Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,276 Members 44,982 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How do I lock the screen 'on-demand' through the power control widgets?

Tip us?
 
1dtms
Old
#1  
1dtms's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 128
Join Date: May 2011
Default How do I lock the screen 'on-demand' through the power control widgets?

I have the XT1053 phone which is rooted and has an unlock boot loader and gravitybox installed.. How do I screen lock my phone? I have it set to a pattern n to lock the screen after 30mins but is there an option or something I can add via gravity box or similar that will add a button to lock now when I expand my status bar buttons or something of that nature?

Pretty much I don't want to instantly lock right away but sometimes I want to

Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
 
Groid
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 525
Join Date: May 2010
When you touch the power button, doesn't the screen turn off and display the lockscreen when you touch power again?
 
1dtms
Old
#3  
1dtms's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 128
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groid View Post
When you touch the power button, doesn't the screen turn off and display the lockscreen when you touch power again?
yea it does that which is great. But for example I'll give you a scenario
My current set up as of now: I have the pattern lock screen, which after i unlock will relock after 30min (current setup in default settings option).

Now lets say your at a place or around someone that you would want to lock the screen instantly instead of waiting 30min.
I would like a button where I can do that quickly instead of going to settings and changing the wait time before it locks again

Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
 
Groid
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 525
Join Date: May 2010
Are you talking about the Settings > Display > Sleep > choose sleep time? For you that means the screen will sleep (display off) after 30 minutes. If you set the 'Automatically lock' to 'Immediately' that should also require your unlock pattern to be used when you touch the power button to turn on the screen. So touching the power button will turn off the display and lock the screen immediately which seems to be what you want. Touching the power button again will open to the locked lockscreen.
 
hovax615@hotmail.com
Old
#5  
hovax615@hotmail.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 309
Posts: 1,480
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Corona, CA - Murfreesboro, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1dtms View Post
yea it does that which is great. But for example I'll give you a scenario
My current set up as of now: I have the pattern lock screen, which after i unlock will relock after 30min (current setup in default settings option).

Now lets say your at a place or around someone that you would want to lock the screen instantly instead of waiting 30min.
I would like a button where I can do that quickly instead of going to settings and changing the wait time before it locks again
A post above suggested to instantly lock. Which in your case there's times when you want to quickly lock it and there's times that you might be doing something and that 30 mins before locking helps out. There is the moto skip that you can unlock with the NFC tag but I think its the same boat as setting the default lock. I haven't tried it myself but it seems that it unlocks the phone without having to input the pin then you just sleep the phone. I'll try it out and get back to you on the skip.

MOTO X
 
DaRkRhiNe
Old
#6  
DaRkRhiNe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 475
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1dtms View Post
yea it does that which is great. But for example I'll give you a scenario
My current set up as of now: I have the pattern lock screen, which after i unlock will relock after 30min (current setup in default settings option).

Now lets say your at a place or around someone that you would want to lock the screen instantly instead of waiting 30min.
I would like a button where I can do that quickly instead of going to settings and changing the wait time before it locks again
Try lock screen widget from the play store .
 
The Tallest
Old
#7  
The Tallest's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 156
Join Date: Jul 2013
Doesn't Gravity Box have a setting to double tap the Status Bar for lock? I thought I saw it in there. Also, are you sure you have your phone set to go to sleep for 30 MINUTES and and not SECONDS? I think default is 30 SECONDS.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes