FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Immersive mode web browser?

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By Bart_X, Junior Member on 26th June 2014, 12:09 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Can't find a web browser supporting immersive mode, I don't want to root or use a custom ROM.

Is it possible? I think it would be nice to hide buttons and do some browsing in real full screen mode

Thanks
 
 
27th June 2014, 01:13 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag l.a.
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart_X

Can't find a web browser supporting immersive mode, I don't want to root or use a custom ROM.

Is it possible? I think it would be nice to hide buttons and do some browsing in real full screen mode

Thanks


i have no idea what you want exactly... but i disable chrome on all my phones and only use firefox. and it is as free of clutler as you can get.

and even if not enough for you, there is the fullscreen add-on that removes even the action bar buttons from the OS
27th June 2014, 01:16 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Immerse mode means use the whole screen hiding the buttons at the bottom of the screen, one application that uses it is YouTube or even Gallery.
27th June 2014, 06:18 PM |#4  
DBBGBA's Avatar
Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I'm rooted so I don't know if this works: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....immersivemode
27th June 2014, 06:41 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
There are plenty of ways to do this with root. Sadly, I don't know of any ways to do this without root.
27th June 2014, 09:15 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
I've got immersive mode couple time when using chrome but I have no clue what I did to make it happen. It randomly happen
27th June 2014, 11:37 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag l.a.
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
guys, already said... install Firefox and then the full screen mobile add on.

when you long press a page there is a menu ... it has some bugs... eg when you leave the app and come back you have to reenter full screen. but besides that it does what you want.

Sent from my XT1053 using XDA Free mobile app


edit, OK just noticed it does not remove the bottom buttons... they just become dots... not sure i like that way more or less... i think i like having access to home and back buttons at all times
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1403908571013.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	2821235   Click image for larger version

Name:	1403908591209.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	2821236  
Last edited by gcbxda; 27th June 2014 at 11:40 PM.
29th June 2014, 07:31 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Javelin has it by default

Sent from my XT1058 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kelvinmorcillo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 12:18 AM |#9  
devilsdouble's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calcutta
Thanks Meter: 266
 
More
Just root man, just root, and disable those awful on screen nonsense permanently and switch to Pie. Make use of the screen estate, everywhere.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes