Post Reply

[Q] Moto X GSM Unlocked T-Mobile works outside the US?

OP aricris

15th January 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Hi!

I'm planning to buy a customized Moto X unlocked GSM edition but I'm wondering if it'll work outside the US.
At Moto they don't know as "they haven't tried it". And is confusing as it says on their website that is GSM unlocked but comes with a t-mobile sim card, so it's unlocked to work with t-mobile and at&t only or also open to other compatible GSM networks around the world? Has anyone had the chance to try it?
15th January 2014, 06:28 AM   |  #2  
joemon871's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by aricris

Hi!

I'm planning to buy a customized Moto X unlocked GSM edition but I'm wondering if it'll work outside the US.
At Moto they don't know as "they haven't tried it". And is confusing as it says on their website that is GSM unlocked but comes with a t-mobile sim card, so it's unlocked to work with t-mobile and at&t only or also open to other compatible GSM networks around the world? Has anyone had the chance to try it?

Most phones shipped these days support most 2g/3g bands to support international roaming features. Say you're going to Europe, i wouldn't count on you getting anywhere near LTE speeds or even 4g speeds because there networks aren't that developed yet, put in simple terms, but there's a good chance that you can still get a supported 2g/3g connection, does that make sense? I would take it with me if i were you, no harm in that right?
The Following User Says Thank You to joemon871 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Antwerp
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
moto x in Belgium
I got my T-mobile Moto X shipped to Belgium, it works on the local GSM networks.
The Following User Says Thank You to jan legein For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2014, 03:20 PM   |  #4  
TheSaw's Avatar
Senior Member
Cluj
Thanks Meter: 414
 
863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemon871

Most phones shipped these days support most 2g/3g bands to support international roaming features. Say you're going to Europe, i wouldn't count on you getting anywhere near LTE speeds or even 4g speeds because there networks aren't that developed yet, put in simple terms, but there's a good chance that you can still get a supported 2g/3g connection, does that make sense? I would take it with me if i were you, no harm in that right?

We have 4G in our little East-European country, Romania (probably you never heard of it)
The Following User Says Thank You to TheSaw For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2014, 05:11 PM   |  #5  
joemon871's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSaw

We have 4G in our little East-European country, Romania (probably you never heard of it)

I heard of it What you can do is find out what network bands your cellphone company back in Romania uses and see if your phone supports it. There's a good chance your phone will support one of their bands though
15th January 2014, 05:13 PM   |  #6  
TheSaw's Avatar
Senior Member
Cluj
Thanks Meter: 414
 
863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemon871

I heard of it What you can do is find out what network bands your cellphone company back in Romania uses and see if your phone supports it. There's a good chance your phone will support one of their bands though

They support it for 2G/3G, but not above. The bands are different for LTE.
15th January 2014, 05:59 PM   |  #7  
joemon871's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSaw

They support it for 2G/3G, but not above. The bands are different for LTE.

Yup exactly as i predicted first post but hey good news is at least you'll be able to use the phone. Use WiFi for your internet needs
15th January 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #8  
TheSaw's Avatar
Senior Member
Cluj
Thanks Meter: 414
 
863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemon871

Yup exactly as i predicted first post but hey good news is at least you'll be able to use the phone. Use WiFi for your internet needs

3G is fast enough. As the 4G network is not fully developed (no full country coverage), and the prices are still high, I don't think it's really worth stressing too much about it. I ordered myself a MotoX from the states with a non-compatible LTE hardware just now. I know that I won't use that technology in a comfortable way anyways for the next 2 years. For my personal needs, 3G+ is more than enough.
16th January 2014, 07:06 AM   |  #9  
joemon871's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSaw

3G is fast enough. As the 4G network is not fully developed (no full country coverage), and the prices are still high, I don't think it's really worth stressing too much about it. I ordered myself a MotoX from the states with a non-compatible LTE hardware just now. I know that I won't use that technology in a comfortable way anyways for the next 2 years. For my personal needs, 3G+ is more than enough.

Ya don't worry about it too much because it sounds like you're a casual user, mainly for emails and such I'm guessing? But anyways Lte speeds are really going to take off in the next couple years so you'll be in for a treat when you get back Happy Journey!

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to joemon871 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2014, 07:38 AM   |  #10  
TheSaw's Avatar
Senior Member
Cluj
Thanks Meter: 414
 
863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemon871

Ya don't worry about it too much because it sounds like you're a casual user, mainly for emails and such I'm guessing? But anyways Lte speeds are really going to take off in the next couple years so you'll be in for a treat when you get back Happy Journey!

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Well I could say casual user, I guess, but I use mostly wifi wherever I spend more time. Home, work, friends place, all have good wifi, so when I'm out, I switch to 3G, and in that time I don't really need super fast speeds.

Thanks.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto X Q&A by ThreadRank