Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Having trouble upgrading to 4.4.2 stock on Verizon

OP Taegost

5th May 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #11  
Darth's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,677
 
12,440 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taegost

Yeah, that's the page I was talking about when I said I found the full instructions...
I specifically bought this phone because I didn't want to mess around with it like this, I just wanted to root it so I could use Titantium Backup and be done with it... and now I'm stuck at a halfway point.... Again...
I'll probably end up just doing the full wipe and manually flash to 4.4.2 (RSD Lite doesn't see my device... yay), since I have gone from my mute button not working (with 4.2.2), to a really bad echo for whomever I'm talking to when it's on speakerphone (Even when speakerphone is muted... THAT made for a fun conference call...).

Flashing stock and rooting on an unlocked Moto x is basically the same as a nexus. It really is simple, once you are familiar with fastboot.

I guess there are toolkits that automate everything....like Samsung's Odin, and there's a few for nexus....but it really doesn't help anyone learn. And that's kinda what this hobby is all about.

But, I am sorry you're having trouble. Not sure what else to add. The guides are there, and they work. Usually. I can't think of anything to add to whats already been said.

Hope it works out for you!
7th May 2014, 02:50 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112

Flashing stock and rooting on an unlocked Moto x is basically the same as a nexus. It really is simple, once you are familiar with fastboot.

I guess there are toolkits that automate everything....like Samsung's Odin, and there's a few for nexus....but it really doesn't help anyone learn. And that's kinda what this hobby is all about.

But, I am sorry you're having trouble. Not sure what else to add. The guides are there, and they work. Usually. I can't think of anything to add to whats already been said.

Hope it works out for you!

I don't think I'm articulating my issue properly. I understand how to do everything in the guides you mentioned, they're a piece of cake. That doesn't solve my problem.

My problem is that I want to get to 4.4.2 WITHOUT wiping my data, but can't do the update via OTA or flashing in recovery. RSD Lite doesn't work either.

The ONLY option I have available to me is to manually push the update with fastboot, which I can definitely do with the instructions provided... But those instructions require me to wipe my data.
I know it's possible to apply the update with fastboot without requiring me to wipe my data, but I don't know enough about the inner workings to know which steps to skip, and which need to be modified, in order to make that happen.
7th May 2014, 03:55 PM   |  #13  
Darth's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,677
 
12,440 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taegost

I don't think I'm articulating my issue properly. I understand how to do everything in the guides you mentioned, they're a piece of cake. That doesn't solve my problem.

My problem is that I want to get to 4.4.2 WITHOUT wiping my data, but can't do the update via OTA or flashing in recovery. RSD Lite doesn't work either.

The ONLY option I have available to me is to manually push the update with fastboot, which I can definitely do with the instructions provided... But those instructions require me to wipe my data.
I know it's possible to apply the update with fastboot without requiring me to wipe my data, but I don't know enough about the inner workings to know which steps to skip, and which need to be modified, in order to make that happen.

It says right at the bottom of the return to stock section in the guide I linked too.....you can skip

Fastboot erase user data
fastboot erase cache

Though if you have any problems after, you might have to do it again and do erase those, before spending time trying to figure out what's wrong.
7th May 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112

It says right at the bottom of the return to stock section in the guide I linked too.....you can skip

Fastboot erase user data
fastboot erase cache

Though if you have any problems after, you might have to do it again and do erase those, before spending time trying to figure out what's wrong.

Wow... Attention to detail -5
Sorry about that, when I looked through that article, I skimmed through and saw that the "Return to Stock" section was (almost) identical to the other instructions I was reading...But I missed that last paragraph when I looked at the link you provided, the directions I was using referenced that article but did not include that last bit...

Thank you for your patients, I feel like a dumbass now *sheepish grin*
7th May 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #15  
Darth's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,677
 
12,440 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taegost

Wow... Attention to detail -5
Sorry about that, when I looked through that article, I skimmed through and saw that the "Return to Stock" section was (almost) identical to the other instructions I was reading...But I missed that last paragraph when I looked at the link you provided, the directions I was using referenced that article but did not include that last bit...

Thank you for your patients, I feel like a dumbass now *sheepish grin*

No worries!! .

And sorry, its userdata. My keyboard split the words up.

---------- Post added at 11:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:15 AM ----------

And, you may very well have issues doing that way. But its worth a shot first. If you do have issues, then you can erase those and repeat the process.
7th May 2014, 07:31 PM   |  #16  
KidJoe's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Thanks Meter: 914
 
2,187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
if using fastboot/mfastboot, I would still erase cache, as it doesn't touch your data/apps/config.

Another tip, use this mfastboot -> http://mark.cdmaforums.com/X-STUFF/Mfastboot-4.4.zip

or you can use RSDlite to flash the SBF, but there is a corresponding line for "erase data"

Two helpful links that will help explain what you saw...

Taking the OTA -> http://mark.cdmaforums.com/MotoX-OTA.html
various ways to Return to stock -> http://mark.cdmaforums.com/MotoX-ReturnToStock.html
8th May 2014, 07:00 PM   |  #17  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kj2112

No worries!! .

And sorry, its userdata. My keyboard split the words up.

---------- Post added at 11:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:15 AM ----------

And, you may very well have issues doing that way. But its worth a shot first. If you do have issues, then you can erase those and repeat the process.

Alrighty, well I was able to successfully flash to 4.4.2 using the Fastboot instructions. Flashed TWRP afterwards and got root right back. Now that I know, this won't be a trial in the future (fingers crossed!)
Thanks for your help and patience

The Following User Says Thank You to Taegost For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes