FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Ubuntu 13.10 MTP

1,735 posts
Thanks Meter: 154
 
By M@XLOL, Senior Member on 10th March 2014, 03:20 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Can't get this to work and its mildly annoying. I can adb sideload ROMS and whatnot but need to boot into windows to get any real file transfers done.

Strange this is the only phone (tried lg g2, and gal nex) that I have an issue with.

in b4 no replies.
 
 
10th March 2014, 03:02 PM |#2  
canezila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I sympathize with you. Specific to your question I have no answer. Go to the Android website and it talks about Windows and Mac. No Linux.

BUT, I use wifi file transfer pro.... From play store. And also AirDroid. Gets it done through wifi on common network. And it's very fast for me. Hope that helps.

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
10th March 2014, 09:33 PM |#3  
M@XLOL's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Central Illinois
Thanks Meter: 154
 
Donate to Me
More
Ugh... I'll see if I can hack it together.

I was hoping a developer would stop by to enlighten me.

I don't have WiFi for the desktop it's always plugged in.

Sent from my Moto X using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
11th March 2014, 02:18 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Fort Myers,FL
Thanks Meter: 261
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M@XLOL

Ugh... I'll see if I can hack it together.

I was hoping a developer would stop by to enlighten me.

I don't have WiFi for the desktop it's always plugged in.

Sent from my Moto X using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

no dev here but i dual boot linux and win7 and i would recommend Google android MTP on linux and read and see what everyone says. i will be booting back into linux tomorrow and i will see what you need to do my self, but right now i have some clients idevices to work on and iTunes and most of my modding software is windows only
11th March 2014, 05:43 AM |#5  
canezila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Doesn't have to be actually through wireless wifi to work. One of my computers is directly connected to the router. But if no router is used at all then it would not be an option for you

Sent from my XT1060 using Tapatalk
12th March 2014, 06:34 PM |#6  
Member
Earth
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I just got a Moto X and I'm also running Ubuntu 13.10 on a desktop. When I get home this evening I will test this out and see if I can get it to work in any way. I haven't been on Ubuntu recently since I've been doing the rooting process through Windows.
20th April 2014, 05:21 AM |#7  
M@XLOL's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Central Illinois
Thanks Meter: 154
 
Donate to Me
More
just installed ubuntu gnome's new lts and its working out of the box
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes