Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] what does "sp space is not enough" mean

OP one cheese

17th July 2014, 07:18 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
when I use fastboot tool to flash system.img, it shows "sp space is not enough" when the flashing is finished. At first I think it will brick my phone, but it doesn't, my Moto X is still working.
So what does it mean? Will it bring some protential mistakes?
How can I solve the problem? Thanks very much!!!


My phone is rooted, installed TWRP 2.7.1.1

P.S. The problem comes after I WIPE the SYSTEM with TWRP
Last edited by one cheese; 17th July 2014 at 07:24 PM.
17th July 2014, 07:24 PM   |  #2  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,793
 
2,030 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by one cheese

when I use fastboot tool to flash system.img, it shows "sp space is not enough" when the flashing is finished. At first I think it will brick my phone, but it doesn't, my Moto X is still working.
So what does it mean? Will it bring some protential mistakes?
How can I solve the problem?
My phone is rooted, installed TWRP 2.7.1.1

P.S. The problem comes after I WIPE the SYSTEM with TWRP

You MUST flash system.img using 'mfastboot' and not 'fastboot'.

Fastboot cannot handle system.img because it is too large. Just search this forum and you will find 'mfastboot.exe'. I know it is linked in the "Return to Stock" thread.

EDIT: Here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/moto...using-t2446515

The OP linked "mfastboot" in the top section of that post. Remember to "thank" the original poster of that thread for providing you with the file you need

Good Luck
Last edited by samwathegreat; 17th July 2014 at 07:29 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th July 2014, 08:09 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag San Luis Potosí
Thanks Meter: 2
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

You MUST flash system.img using 'mfastboot' and not 'fastboot'.

Fastboot cannot handle system.img because it is too large. Just search this forum and you will find 'mfastboot.exe'. I know it is linked in the "Return to Stock" thread.

EDIT: Here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/moto...using-t2446515

The OP linked "mfastboot" in the top section of that post. Remember to "thank" the original poster of that thread for providing you with the file you need

Good Luck

Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.
17th July 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANMTMS

Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.

The same happened to me and the circumstances were the same as well. Experimenting with custom Roms I wiped the system. Now every sbf flash with RDS gives me exact the same message in red. Though I haven't noticed any failure or misbehavior of the actual system yet. But seeing that row in red with every flashing is kinda frightened. Though I don't believe that hardware is affected I can't see how it could possibly be. I'm more afraid that wrong partitions of the memory occurred and lack of the system partition might be issue.
18th July 2014, 06:42 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANMTMS

Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.

In fact it really doesn't seem to affect anything, I just feel not well watching the message in red during flashing everytime. Just like a mini heart attack as you said.
Thank you for your kind answering, it's quite useful, thank you
18th July 2014, 06:50 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by piskr

The same happened to me and the circumstances were the same as well. Experimenting with custom Roms I wiped the system. Now every sbf flash with RDS gives me exact the same message in red. Though I haven't noticed any failure or misbehavior of the actual system yet. But seeing that row in red with every flashing is kinda frightened. Though I don't believe that hardware is affected I can't see how it could possibly be. I'm more afraid that wrong partitions of the memory occurred and lack of the system partition might be issue.

Me too. I haven't seen that message ever before just after one time I used TWRP Recovery wipe the system, I think that maybe the reason. I just worry it may cause some other porblems in the future.

Thanks for your kind answering. May our problems could be solved some day
23rd August 2014, 03:59 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
me too

来自我的 XT1060 上的 Tapatalk
23rd August 2014, 07:50 PM   |  #8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,571
 
10,017 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Please post questions in the Q&A section, you will get responses much more quickly if you do that

Thread moved
24th August 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by one cheese

when I use fastboot tool to flash system.img, it shows "sp space is not enough" when the flashing is finished. At first I think it will brick my phone, but it doesn't, my Moto X is still working.
So what does it mean? Will it bring some protential mistakes?
How can I solve the problem? Thanks very much!!!


My phone is rooted, installed TWRP 2.7.1.1

P.S. The problem comes after I WIPE the SYSTEM with TWRP



来自我的 XT1060 上的 Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes