Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,603 Members 40,943 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] this sim card is from an unknown source Moto X CDMA Verizon

Tip us?
 
sumitchaturvedi
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] this sim card is from an unknown source Moto X CDMA Verizon

Hi,
I recently bought a no-contract MOTO X CDMA Verizon. I am trying to use it with my Vodafone India SIM, but as soon as I insert this SIM and start the phone I get the following error
"this sim card is from an unknown source"
I contacted Motorola and Verizon and both of them said that this is an unlocked phone and it should work globally. When I start the phone get the above error but I still see Vodafone network and HSPA+ sign. When I try to make a call I get "mobile network not available" error.

Please help I really like this phone and would like to use it here too.

Regards
Sumit
 
eeshlikhith
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 198
Join Date: Nov 2011
Have you tried some other sim?
 
Gundabolu SC
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 168
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumitchaturvedi View Post
Hi,
I recently bought a no-contract MOTO X CDMA Verizon. I am trying to use it with my Vodafone India SIM, but as soon as I insert this SIM and start the phone I get the following error
"this sim card is from an unknown source"
I contacted Motorola and Verizon and both of them said that this is an unlocked phone and it should work globally. When I start the phone get the above error but I still see Vodafone network and HSPA+ sign. When I try to make a call I get "mobile network not available" error.

Please help I really like this phone and would like to use it here too.

Regards
Sumit
Try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2394689 ???
 
sumitchaturvedi
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeshlikhith View Post
Have you tried some other sim?
Nope not tried anyother SIM. Though this SIM works fine with other phone
 
sumitchaturvedi
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gundabolu SC View Post
Hey thanks, tried using this patch, but this patch does not install may be because Moto X does not have external memory.
Followed each step properly accept that had to put the .zip file in the internal memory
 
RenSoAbrupt
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 120
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nassau
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumitchaturvedi View Post
Hey thanks, tried using this patch, but this patch does not install may be because Moto X does not have external memory.
Followed each step properly accept that had to put the .zip file in the internal memory
I think the "There is no external memory" happens when you clear the cache. Happened to me last night, Just resetted my phone and it was good to go.
 
eeshlikhith
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 198
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumitchaturvedi View Post
Hey thanks, tried using this patch, but this patch does not install may be because Moto X does not have external memory.
Followed each step properly accept that had to put the .zip file in the internal memory
what exactly was the error? Did you use the stock recovery by any chance?
 
sumitchaturvedi
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeshlikhith View Post
what exactly was the error? Did you use the stock recovery by any chance?

I got the error "No command". Also when i went to the Fast boot screen. It said device status "Locked". This is despite the fact that I bought a no contract verizon Moto X from Moto Maker. Now I am trying to use Indian Vodafone SIM and i can only access data packets but cannot make any voice calls. It does register to the Network in the Global mode but when I try to make a call it gives the following error "Mobile network not available".
Not sure how to resolve this. When I start the phone i get the unkown SIM error.

Please help

Thanks
 
eeshlikhith
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 198
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumitchaturvedi View Post
I got the error "No command". Also when i went to the Fast boot screen. It said device status "Locked". This is despite the fact that I bought a no contract verizon Moto X from Moto Maker. Now I am trying to use Indian Vodafone SIM and i can only access data packets but cannot make any voice calls. It does register to the Network in the Global mode but when I try to make a call it gives the following error "Mobile network not available".
Not sure how to resolve this. When I start the phone i get the unkown SIM error.

Please help

Thanks
Have you unlocked the bootloader? you have to install a custom recovery like CWM for that AFAIK
The Following User Says Thank You to eeshlikhith For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KidJoe
Old
#10  
KidJoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 658
Posts: 1,751
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Thorndale/Romansville, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumitchaturvedi View Post
Hi,
I recently bought a no-contract MOTO X CDMA Verizon. I am trying to use it with my Vodafone India SIM, but as soon as I insert this SIM and start the phone I get the following error
"this sim card is from an unknown source"
I contacted Motorola and Verizon and both of them said that this is an unlocked phone and it should work globally. When I start the phone get the above error but I still see Vodafone network and HSPA+ sign. When I try to make a call I get "mobile network not available" error.

Please help I really like this phone and would like to use it here too.

Regards
Sumit
I get "this sim card is from an unknown source" after the KitKat update on my VZW Moto X, and my VZW Samsung Galaxy S4 after its 4.3 update when I insert my T-Mobile USA sim.

Switching the phones to "global" mode and manually setting the APN settings (for T-Mobile) makes the phones work on T-Mobile. But I can't clear that message from the phone.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes