Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,495 Members 37,748 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Navigation

Tip us?
 
slyd0997
Old
#1  
slyd0997's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 400
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Default Navigation

Sometimes, when I am navigating, maps does not know where I am. For example when I come to a stop at a "T" intersection, maps shows me about 100 feet away from the intersection and then, when I make the turn, it may show me as going straight. *It eventually catches up to me. This does not happen all the time but enough to be annoying and dangerous. *I've tested it with my son's and husbands motoX side by side with and they don't have the issue. *Does anyone know if this is a software or a hardware issue? *Do other people have this problem too?

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk
"When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade without further introduction." - Mark Twain
 
SymbioticGenius
Old
#2  
SymbioticGenius's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 445
Join Date: Aug 2012
I use Waze no issues

MotoX Developer Edition, Bootloader Unlocked, Rooted, Stock with tweaks!
 
mawells787
Old
#3  
mawells787's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 132
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by slyd0997 View Post
Sometimes, when I am navigating, maps does not know where I am. For example when I come to a stop at a "T" intersection, maps shows me about 100 feet away from the intersection and then, when I make the turn, it may show me as going straight. *It eventually catches up to me. This does not happen all the time but enough to be annoying and dangerous. *I've tested it with my son's and husbands motoX side by side with and they don't have the issue. *Does anyone know if this is a software or a hardware issue? *Do other people have this problem too?

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk
I'm not trying to question your smarts but do you switch to high accuracy mode? From battery saver or device only? You could also go into WiFi settings and let WiFi scan while off, it will get a better lock on your location.

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
 
slyd0997
Old
#4  
slyd0997's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 400
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
I am in high accuracy mode and scan for Wi-Fi while off is set. Not insulted at all.

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk
"When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade without further introduction." - Mark Twain
 
x2h
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 437
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by slyd0997 View Post
I am in high accuracy mode and scan for Wi-Fi while off is set. Not insulted at all.

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk
Are you on T-Mobile network?

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk 2
 
slyd0997
Old
#6  
slyd0997's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 400
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Yes T-Mobile

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk
"When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade without further introduction." - Mark Twain
 
monorailmedic
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 52
Join Date: Apr 2011
I'd think the relates to the other thread we're in at http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2593098

I'm really going that we can get some action in this from Motorola as this is really not acceptable as location based use is really becoming a staple of smartphone use beyond just navigation. Tweet this thread to Motorola support.

Sent from my XT1053 using xda app-developers app
 
slyd0997
Old
(Last edited by slyd0997; 30th January 2014 at 07:59 PM.)
#8  
slyd0997's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 400
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Deleted

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk
"When a man loves cats, I am his friend and comrade without further introduction." - Mark Twain

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more