5,605,373 Members 41,710 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Kitkat T-Mobile update dialer bug

Tip us?
 
aerohp
Old
#1  
aerohp's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 195
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Kitkat T-Mobile update dialer bug

Hey guys, I've been experiencing a glitch with the 4.4 update when pulling up the keyboard. I thought it might be a leftovers from the previous version causing problems but I've done a factory reset and still there. I've got the problem on my developers edition as well my T-Mobile 16gb.

Here's the situation. From home screen, I tap on the phone icon and obviously get this.

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1387665780140.jpg
Views:	789
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	2467482

Then, if I tap the keypad icon I get this white bar at the bottom..

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1387665787191.jpg
Views:	838
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	2467484

I have to hit the back key and tap the keypad again to get here..

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1387665822442.jpg
Views:	822
Size:	47.6 KB
ID:	2467485

From this point the keypad key will work normally but I'll have to repeat this process if I swipe close the dialer in the recent apps list.

This happens on both my regular T-Mobile and developers edition. I've done multiple factory resets and the glitch is always there.

Please chime in and let me know if I'm doing something that's causing it or if there's a solution I can try. Thanks!


Sent from my XT1053 using xda premium
 
scottjb
Old
#2  
scottjb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 139
Posts: 816
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC USA
Same here.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
aerohp
Old
#3  
aerohp's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 195
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerohp View Post
Hey guys, I've been experiencing a glitch with the 4.4 update when pulling up the keyboard. I thought it might be a leftovers from the previous version causing problems but I've done a factory reset and still there. I've got the problem on my developers edition as well my T-Mobile 16gb.

Here's the situation. From home screen, I tap on the phone icon and obviously get this.

Attachment 2467482

Then, if I tap the keypad icon I get this white bar at the bottom..

Attachment 2467484

I have to hit the back key and tap the keypad again to get here..

Attachment 2467485

From this point the keypad key will work normally but I'll have to repeat this process if I swipe close the dialer in the recent apps list.

This happens on both my regular T-Mobile and developers edition. I've done multiple factory resets and the glitch is always there.

Please chime in and let me know if I'm doing something that's causing it or if there's a solution I can try. Thanks!


Sent from my XT1053 using xda premium
The weird thing is I tried to recreate the problem on my dad's phone (Dev. Edition) and his phone goes straight to the dialer with keypad open (I.e. the third screen shot). He's using next launcher so I don't know if that's the difference

Sent from my XT1053 using xda premium
 
UltimatePG
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jun 2007
My GSM Dev edition goes straight to the dialer when selected.

Sent from my XT1053 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
aerohp
Old
(Last edited by aerohp; 23rd December 2013 at 04:09 AM.)
#5  
aerohp's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 195
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimatePG View Post
My GSM Dev edition goes straight to the dialer when selected.

Sent from my XT1053 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Interesting... My gsm Dev doesn't but my dad's does. Can't figure out where the glitch is happening

Sent from my XT1053 using xda premium
 
aerohp
Old
#6  
aerohp's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 195
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimatePG View Post
My GSM Dev edition goes straight to the dialer when selected.

Sent from my XT1053 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Sent from my XT1053 using xda premium
 
monda420
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerohp View Post
The weird thing is I tried to recreate the problem on my dad's phone (Dev. Edition) and his phone goes straight to the dialer with keypad open (I.e. the third screen shot). He's using next launcher so I don't know if that's the difference

Sent from my XT1053 using xda premium
if you are using next launcher dialer shortcut the glitch is not there but if you are using stock dialer glitch is there,
 
c19932
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 1,005
Join Date: Jun 2010
I think its a kitkat issue. I had the same problem on my nexus 5
 
Gov.Robbed
Old
#9  
Gov.Robbed's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 40
Join Date: Nov 2012
I was i n the soak test for the Sprint upgrade and had that issue. I can't remember when but I switched over to ART and booted into stock recovery and wiped the cache. Then noticed when I opened the dialer that that issue went away, has never returned.

Sent from my XT1056 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android App Review: Auto Config Free – XDA Developer TV

In this weeks episode of XDA Xposed Tuesday, we talked about customization of … more

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more