FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Immersive mode web browser?

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By Bart_X, Junior Member on 26th June 2014, 12:09 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Can't find a web browser supporting immersive mode, I don't want to root or use a custom ROM.

Is it possible? I think it would be nice to hide buttons and do some browsing in real full screen mode

Thanks
 
 
27th June 2014, 01:13 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag l.a.
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart_X

Can't find a web browser supporting immersive mode, I don't want to root or use a custom ROM.

Is it possible? I think it would be nice to hide buttons and do some browsing in real full screen mode

Thanks


i have no idea what you want exactly... but i disable chrome on all my phones and only use firefox. and it is as free of clutler as you can get.

and even if not enough for you, there is the fullscreen add-on that removes even the action bar buttons from the OS
27th June 2014, 01:16 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Immerse mode means use the whole screen hiding the buttons at the bottom of the screen, one application that uses it is YouTube or even Gallery.
27th June 2014, 06:18 PM |#4  
DBBGBA's Avatar
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I'm rooted so I don't know if this works: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....immersivemode
27th June 2014, 06:41 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
There are plenty of ways to do this with root. Sadly, I don't know of any ways to do this without root.
27th June 2014, 09:15 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
I've got immersive mode couple time when using chrome but I have no clue what I did to make it happen. It randomly happen
27th June 2014, 11:37 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag l.a.
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
guys, already said... install Firefox and then the full screen mobile add on.

when you long press a page there is a menu ... it has some bugs... eg when you leave the app and come back you have to reenter full screen. but besides that it does what you want.

Sent from my XT1053 using XDA Free mobile app


edit, OK just noticed it does not remove the bottom buttons... they just become dots... not sure i like that way more or less... i think i like having access to home and back buttons at all times
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1403908571013.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	2821235   Click image for larger version

Name:	1403908591209.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	2821236  
Last edited by gcbxda; 27th June 2014 at 11:40 PM.
29th June 2014, 07:31 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Javelin has it by default

Sent from my XT1058 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kelvinmorcillo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 12:18 AM |#9  
devilsdouble's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 242
 
More
Just root man, just root, and disable those awful on screen nonsense permanently and switch to Pie. Make use of the screen estate, everywhere.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes