FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Moto X - Gsm (T-mobile / Developer edition)

29 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By metalron, Junior Member on 30th November 2013, 08:55 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Guys, would appreciate if someone could help me out here.

Just wanted to confirm the Tmobile and the Developer edition Moto X are basically both compatible with 3g networks around the globe right? Specially in the UAE? The US Nexus 5 apart from the 4g works fine here.

Also, they two (tmobile/developer) are technically the same phones right? The costs now being the same I'm wondering which one to get.
 
 
2nd December 2013, 05:57 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 - all versions
CDMA 800 / 1900 - for Verizon, Sprint
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - for AT&T, Verizon
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - for T-Mobile
CDMA2000 1xEV-DO - for Verizon
HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100 - for Sprint
4G Network LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - for AT&T
LTE 700 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - for T-Mobile
LTE 700 MHz Class 13 - for Verizon
LTE 1900 - for Sprint

Refer to your carrier for compatibility.
2nd December 2013, 06:28 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalron

Guys, would appreciate if someone could help me out here.

Just wanted to confirm the Tmobile and the Developer edition Moto X are basically both compatible with 3g networks around the globe right? Specially in the UAE? The US Nexus 5 apart from the 4g works fine here.

Also, they two (tmobile/developer) are technically the same phones right? The costs now being the same I'm wondering which one to get.

Here is the view from wikipedia

Model FCC id Carriers CDMA bands GSM bands UMTS bands LTE bands Notes
XT1049 IHDT56PB2 Republic Wireless 800/1900 Unknown Unknown 25 The GSM/UMTS network functions have been disabled by firmware and are SIM locked
XT1053 IHDT56PA2 T-Mobile US, Developer Edition (GSM) N/A Quad 850/900/1700/1900/2100 2/4/17 Developer Edition is not SIM locked and is compatible with AT&T Mobility and T-Mobile US networks[26]
XT1055 IHDT56PB3 U.S. Cellular 800/1900 Quad 850/900/1900/2100 4/5/12
XT1056 IHDT56PB2 Sprint Corporation 800/1900 Quad 850/1900/2100[27] 25 The GSM/UMTS network functions have been disabled by firmware and are SIM locked[27]
XT1058 IHDT56PA1 AT&T Mobility, Rogers, Vivo, Claro (Puerto Rico), Movistar and Claro (Chile) N/A Quad 850/900/1900/2100 2/4/5/7/17
XT1060 IHDT56PB1 Verizon Wireless 850/1900 Quad 850/900/1900/2100 4/13 Developer Edition is also available,[28] though one source[29] claims it only supports LTE band 13 (not 4)

Looks the XT1058 model with the most of the LTE bands but it depends on the firmware.
11th December 2013, 07:41 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Be aware that the GSM developer edition is missing band 700 for ATT LTE service. In my area, band 700 is used and I am not receiving LTE. At first I thought there was a problem with the phone but as i traveled yesterday to Indianapolis as soon as I hit Kentucky LTE showed on the gsm developer edition. Am on the fence as to whether I will return it. Did not realize this until I spoke with the local corporate location this morning.
Last edited by raydi07; 11th December 2013 at 07:45 PM. Reason: changed band value
11th December 2013, 08:48 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydi07

Be aware that the GSM developer edition is missing band 700 for ATT LTE service. In my area, band 700 is used and I am not receiving LTE. At first I thought there was a problem with the phone but as i traveled yesterday to Indianapolis as soon as I hit Kentucky LTE showed on the gsm developer edition. Am on the fence as to whether I will return it. Did not realize this until I spoke with the local corporate location this morning.

The T-Mobile/Dev Edition are missing Band 5, which is 850mhz. Band 17 is 700mhz, which all the GSM versions support.
11th December 2013, 09:26 PM |#6  
KidJoe's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
More
The T-Mobile and GSM Dev edition definitely use the same ROM and radio/modems. This is verified by requesting/downloading the firmware from Moto's web site, and comparing it to the retail/consumer rom hosted on http://sbf.droid-developers.org/ghost/list.php and comparing the files included in each.

This thread -> http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2546466 also has a discussion of the bands/frequencies the phones support.

---------- Post added at 04:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:21 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by raydi07

Be aware that the GSM developer edition is missing band 700 for ATT LTE service. In my area, band 700 is used and I am not receiving LTE. At first I thought there was a problem with the phone but as i traveled yesterday to Indianapolis as soon as I hit Kentucky LTE showed on the gsm developer edition. Am on the fence as to whether I will return it. Did not realize this until I spoke with the local corporate location this morning.

Really? When it came to LTE bands I thought the T-mo/Dev X was only missing bands 5 & 7 when compared to the ATT variant, and those bands aren't supposed to be used in the USA. (at least that is what John Renaldi of Moto posted on G+ not too long ago.)
11th December 2013, 10:53 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidJoe

Really? When it came to LTE bands I thought the T-mo/Dev X was only missing bands 5 & 7 when compared to the ATT variant, and those bands aren't supposed to be used in the USA. (at least that is what John Renaldi of Moto posted on G+ not too long ago.)

That is correct, I missed that one in my post above. Band 7 is 2600mhz and is not used in the US.
2nd February 2014, 08:40 PM |#8  
younger06's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Are the available bands hardware or software limited?

Tapatalked from my G PAD 8.3
3rd February 2014, 01:02 AM |#9  
Senior Member
louisiana
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
What bands are missing from the gsm unlocked non Dev edition?
3rd February 2014, 07:09 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hardware limited.
4th February 2014, 04:07 PM |#11  
KidJoe's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Thanks Meter: 1,522
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sicmadek

What bands are missing from the gsm unlocked non Dev edition?

I believe the GSM Unlocked device that you can pick from Moto Maker when you don't select carrier, is the same as the T-Mobile USA device, in which case it would be missing bands 5 & 7 when compared to the ATT variant

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes