Glyphs Icon Pack for Custom Launchers

Third party launchers like Apex, Nova or ADW can use custom icons. XDA Forum Membercon ga pcported … more

Root and Install Recovery Through Z3’s Locked Bootloader

This easy-to-follow guide will teach you how to root your phone without the … more

Behind the Scenes with Sony’s Engineers

The developers of the Xperia Z3 talk about the decisions and manufacturing of the phone’s … more

CM Apps – CyanogenMod Apps Without Root

Over the years CyanogenMod created many applications that replaced the default AOSP apps. These … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Exclamation [Q] Root motox RockMyMoto error

OP teddy2122

21st November 2013, 09:14 AM   |  #1  
teddy2122's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Im trying to root my moto x with RockMyDroid and when i try the telnet command with the cydia impactor i get an error message reading : Link failed file exists.... any suggestions?
28th November 2013, 08:30 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
1,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Did you ever sort this out?
The Following User Says Thank You to eallan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th November 2013, 06:15 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
im also getting same issue and the threads for rock my moto slapy my moto have been un responsive for any info . so your not the only one
10th January 2014, 07:04 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy2122

Im trying to root my moto x with RockMyDroid and when i try the telnet command with the cydia impactor i get an error message reading : Link failed file exists.... any suggestions?

bump...

Same for me. I've been struggling for 3 days with no luck. Everything goes well until "telnet {my moto x ip} 2222" in Impactor. "Link Failed file exists"

Someone help!
10th January 2014, 10:16 AM   |  #5  
teddy2122's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clevertrevor777

bump...

Same for me. I've been struggling for 3 days with no luck. Everything goes well until "telnet {my moto x ip} 2222" in Impactor. "Link Failed file exists"

Someone help!

Are you using the cydia impactor correctly? I had this issue because i was trying to use the "telnet {ip} 2222" command in the impactor instead of the command prompt. to do it correctly:

open the impactor
use the drop down menu on the impactor, choose "# start telnetd as system on port 2222"
Hit start
when that has completed, Open up a new command prompt window and type telnet {ip} 2222"
you should now be connected

Let me know if this helped!
The Following User Says Thank You to teddy2122 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2014, 02:45 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Unlock your phone or disable the key guard before starting Impactor
11th January 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Link Failed file exists - SOLVED
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy2122

Im trying to root my moto x with RockMyDroid and when i try the telnet command with the cydia impactor i get an error message reading : Link failed file exists.... any suggestions?

I fell your pain. I struggled with the same error. When I figured it out I felt like an idiot. After you open the telnet session in Cydia Impactor, move over to the command prompt to run "telnet {device ip} 2222". I assume you attempted to run this in Cydia Impactor as well.
11th January 2014, 05:50 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by teddy2122

Are you using the cydia impactor correctly? I had this issue because i was trying to use the "telnet {ip} 2222" command in the impactor instead of the command prompt. to do it correctly:

open the impactor
use the drop down menu on the impactor, choose "# start telnetd as system on port 2222"
Hit start
when that has completed, Open up a new command prompt window and type telnet {ip} 2222"
you should now be connected

Let me know if this helped!

A buddy just showed me the solution... You were exactly correct. Also, for anyone else in the same situation, also ensure that telnet is activated in windows.

CONTROL PANEL -> PROGRAMS AND FEATURES -> TURN WINDOWS FEATURES ON OR OFF -> SCROLL DOWN AND CHECK THE TELNET CLIENT BOX

Hopefully that helps someone out there. Happy rooting!
16th May 2014, 06:08 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Mine was active, but its not longer working. I was able to root earlier but its not working now stating that the file exists already. and when I try using puttytel it tells me that:

~ $ dalvikvm -cp /sdcard/RockMyMoto.jar RockMyMoto
RockMyMoto 1.0
by Justin Case
PayPal Donations maybe sent to: jcase@cunninglogic.com
Special thanks to saurik, you rock!

System is not write protected...
Executing step 3...
~ $
and thats as far as I can go. And I check root, nothing, i check SU nothing, nothing is working (
16th May 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #10  
Darth's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 5,423
 
15,108 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vahnyyz

Mine was active, but its not longer working. I was able to root earlier but its not working now stating that the file exists already. and when I try using puttytel it tells me that:

~ $ dalvikvm -cp /sdcard/RockMyMoto.jar RockMyMoto
RockMyMoto 1.0
by Justin Case
PayPal Donations maybe sent to: jcase@cunninglogic.com
Special thanks to saurik, you rock!

System is not write protected...
Executing step 3...
~ $
and thats as far as I can go. And I check root, nothing, i check SU nothing, nothing is working (

You can buy an unlock code again for the bootloader. I'd get on it quick tho, before it ends again.

Then you can root easily, without all the exploits.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes