Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,324 Members 42,818 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

T-Mobile LTE and Moto X

Tip us?
 
T&C
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default T-Mobile LTE and Moto X

Have had LTE in our area for years just noticed the other day both Moto X phone connecting on 4G?

Only setting I find is Auto and or 2 G

Under settings, Data, other, mobile network, preferred network type.

I'm I missing some other setting or trick ?
 
KJ
Old
#2  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2723
Posts: 6,784
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Pretty sure 4g is LTE. Some devices just say 4g.

Correcte if on wrong anyone. 👍
Sent from my N5, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life on the N5...or any device really? Lots of info in first 3 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

 
aptalca
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 58
Join Date: Jun 2011
Tmobile rom says 4g for hspa and 4g lte for lte. Usually when I'm in a call, it switches to 4g (hspa) and after the call it switches to lte

---------- Post added at 12:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:32 PM ----------

Could be a temporary network problem with tmobile in your area
 
samwathegreat
Old
#4  
samwathegreat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 826
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aptalca View Post
Tmobile rom says 4g for hspa and 4g lte for lte. Usually when I'm in a call, it switches to 4g (hspa) and after the call it switches to lte

---------- Post added at 12:33 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:32 PM ----------

Could be a temporary network problem with tmobile in your area
I can second this. My GSM Moto Xs say "4G" for both LTE and HSPA+

Interestingly, the Moto "G" shows "3G" while on HSPA+

One really useful app for checking which network type you are on is called "LTE Discovery" - free from the market. It will let you know if you are on LTE, or HSPA+ (or even EDGE).

You can also go to Settings > About Phone > Status and the network type will be listed under "Mobile Network Type".

Good Luck
Remember: the "SEARCH" button will often save you a great deal of time waiting for a reply.

Help us keep XDA fun and safe. Please read the RULES, and please respect your fellow members.

Quote of the year:
Quote:
Originally Posted by doitinthedirt View Post
Well Google now doesn't work worth an iPhone. .I've spoken those last two lines ADB shell commands out loud for the past 15 minutes and I don't get root
 
SymbioticGenius
Old
#5  
SymbioticGenius's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 432
Join Date: Aug 2012
I posted a decent response in your other thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2778254

I opened this thread and almost my mind cause I knew I responded last night. Can I mod merge these threads please.

Thanks
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes