Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,807 Members 52,443 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Anyone use Moto-X on a motorbike

Tip us?
 
dr_strangetrick
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 264
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Birmingham
Default Anyone use Moto-X on a motorbike

I upgraded to the Moto-X for the touchless controls as I commute to work and back on my motorbike and I was really unsatisfied with alternatives floating around to simulate touchless control.

Now when I am in my car and using my bluetooth headset the voice control works just fine, I can navigate, call and send quick messages no problem

But on my bike I use a Viper RSv-131 helmet which has bluetooth built in and I listen to local radio or music whilst I'm riding but my Moto-X does not respond when I cay Ok Google now or when I press the button on my helmet either I can answer incoming calls fine but thats it.

Does anyone else use a Moto-X on a motorcycle/motorbike or even a regular bicycle with bluetooth and do you have similar problems?
 
Solutions Etcetera
Old
#2  
Solutions Etcetera's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 797
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sierra Nevada (west slope)
Have you tried Google>Settings>Voice>Bluetooth headset
 
dr_strangetrick
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 264
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Birmingham
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solutions Etcetera View Post
Have you tried Google>Settings>Voice>Bluetooth headset
Thanks Etcetra, I have bluetooth headset option turned on and it works using my BT headset in the car.

My gut reaction is my car headset is a regular over the ear BT headset but my helmet is like BT stereo headphones with a microphone and so I think it's a different kind of BT but I'm not an expert.

Any advice would be welcome
 
Solutions Etcetera
Old
#4  
Solutions Etcetera's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 797
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sierra Nevada (west slope)
Check to see which profiles are connected on each device by going into Bluetooth settings and tapping the little settings icon next to the connection.
 
dr_strangetrick
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 264
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Birmingham
My helmet comes up as BLINK II and is ticked for phone and media audio
 
Solutions Etcetera
Old
#6  
Solutions Etcetera's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 797
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sierra Nevada (west slope)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_strangetrick View Post
My helmet comes up as BLINK II and is ticked for phone and media audio
That's unfortunate as it suggests an incompatibility issue between the two. It should certainly work using the phone profile.

Check with the helmet maker... maybe they have a firmware update available.
 
dr_strangetrick
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 264
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Birmingham
Turned off media audio and just tried phone audio but still the same: (

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes