FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[Q] what does "sp space is not enough" mean

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By one cheese, Junior Member on 17th July 2014, 06:18 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
when I use fastboot tool to flash system.img, it shows "sp space is not enough" when the flashing is finished. At first I think it will brick my phone, but it doesn't, my Moto X is still working.
So what does it mean? Will it bring some protential mistakes?
How can I solve the problem? Thanks very much!!!


My phone is rooted, installed TWRP 2.7.1.1

P.S. The problem comes after I WIPE the SYSTEM with TWRP
Last edited by one cheese; 17th July 2014 at 06:24 PM.
 
 
17th July 2014, 06:24 PM |#2  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,838
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by one cheese

when I use fastboot tool to flash system.img, it shows "sp space is not enough" when the flashing is finished. At first I think it will brick my phone, but it doesn't, my Moto X is still working.
So what does it mean? Will it bring some protential mistakes?
How can I solve the problem?
My phone is rooted, installed TWRP 2.7.1.1

P.S. The problem comes after I WIPE the SYSTEM with TWRP

You MUST flash system.img using 'mfastboot' and not 'fastboot'.

Fastboot cannot handle system.img because it is too large. Just search this forum and you will find 'mfastboot.exe'. I know it is linked in the "Return to Stock" thread.

EDIT: Here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/moto...using-t2446515

The OP linked "mfastboot" in the top section of that post. Remember to "thank" the original poster of that thread for providing you with the file you need

Good Luck
Last edited by samwathegreat; 17th July 2014 at 06:29 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to samwathegreat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th July 2014, 07:09 PM |#3  
Member
Flag San Luis Potosí
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by samwathegreat

You MUST flash system.img using 'mfastboot' and not 'fastboot'.

Fastboot cannot handle system.img because it is too large. Just search this forum and you will find 'mfastboot.exe'. I know it is linked in the "Return to Stock" thread.

EDIT: Here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/moto...using-t2446515

The OP linked "mfastboot" in the top section of that post. Remember to "thank" the original poster of that thread for providing you with the file you need

Good Luck

Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.
17th July 2014, 08:40 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 132
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANMTMS

Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.

The same happened to me and the circumstances were the same as well. Experimenting with custom Roms I wiped the system. Now every sbf flash with RDS gives me exact the same message in red. Though I haven't noticed any failure or misbehavior of the actual system yet. But seeing that row in red with every flashing is kinda frightened. Though I don't believe that hardware is affected I can't see how it could possibly be. I'm more afraid that wrong partitions of the memory occurred and lack of the system partition might be issue.
18th July 2014, 05:42 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANMTMS

Dude, i've also flashed with mfastboot the system.img file but however it returns the same message in red. It doesn't seem to affect to anything when flashing with mfastboot, but anyways watching that message appear when flashing the whole firmware gives me kind of a mini heart attack. :$

It seems that it even appears when wiping everything before flashing. So, isn't it a hardware matter? It didn't appear to me before when flashing system, so i don't really know what caused it to appear.

To OP, don't worry if you get the same error when flashing with mfastboot, it seems to work anyways. However don't use fastboot command to flash system, as samwathegreat said.

In fact it really doesn't seem to affect anything, I just feel not well watching the message in red during flashing everytime. Just like a mini heart attack as you said.
Thank you for your kind answering, it's quite useful, thank you
18th July 2014, 05:50 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by piskr

The same happened to me and the circumstances were the same as well. Experimenting with custom Roms I wiped the system. Now every sbf flash with RDS gives me exact the same message in red. Though I haven't noticed any failure or misbehavior of the actual system yet. But seeing that row in red with every flashing is kinda frightened. Though I don't believe that hardware is affected I can't see how it could possibly be. I'm more afraid that wrong partitions of the memory occurred and lack of the system partition might be issue.

Me too. I haven't seen that message ever before just after one time I used TWRP Recovery wipe the system, I think that maybe the reason. I just worry it may cause some other porblems in the future.

Thanks for your kind answering. May our problems could be solved some day
23rd August 2014, 02:59 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
me too

来自我的 XT1060 上的 Tapatalk
23rd August 2014, 06:50 PM |#8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,232
 
Donate to Me
More
Please post questions in the Q&A section, you will get responses much more quickly if you do that

Thread moved
24th August 2014, 10:06 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by one cheese

when I use fastboot tool to flash system.img, it shows "sp space is not enough" when the flashing is finished. At first I think it will brick my phone, but it doesn't, my Moto X is still working.
So what does it mean? Will it bring some protential mistakes?
How can I solve the problem? Thanks very much!!!


My phone is rooted, installed TWRP 2.7.1.1

P.S. The problem comes after I WIPE the SYSTEM with TWRP



来自我的 XT1060 上的 Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes