Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,541 Members 54,125 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

T-Mobile LTE and Moto X

Tip us?
 
T&C
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default T-Mobile LTE and Moto X

Have had LTE in our area for years just noticed the other day both Moto X phone connecting on 4G?

Only setting I find is Auto and or 2 G

Under settings, Data, other, mobile network, preferred network type.

I'm I missing some other setting or trick ?
 
KJ
Old
#2  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,587
Posts: 8,596
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Pretty sure 4g is LTE. Some devices just say 4g.

Correcte if on wrong anyone. 👍
Sent from my new HTC One M8, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life? Any device welcome, even tho its an N5 thread. Please specify if on a device other than N5. Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

 
aptalca
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jun 2011
Tmobile rom says 4g for hspa and 4g lte for lte. Usually when I'm in a call, it switches to 4g (hspa) and after the call it switches to lte

---------- Post added at 12:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:32 PM ----------

Could be a temporary network problem with tmobile in your area
 
samwathegreat
Old
#4  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,635
Posts: 1,906
Join Date: Apr 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by aptalca View Post
Tmobile rom says 4g for hspa and 4g lte for lte. Usually when I'm in a call, it switches to 4g (hspa) and after the call it switches to lte

---------- Post added at 12:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:32 PM ----------

Could be a temporary network problem with tmobile in your area
I can second this. My GSM Moto Xs say "4G" for both LTE and HSPA+

Interestingly, the Moto "G" shows "3G" while on HSPA+

One really useful app for checking which network type you are on is called "LTE Discovery" - free from the market. It will let you know if you are on LTE, or HSPA+ (or even EDGE).

You can also go to Settings > About Phone > Status and the network type will be listed under "Mobile Network Type".

Good Luck
Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Looking for a new carrier? Check out Republic Wireless!
Plans starting at $10 for unlimited talk/text and $25 with unlimited data.
Use this link to save $20. RW is my carrier and I couldn't be happier with them.


I successfully CRACKED the SIM-LOCK on the Sprint XT1056 Moto X. Read about it HERE



Donate to me via BitCoin - 1samwaLJ7EdQFGME1dkUGPFZywUEKnXcT
 
SymbioticGenius
Old
#5  
SymbioticGenius's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 445
Join Date: Aug 2012
I posted a decent response in your other thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2778254

I opened this thread and almost my mind cause I knew I responded last night. Can I mod merge these threads please.

Thanks
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes