Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Indian here. Planning on getting a 32GB Moto X. Need to know if it'll work in India.

OP zeabagsfull

21st January 2014, 02:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Hi. I'm based in Bangalore, India. I plan to get a 32GB Moto X with a Bamboo back from a friend in the States. I have a few questions about it, if anybody would be kind to help that'd be awesome.

1) Is there an unlocked version of the device and will it work in India?
2) How much would the device cost me including tax? I know tax laws are different according to state but I'd like to know the price range it would fall in.
3) More general questions about the phone: Is it of a durable build quality? How's the camera? I've read a ton of reviews but I want to know some real life comments. Also, I don't want to accidentally crack my screen from the smallest drop and get into the trouble of having to send the phone overseas back to the USA for customer support.
21st January 2014, 04:25 PM   |  #2  
L7iharsha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vijaywada
Thanks Meter: 166
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Pm me I'll tell u in detailed

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app
21st January 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
It should work in india. I sent an att moto x and my friend is using it from 3 months. Normal moto x from motomaker would cost you 399+tax. Not sure about the wooden ones. Camera is bad other than that everything is great in this phone
21st January 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #4  
L7iharsha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vijaywada
Thanks Meter: 166
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Camera ain't bad better than most of phones

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app
21st January 2014, 06:05 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 162
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeabagsfull

Hi. I'm based in Bangalore, India. I plan to get a 32GB Moto X with a Bamboo back from a friend in the States. I have a few questions about it, if anybody would be kind to help that'd be awesome.

1) Is there an unlocked version of the device and will it work in India?
2) How much would the device cost me including tax? I know tax laws are different according to state but I'd like to know the price range it would fall in.
3) More general questions about the phone: Is it of a durable build quality? How's the camera? I've read a ton of reviews but I want to know some real life comments. Also, I don't want to accidentally crack my screen from the smallest drop and get into the trouble of having to send the phone overseas back to the USA for customer support.

Works perfectly man, but obviously we dont have 4G but everything else just works fine!! I am on Vodafone... Bangalore!
21st January 2014, 07:08 PM   |  #6  
L7iharsha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vijaywada
Thanks Meter: 166
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
But don't get Verizon or att customized version of the Verizon or att doesn't work on gsm

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app
21st January 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #7  
elpeterson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 01606
Thanks Meter: 113
 
847 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by L7iharsha

But don't get Verizon or att customized version of the Verizon or att doesn't work on gsm

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app

Wat. I think you mean Sprint. AT&T is a GSM network...
22nd January 2014, 01:45 AM   |  #8  
L7iharsha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vijaywada
Thanks Meter: 166
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Sprint cdma doesn't work with Indian gsm carriers and Att customized not unlockable and recently I got Customized Verizon one I can't use gsm reason Verizon blocked gsm only I can use cdma

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app
22nd January 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #9  
Jayrod1980's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Far East
Thanks Meter: 602
 
2,403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
If you use gsm and want a moto maker one with bamboo, etc, your best option is the t mobile version. Its the same hardware as the gsm Dev edition, is factory Sim unlocked, and carries the most freq bands.

Sent from my XT1053 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
22nd January 2014, 06:25 AM   |  #10  
L7iharsha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vijaywada
Thanks Meter: 166
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Actually I'm getting signal but only few minutes and immediately it showing emergency only or no service but one weird thing is I can access internet whatever 3G or 2G

Sent from my XT1060 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes