Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,319 Members 53,018 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Used Sprint Moto X No SIM card included, how hard is it to get one?

Tip us?
 
yazyazoo
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 188
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default Used Sprint Moto X No SIM card included, how hard is it to get one?

I am looking at a Sprint Moto X that is used and has a clean ESN. They don't include a SIM card. I was wondering how hard is that to actually get from Sprint and is there a cost? If it's too much then it's not worth it may be better for me to buy new.

Thanks.
 
nomad64
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 102
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicagoland, IL
First, this should be in Q&A. Could a mod please move it?

Second, Sprint Moto Xs are SIM-locked, so they will not work with Verizon, Tmobile, etc. They can be unlocked for International SIMs only by calling Sprint and asking (I believe this requires that the phone be activated on Sprint for at least 30 days, and the account be in good standing).

Sent from my XT1056 using xda app-developers app
 
Kittiesoncrack
Old
#3  
Kittiesoncrack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 233
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago
First this belongs in Q and A section. Second, Sprint doesnt even use Sim cards, I have Sprint Moto X and the only reason there is a sim card in there is for the phone to stop telling you "NO SIM" its basically a place holder. and the only way they will give you one if activate or buy a phone from them
Old Phones: Galaxy Nexus (in a drawer somewhere) Epic 4G Touch (sold)
Current Phones: Moto X (Unlcked Bootloader, 4.4.2 )
 
yazyazoo
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 188
Join Date: Oct 2009
Sorry for posting in the wrong place. I thought Sprint does use the SIM for LTE purposes. I know their voice/3g is CDMA which does not use a sim.
 
nomad64
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 102
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by yazyazoo View Post
Sorry for posting in the wrong place. I thought Sprint does use the SIM for LTE purposes. I know their voice/3g is CDMA which does not use a sim.
Nope, Sprint does not use SIMs at all since they are CDMA. I don't know the specifics, their spectrum can only be used with Sprint phones or approved roaming carrier devices.

In the case of the Moto X, the SIM card is used only for International GSM networks. Most Sprint phones don't even have SIM card slots..

Sent from my XT1056 using xda app-developers app
Thread Tools
Display Modes