Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,290 Members 46,510 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Incoming Call Prompt Missing/Inaccessible

Tip us?
 
patrdris
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Question [Q] Incoming Call Prompt Missing/Inaccessible

I have an XT1053 running Android 4.4.3 (KXA21.12-L1.21) on T-Mobile.

I noticed a strange problem recently. Whenever I am using the phone (i.e. the screen is on), and I receive a call, the phone rings/vibrates as usual but the incoming call dialog does not pop up on top of whatever I am doing. The phone icon appears in the status bar as well, but all the on-screen navigation buttons disappear and the status bar becomes disabled. This means I can't answer the call, therefore I miss any call that comes in when the screen is already on. This also means that the phone is basically unusable while it rings. Incoming calls work normally when the screen is off or on the lockscreen.

I do run with Xposed and GravityBox, but I entirely disabled Xposed and the problem persisted, so I am wondering if this is an issue that came along with the 4.4.3 update. I can't remember being able to answer a call with the screen already being on on 4.4.2, but I also don't remember NOT being able to.

Does anyone else have this issue or know how to solve it?
 
samwathegreat
Old
(Last edited by samwathegreat; 7th July 2014 at 06:07 AM.)
#2  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,635
Posts: 1,906
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrdris View Post
I have an XT1053 running Android 4.4.3 (KXA21.12-L1.21) on T-Mobile.

I noticed a strange problem recently. Whenever I am using the phone (i.e. the screen is on), and I receive a call, the phone rings/vibrates as usual but the incoming call dialog does not pop up on top of whatever I am doing. The phone icon appears in the status bar as well, but all the on-screen navigation buttons disappear and the status bar becomes disabled. This means I can't answer the call, therefore I miss any call that comes in when the screen is already on. This also means that the phone is basically unusable while it rings. Incoming calls work normally when the screen is off or on the lockscreen.

I do run with Xposed and GravityBox, but I entirely disabled Xposed and the problem persisted, so I am wondering if this is an issue that came along with the 4.4.3 update. I can't remember being able to answer a call with the screen already being on on 4.4.2, but I also don't remember NOT being able to.

Does anyone else have this issue or know how to solve it?
Follow the instructions in the "Return to Stock" thread to flash the entire 4.4.3 TMO SBF file. Something appears to have gotten corrupted - it has nothing to do with 4.4.3 for sure, and it definitely isn't normal.

After flashing the entire SBF (all the links you need are in the Return to Stock thread), you will need to re-flash TWRP to gain root access again, and re-install all your apps.

Good Luck

EDIT: Before you SBF back to stock 4.4.3, I have a suggestion:

Did you reboot after disabling Xposed? If you are using GravityBox, there is an option under "phone tweaks" called "non-intrusive incoming call" - this keeps incoming calls in the background when you are using the phone. Is this box checked??

If it is, and you did not reboot after disabling Xposed, this option could still be enabled...
Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Looking for a new carrier? Check out Republic Wireless!
Plans starting at $10 for unlimited talk/text and $25 with unlimited data.
Use this link to save $20. RW is my carrier and I couldn't be happier with them.


I successfully CRACKED the SIM-LOCK on the Sprint XT1056 Moto X. Read about it HERE



Donate to me via BitCoin - 1samwaLJ7EdQFGME1dkUGPFZywUEKnXcT
 
patrdris
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat View Post
Follow the instructions in the "Return to Stock" thread to flash the entire 4.4.3 TMO SBF file. Something appears to have gotten corrupted - it has nothing to do with 4.4.3 for sure, and it definitely isn't normal.

After flashing the entire SBF (all the links you need are in the Return to Stock thread), you will need to re-flash TWRP to gain root access again, and re-install all your apps.

Good Luck

EDIT: Before you SBF back to stock 4.4.3, I have a suggestion:

Did you reboot after disabling Xposed? If you are using GravityBox, there is an option under "phone tweaks" called "non-intrusive incoming call" - this keeps incoming calls in the background when you are using the phone. Is this box checked??

If it is, and you did not reboot after disabling Xposed, this option could still be enabled...
No, this box is not checked, and I did reboot after disabling Xposed.

Is flashing the entire SBF necessary, do you think it'd be possible to just do a factory reset?
 
Groid
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 531
Join Date: May 2010
Both a factory reset and flashing the SBF will result in wiping data and your installed apps. The SBF procedure would probably be the more thorough method.
 
kappadappa
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York
I had the exact same problem on my Droid Maxx using xposed module and gravitybox. The only thing that fixed it for me was a full factory reset unfortunately.
 
samwathegreat
Old
#6  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,635
Posts: 1,906
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrdris View Post
No, this box is not checked, and I did reboot after disabling Xposed.

Is flashing the entire SBF necessary, do you think it'd be possible to just do a factory reset?
I usually recommend trying factory reset first, but SBFing only takes a few minutes, and as @Groid says, it is much more 'thorough'.

SBFing back to stock can actually repair a corrupt filesystem. A factory reset can not - it simply erases your data without touching or replacing the contents of the other partitions.

Let us know which method works for you.
Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Looking for a new carrier? Check out Republic Wireless!
Plans starting at $10 for unlimited talk/text and $25 with unlimited data.
Use this link to save $20. RW is my carrier and I couldn't be happier with them.


I successfully CRACKED the SIM-LOCK on the Sprint XT1056 Moto X. Read about it HERE



Donate to me via BitCoin - 1samwaLJ7EdQFGME1dkUGPFZywUEKnXcT
 
patrdris
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: May 2014
I did only a factory reset and the issue was resolved.
 
Cheese92
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Same problem with N5

I have the exactly same problem. I've got a Nexus 5 with 4.4.4 stock with root, custom kernel and xposed framework. I didn't find a so closed thread in N5 forums so that's why i'm posting here. I did find actually a N5 thread similar to this but it was more about a black screen while call incoming..
I'll give a try with some options before flashing a factory image and i'll update here.

However I think it's an android bug.. maybe a file system or something.. because other phones seems to have similar issues.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes