Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,571 Members 54,546 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Recently got a Moto X some weird issues with data network

Tip us?
 
HobsonA
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 82
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Albany
Default [Q] Recently got a Moto X some weird issues with data network

I just got a Moto X and popped in my straight talk sim card and setup the APN correctly and everything was working great.

Randomly I get an issue usually once or twice a day where my browser will stop transfering data. I tried google play and nothing would load there either. I tried speed test app and it measures roughly 5 Mbits. After speed test I go back and it still doesn't work.

So far the only way to fix the issue has been to reboot my phone and then all works fine again and then the same occurs after some time...

Any ideas at all having difficulty finding posts similar to this

Thanks!
Moto G (Stock 4.4)
Huawei Fusion II (CM7)
Nvidia Shield (Stock 4.3)
Nook Tablet (Rooted)
 
samwathegreat
Old
#2  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 313
Posts: 782
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HobsonA View Post
I just got a Moto X and popped in my straight talk sim card and setup the APN correctly and everything was working great.

Randomly I get an issue usually once or twice a day where my browser will stop transfering data. I tried google play and nothing would load there either. I tried speed test app and it measures roughly 5 Mbits. After speed test I go back and it still doesn't work.

So far the only way to fix the issue has been to reboot my phone and then all works fine again and then the same occurs after some time...

Any ideas at all having difficulty finding posts similar to this

Thanks!
If there is another APN besides the Straight Talk APN, delete it. Often times, the phone will have a default APN and Straight Talk suggests you delete any additional ones.

Good Luck
Remember: the "SEARCH" button will often save you a great deal of time waiting for a reply.

Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Quote of the year:
Quote:
Originally Posted by doitinthedirt View Post
Well Google now doesn't work worth an iPhone. .I've spoken those last two lines ADB shell commands out loud for the past 15 minutes and I don't get root
 
HobsonA
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 82
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Albany
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat View Post
If there is another APN besides the Straight Talk APN, delete it. Often times, the phone will have a default APN and Straight Talk suggests you delete any additional ones.

Good Luck
Ah that could possibly be it when I added the straight talk APN to my phone there were like 2 others there but for some reason there was no option to delete them so I just left them. I'll try to see if there is a way to remove them...
Moto G (Stock 4.4)
Huawei Fusion II (CM7)
Nvidia Shield (Stock 4.3)
Nook Tablet (Rooted)
 
HobsonA
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 82
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Albany
Quote:
Originally Posted by HobsonA View Post
I just got a Moto X and popped in my straight talk sim card and setup the APN correctly and everything was working great.

Randomly I get an issue usually once or twice a day where my browser will stop transfering data. I tried google play and nothing would load there either. I tried speed test app and it measures roughly 5 Mbits. After speed test I go back and it still doesn't work.

So far the only way to fix the issue has been to reboot my phone and then all works fine again and then the same occurs after some time...

Any ideas at all having difficulty finding posts similar to this

Thanks!
It appears all the APN settings are locked and can't be deleted anyway to do this on a unrooted kitkat device?
Moto G (Stock 4.4)
Huawei Fusion II (CM7)
Nvidia Shield (Stock 4.3)
Nook Tablet (Rooted)
 
samwathegreat
Old
#5  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 313
Posts: 782
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HobsonA View Post
It appears all the APN settings are locked and can't be deleted anyway to do this on a unrooted kitkat device?
I don't have a GSM Moto X, but I just set up 2 new GSM Moto Es (Unbranded, not rooted). I was able to add the ST APN first, then simply click the '3 dots' in the upper right corner of the APN list, and delete the default APN.

Do you have a carrier-branded device? Perhaps this makes a difference.
Remember: the "SEARCH" button will often save you a great deal of time waiting for a reply.

Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Quote of the year:
Quote:
Originally Posted by doitinthedirt View Post
Well Google now doesn't work worth an iPhone. .I've spoken those last two lines ADB shell commands out loud for the past 15 minutes and I don't get root
 
HobsonA
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 82
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Albany
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat View Post
I don't have a GSM Moto X, but I just set up 2 new GSM Moto Es (Unbranded, not rooted). I was able to add the ST APN first, then simply click the '3 dots' in the upper right corner of the APN list, and delete the default APN.

Do you have a carrier-branded device? Perhaps this makes a difference.
I don't think I have a carrier branded device I bought the unlocked GSM Moto X directly from the moto maker from motorola.

I was able to remove the other listed APNs it was as you said when i first tried it was before I added the ST apn and never checked again after i added it. The only thing on the list now is the ST settings however the issue still occurs that randomly I'll go to surf the web over data and nothing will load until I reboot.

I had read on some sites that ST changed their APN settings and using the old ones work better but they were all dated back in 2013 so I'm not sure how relevant that actually is.
Moto G (Stock 4.4)
Huawei Fusion II (CM7)
Nvidia Shield (Stock 4.3)
Nook Tablet (Rooted)
 
toadths
Old
#7  
toadths's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2014
I had a few similar issues while still fresh out the box but once rooted and flashed cm11 issues disappeared, have no idea whether it was related but hope it helps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Easily Combine Text and Manage Your Android Clipboard with StuffMerge

Android clipboard management has always been impractical without the … more

Pale Moon Browser Ported to Android

Having a wide choice of third party applications is one of the most beautiful things that Android has to … more

Partial Android Wear Source Uploaded to AOSP

2014 is certainly shaping up to be theyear of the wearables. And thanks to its innovative … more