Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Google Now Hotword

OP micahmo

15th May 2014, 11:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
So I just got a Moto X. Out of the box, Google Now hotword detection ("Ok Google") worked perfectly both in Google Now and in the Google Now launcher that I sideloaded. Then, hotword detection randomly turned off. If I uninstall and reinstall updates to the Google Search app, hotword is temporarily fixed, but it won't last more than a day until it turns off again. This happens whether or not Motorola's own Touchless Controls are enabled or disabled.

It seems like some other app is causing it to turn off since a third-party hotword detection app wouldn't work, either, but I've hardly installed any apps since I just got it.

Also, I've already tried the most common suggestions such as ensuring that my voice input language is English (US) and making sure than no Accessibility options are enabled.

Any help to get back hotword detection would be greatly appreciated!
16th May 2014, 01:47 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
The newest Google search update broke hotword. The only way to keep it working for now is to uninstall the update and not install it again until possibly the next update.
16th May 2014, 02:18 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Do you know what the latest version of Google Search is that still supports hotwords so I can grab an apk? When I revert back to the factory version of Google Search, it breaks the Google Now Launcher.

Also, any idea why hotwords would work for a while and then randomly stop. This has happened several times, all while I've had the same version of Search.
30th May 2014, 04:24 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Uninstall back to 3.1. Make your changes then install 3.2, this is where Hotword Detection is still there but not selectable and Ok Google works. Now install 3.3, Hotword is no longer there but Ok Google still works. Don't install 3.4, you loose both.

Worked for me twice, I accidentally hit Update All and got 3.4 back, had to start over. I've been back on 3.3 for a week or so and Ok Google still works.
31st May 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
I uninstalled to 3.1 (factory version), and did get hotword back, but I couldn't use the Google Now Launcher. Installed 3.2 and still had hotword, but still not Google Now Launcher. Finally, I installed 3.3, I still had hotword, and the Google Now Launcher worked. But a few hours later, hotword got disabled again.

It doesn't seem like the problem is tied to a version. I've gotten hotword to work with 3.4, but it becomes disabled after a little while of use.
31st May 2014, 04:42 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by micahmo

I uninstalled to 3.1 (factory version), and did get hotword back, but I couldn't use the Google Now Launcher. Installed 3.2 and still had hotword, but still not Google Now Launcher. Finally, I installed 3.3, I still had hotword, and the Google Now Launcher worked. But a few hours later, hotword got disabled again.

It doesn't seem like the problem is tied to a version. I've gotten hotword to work with 3.4, but it becomes disabled after a little while of use.

In previous versions of Google search, you could say "Okay Google" instead of "Okay Google Now" to activate the hotword when you had the Google app open? I just recently bought the phone and it came already with the newest version of Google Now installed.
31st May 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
I don't think you've ever been able to say "Ok Google Now" as a hotword to activate voice search in the Google app. "Ok Google Now" is Motorola's keyword for its Touchless Controls. Touchless Controls have always worked for me, but when I'm in the Google app (or in the Google Now launcher that I sideloaded), I prefer to use Google's own hotword, "Ok Google" to activate voice search.

Out of the box, my phone also came with the latest version of Google Now installed, and hotword worked out of the box, but for some reason it became disabled. Any time I uninstall and reinstall Google Search (or even clear data), hotword is restored temporarily, but then becomes disabled again after a while.
1st June 2014, 12:21 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Did you leave Touchless Control untrained? I didn't disable it but it is untrained at the moment. My phone is a Developers Edition, unlocked and rooted, if that helps any.

I was able to use the Google Now Launcher on 3.2, maybe it is the version of the Launcher? Mine is 1.0.16.1154249 and I did side load it. I haven't
had any trouble with the hotword detection reverting to off as long as I say on 3.3.

Various threads in different forums say different things about this to being a Chrome problem to a Google Search problem to Motorola disabling it
on purpose so the it doesn't interfere with Touchless Control. I guess I'll have to see what happens when Search 3.5 comes out.

At the moment, I don't have a car so the parking feature doesn't have a relevance for me but setting a timer would be kind of useful.

If is is an accident, it would be nice it it were fixed quickly. If it is on purpose, I really wish someone would re evaluate the policy of not allowing a
function on a device that I purchased and would like to make the decision for my self. Just my opinion.

I do hope you find your solution. I came from a Galaxy Nexus and I have been really liking this phone so far as it is as close to the stock that the
GNex was.
1st June 2014, 05:10 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoloDB

Did you leave Touchless Control untrained? I didn't disable it but it is untrained at the moment. My phone is a Developers Edition, unlocked and rooted, if that helps any.

No, I did train Touchless Control. I could try disabling it and then re-enabling it without training it, but I don't see how that would fix anything. I actually like using Touchless Control for when the phone is out of my reach (which is exactly what it's for), but it's kinda slow and doesn't always respond. Ideally, I'd like to use both Touchless Controls and Google's hotword.

My phone is the unlocked T-Mobile version and unrooted. I don't know if that makes a difference.

Quote:

I was able to use the Google Now Launcher on 3.2, maybe it is the version of the Launcher? Mine is 1.0.16.1154249 and I did side load it.

My launcher version is 1.0.9.1039417, but I grabbed an APK of the same version you have and it still didn't work with Google Search 3.2.

Anyway, maybe an update to Google Search or Touchless Controls will fix it eventually.
2nd June 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #10  
natezire71's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
1,323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
According to Moto, the disabled this as it conflicts with Touchless Controls. I think that's BS, but whatever.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes