Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,032 Members 43,951 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rogers Moto X- HOW CAN I ROOT or UPDATE?

Tip us?

butthurtlocker
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Default Rogers Moto X- HOW CAN I ROOT or UPDATE?

Hey so im pretty new to flashing/rooting as well as new to the moto x (Got it today!). I've done some reading and tried the Pwnmymoto and Motoroot apk's and they both did not install, so im assuming my moto x has taken the OTA updates (i bought it second hand so i didnt know). I am just wondering if theres a way I can root it at this point?? I tried the Root script method using cydia impactor and Telnet kept failing. SO I then was looking at just flashing CWM via fastboot and then installing superuser zip from there as well as flashing a rom. Can anyone tell me if that's safe after the OTA or if theres another way to root? Any help will be mich appreciated as I am really overwhelmed!

superdork21
Old
Thanks Meter 0
I was in the same boat you were but apparently the Rogers update is "coming soon". However if you're impatient like me follow these steps:

1. Unlock your boot loader from Motorola
2. Download rsdlite
3. Download mfastboot
4. Download the sbf for T-Mobile 4.4 retail
5. Download the sbf for the Brasil 4.4 retail
6. Download cwmrecovery
7. Download original Moto boot image

Seems like a lot but here's what you need to do after you have all that stuff assuming you have a windows PC.

1. After the boot loader is unlocked install the custom recovery (I use cwm) via fastboot

fastboot flash recovery cwm.file.name

2. Search the forums for how to flash moto software using rsdlite (don't have the links since I'm on my phone) and flash the T-Mobile files AFTER modifying the XML file like in the instructions.
3. Search my posts and find how to flash the Rogers radio using the Brasil radio files (extract them from the zip)