FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

[Q] Safestrap 4.4 or use JCase to root???

80 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By aptalca, Member on 11th January 2014, 03:55 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I am about to get a Moto X from Verizon and I know it has a locked bootloader

I never dealt with a locked phone in the past and this will be my first moto so I am doing a lot of reading

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I guess the phone will come with 4.2 on it so I'll have two options:
1) Use safestrap and flash 4.4 as a second rom. I am guessing the disadvantage will be loss of disk space for the second rom (maybe other disadvantages, I don't know) but I'll be able to do nandroid backups and flash zips
2) Use the JCase method to root using SlapMyMoto and MotoWpNoMo, etc. (I'll be rooted, but no flashing roms or zips, or nandroid backups)

In that case, which method do you guys really recommend? Do I really need custom roms on this phone since it is almost stock and I can still get xposed to do a lot of the things I'd be interested in with just the root?

If I use the JCase method, do I lose the ability to use safestrap in the future?

Thanks
 
 
11th January 2014, 04:00 AM |#2  
Member
Flag Worcester
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
The moto xs leaving moto maker for Verizon should all be 4.4 at this point. Can't whole heartedly speak to your other questions though.

Sent from my SCH-I925 using Tapatalk
11th January 2014, 04:08 AM |#3  
mbush78's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seabrook, TX
Thanks Meter: 51
 
Donate to Me
More
I used to be a flash-o-holic and so far I'm perfectly satisfied with just having root and xposed

sent from my Moto X
11th January 2014, 04:16 AM |#4  
ewrides's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm rooted, using xposed and gravity box. Very happy with phone. Came from an s3 and have to say I don't miss flashing Roms. Real learning curve for me to root but JCase methods worked perfect and google was my friend through the many steps. Good luck!

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
11th January 2014, 05:12 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 184
 
More
SlapMyMoto. You're not gonna want to flash roms on this phone.
11th January 2014, 06:00 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Thanks for the replies.

I guess if the phone comes with 4.4 already, I only have the JCase's root option, anyway.

But reading the replies here as well as other threads, I see that most people are pretty content with the stock rom + root + gravitybox/xposed. That's great to know.

I can't wait to get the phone tomorrow
8th February 2014, 03:26 AM |#7  
dannieloco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Long Beach, CA
Thanks Meter: 204
 
Donate to Me
More
Does Safestrap load 4.4.2 roms now?
8th February 2014, 06:31 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aptalca

Thanks for the replies.

I guess if the phone comes with 4.4 already, I only have the JCase's root option, anyway.

But reading the replies here as well as other threads, I see that most people are pretty content with the stock rom + root + gravitybox/xposed. That's great to know.

I can't wait to get the phone tomorrow

Safestrap works on 4.4 too
12th February 2014, 12:53 PM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
But you have to have satestrapped it when you were on the 4.2 bootloader, correct? So if you took an ota or if your phone shipped with 4.4, your bootloader was updated and you can no longer safestrap
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes