future ref
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes