FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Microphone issues?

329 posts
Thanks Meter: 43
 
By tospace2006, Senior Member on 25th August 2014, 03:11 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey there, my moto x stopped recognizing my voice for touchless control and no one can hear me during calls.
When I try to use the touchless controls I see that it recognizes some noise but very quiet. If I yell at it it sometimes works.
What's weird is that phone calls no one can hear but but in skype calls they can. I know that moto x has 3 mics so maybe 1 is broken?
When I record a video with the camera and play it back the audio works fine too.
It's currently running 4.4.2 stock rogers bootloader unlocked
Anyone having similar issues or know a fix?
 
 
25th August 2014, 03:17 AM |#2  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,838
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tospace2006

Hey there, my moto x stopped recognizing my voice for touchless control and no one can hear me during calls.
When I try to use the touchless controls I see that it recognizes some noise but very quiet. If I yell at it it sometimes works.
What's weird is that phone calls no one can hear but but in skype calls they can. I know that moto x has 3 mics so maybe 1 is broken?
When I record a video with the camera and play it back the audio works fine too.
It's currently running 4.4.2 stock rogers bootloader unlocked
Anyone having similar issues or know a fix?

My first guess is corruption.

Try flashing the entire stock 4.4.2 rogers SBF. You can re-root afterwards since you are unlocked. See if it fixes your issue...

Remember: Flashing the full SBF can actually repair a corrupted or damaged filesystem. Give a shot.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 05:08 AM |#3  
tospace2006's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

My first guess is corruption.

Try flashing the entire stock 4.4.2 rogers SBF. You can re-root afterwards since you are unlocked. See if it fixes your issue...

Remember: Flashing the full SBF can actually repair a corrupted or damaged filesystem. Give a shot.

I bought the phone second hand so not so familiar on how to do this. I did some reading. Did you mean flash using the RSD lite program?
I can't get my computer to recognize the device in bootloader mode for the program right now.
25th August 2014, 05:15 AM |#4  
tospace2006's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Also does original android roms like CM11 support the features on the moto x like touchless controls, double shake for camera and such?
I want to try flashing one of those on too
25th August 2014, 05:23 AM |#5  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,838
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tospace2006

I bought the phone second hand so not so familiar on how to do this. I did some reading. Did you mean flash using the RSD lite program?
I can't get my computer to recognize the device in bootloader mode for the program right now.

Yes, you can use RSD Lite. You need to download and install the Moto drivers for it to be recognized in bootloader mode: https://motorola-global-portal.custh...p/30,6720,8696

Quote:
Originally Posted by tospace2006

Also does original android roms like CM11 support the features on the moto x like touchless controls, double shake for camera and such?
I want to try flashing one of those on too

No. Flashing CM11 will cause you to lose all these features. Active display is lost as well.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 05:28 AM |#6  
tospace2006's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

Yes, you can use RSD Lite. You need to download and install the Moto drivers for it to be recognized in bootloader mode: https://motorola-global-portal.custh...p/30,6720,8696



No. Flashing CM11 will cause you to lose all these features. Active display is lost as well.

What rom would you recommend for rogers phone if I want to keep root and keep all features?
Or is stock pretty good...
25th August 2014, 05:31 AM |#7  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,838
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tospace2006

What rom would you recommend for rogers phone if I want to keep root and keep all features?
Or is stock pretty good...

I recommend Stock. Research "Xposed" and "GravityBox" if you want to custom mod it.

Lets get you fixed and confirm the microphone issue is solved before you start thinking about customization....
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 05:36 AM |#8  
tospace2006's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

I recommend Stock. Research "Xposed" and "GravityBox" if you want to custom mod it.

Lets get you fixed and confirm the microphone issue is solved before you start thinking about customization....

Alright this is my case.

Windows 8, adb drivers installed, motorola device manager installed for drivers.
RSD version 6.1.6, phone in bootloader mode but RSD won't recognize the phone still.
I saw that there was a manual flash method? But I can't seem to find moto fastboot file anymore anywhere.
25th August 2014, 05:42 AM |#9  
tospace2006's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
This is the bootloader screen if it helps
Moto x boot
25th August 2014, 06:00 AM |#10  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,838
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tospace2006

This is the bootloader screen if it helps

That is the correct screen for using RSD Lite OR fastboot.

Sent you a PM with a link to adb/fastboot/mfastboot

Follow the instructions in the return to 100% stock thread in general sub-forum.

Type "fastboot devices" before you start to make sure your PC detects your device. Also use a USB 2.0 port, NOT a usb 3.0 port.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 06:20 AM |#11  
tospace2006's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

That is the correct screen for using RSD Lite OR fastboot.

Sent you a PM with a link to adb/fastboot/mfastboot

Follow the instructions in the return to 100% stock thread in general sub-forum.

Type "fastboot devices" before you start to make sure your PC detects your device. Also use a USB 2.0 port, NOT a usb 3.0 port.

fastboot oem fb_mode_set
fastboot flash partition gpt.bin
fastboot flash motoboot motoboot.img
fastboot flash logo logo.bin
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
mfastboot flash system system.img
fastboot flash modem NON-HLOS.bin
fastboot erase modemst1
fastboot erase modemst2
fastboot flash fsg fsg.mbn
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase userdata
fastboot erase customize
fastboot erase clogo
fastboot oem config carrier vzw
fastboot oem fb_mode_clear

This is what I'm about to use to flash the original firmware.

For this line: fastboot oem config carrier vzw

what do I replace the vzw for rogers?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes